Customer Reviews for

Without Reservations

Average Rating 4.5
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Story!

Loved the story and want to read more. Wished there were not so many sex scenes however, they take away from the real story.

posted by John_B_20 on March 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Poor plot, unrealistic relationship

I will start by saying that if gratuitous smutty scenes are all it takes to catch your interest, you will at least find some enjoyment in this book.

However if you would like to see a deep, meaningful relationship, action, tension, and mystery, you will not find it h...
I will start by saying that if gratuitous smutty scenes are all it takes to catch your interest, you will at least find some enjoyment in this book.

However if you would like to see a deep, meaningful relationship, action, tension, and mystery, you will not find it here. It's porn.

Without Reservations is the story of two werewolves who find themselves mated to each other. Other reviews and synopses may lead you to believe that there is also a mysterious attempted murderer and tension due to Chay and Keaton's family and friends lack of acceptance, but do not be fooled. These are not actually plot points, but merely flimsy pieces of the story meant to fill in the gaps between sex scenes.

The romance between Chay and Keaton is extremely boring. In this universe, werewolves immediately know who their mates are upon meeting them. They are in love immediately. The romance doesn't develop in a way that the audience can identify with. They are just magically and instantly in TRUE LOVE.
In the beginning, Chay was supposedly straight. I think the romance would have developed more believably if Chay HAD some reservations about the mating, rather than just accept with no problem after the initial shock passed. Chay coming to terms with his sexuality would have added a lot more depth to the relationship.

As I was reading this I was wondering when confrontations would be happening with the other characters. And when they did, their relationship was usually accepted easily, and the two characters that did have a problem with it eventually came around without too much conflict.

Without revealing too much about the mystery attempted murderer, it's pretty obvious who it is thanks to the author blabbing too much detail at times when it was unwarranted. (Anyone who reads a lot will be able to pick out "Chekhov's Guns"). Even that subplot is solved with minimal conflict. I never thought werewolves could be made this boring.


Too long, didn't read: It's 75% sex scenes and the other 25% is pretty terrible.

posted by leeches on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    An outstanding gay erotic novel... you owe it to yourself to read!

    A great read... It's a beautiful gay erotic suspense love story. I truly had trouble putting it down. It ended far too soon. I do hope the author will continue their love story in future novels. I think there are lots of possible futures for these characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Great read

    Refreshing and amusing characters - one who has a life changing revelation and deals and one with an attitude who doesn't. This book kept me entertained and I look forward to reading more in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It

    Looks like the little guys gets his big bad wolf after all. Not originally a fan of M/M, I really enjoyed the characters in this book. I can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    AWESOME

    This is the most entertaining book I have EVER read. Smoking hot sex, passion, drama and an awesome plot. I laughed so much at times that my husband thought I was crazy. AWESOME BOOK!!!! NEED MORE SOON!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Dani

    Maybe me.....and plus one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Cassi and Carmen

    We wnt to go wheres it at??

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Domino

    Me attire: a dark blue dress tht goes to my knees silver flowers stiched along the edge strapless dark blue high heel boots brown hair brown eyes blue eye shadow red lipstick

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Love this book!

    I have read this book and all the others in this series. If you like M/M books this is a must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Such a cute book

    This book was absolutely adorable. I literally could NOT put my Nook down when I bought this book. AMAZING!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Excellent Page Turner!!!

    Wow, I didn't think this freebie Nookbook offering would be my cup of tea. I was so wrong. I really enjoyed getting to know the characters and the very well written storylines. J.L. Langley has become another favorite author of mine. I'm almost finished reading With Caution, this books follow up in the series, and I've already purchased the next one due out March 2011. Excellent series and worth the page turning time in deed. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    job well done

    great book for the price- now i want to read the others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT!

    Cannot wait till the third book in this series a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing and powerful

    This is one of the most touching and sensual novels I've ever read. The relationship between the two main characters develops quickly and becomes so intense and loving. Their struggles and triumphs getting to know one another, becoming a couple, and coming out to friends and family are very real. The intimate scenes are wild and heated. This book will make you yearn to feel the passion of new love all over again. I was hooked on this book from the second I started reading it. I'm sad to have finished it, as there is so much more of this story left to tell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolute must read!

    It has comedy, romance, drama and I highly recommend it. The relationships in the book are complex and sweet. The chemistry is off the charts. Keaton's reluctance and Chay's understanding prove that it doesn't matter who or why, who you love is who you love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    wonderful

    this book was very sweet and romantic I love how they found an fought for eachother i recomend this book to any one who loves to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    hot and romantic

    This book, even though the main characters are two guys, illustrates also what a woman would like to feel like going into a relationship and the complexities involved in accepting a partner in life, whether it's wolf-life or human-life or whatever. Excellent read. My first male-on-male book that got me enthused about the author. If you are curious or just wondering what these types of books can be like, an excellent choice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    I love this book

    When I first got this book, I had no idea what I was in store for. This book is very explicit but at the same time shows the true love of Keaton and Chayton. I really wish there was a sequel to this book, seeing how as it ends in a cliff hanger...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7