Customer Reviews for

Without Warning

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great read! Can't wait for the next installment.

I really enjoyed this book. I was introduced to John Birmingham's work via his earlier trilogy (Designated Targets, Weapons of Choice and Final Impact), and enjoyed them all. I would compare him favorably to mainstream authors like Clancy, Coonts and James Cobb. His ...
I really enjoyed this book. I was introduced to John Birmingham's work via his earlier trilogy (Designated Targets, Weapons of Choice and Final Impact), and enjoyed them all. I would compare him favorably to mainstream authors like Clancy, Coonts and James Cobb. His characterizations are better in this book, and his narrative flow is smoother than his prior work. If you like action, strong characters, a great storyline and a sense of impending doom and idiots getting what they deserve, this one's for you.

posted by Tigerjuice on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Okay, not great

Would have given this 2.5 stars if I could have. There are too many unconnected storylines in the book. Some of the stories are actually kind of interesting, but just as you get interested in one storyline, the author decides it's time to devote 50-75 pages on some stor...
Would have given this 2.5 stars if I could have. There are too many unconnected storylines in the book. Some of the stories are actually kind of interesting, but just as you get interested in one storyline, the author decides it's time to devote 50-75 pages on some story that isn't particularly good. Had to resist the urge to just skim ahead.

posted by Rock_Chalk_Jayhawk on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great read! Can't wait for the next installment.

    I really enjoyed this book. I was introduced to John Birmingham's work via his earlier trilogy (Designated Targets, Weapons of Choice and Final Impact), and enjoyed them all. I would compare him favorably to mainstream authors like Clancy, Coonts and James Cobb. His characterizations are better in this book, and his narrative flow is smoother than his prior work. If you like action, strong characters, a great storyline and a sense of impending doom and idiots getting what they deserve, this one's for you.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A surpise in evey chapter

    The first chapter gets you hooked and evey one after has a twist that makes you want to start the next one A.S.A.P. I had trouble putting it down when I knew I should be going to sleep. The surprise ending has me wanting the next book A.S.A.P. A great entertaining read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Excellent novel.

    What would the world be like without virtually all of the United States gone, except for a few million people and most of our military resources? And the military is not too interested in a coup and prefers to act under civilian leadership, nearly all of which is gone? Find out this author's idea in this book, then mull over how your view is different.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What would the world be like without America?

    That's the question that this book takes a stab at. After a mysterious energy bubble engulfs the majority of the North American continent the world quickly begins it's downward spiral. Civil war errupts in the France splitting the country along ethnic lines. Britain seals itself off and begins mass deportations of foriegners. The world economy collapses as the dollar loses all value. The Middle East explodes in violence. Piracy spreads across the open seas. And the remnants of our military are left trying to hold things together. While handling the evacuation of survivors, an attack by Iraq on our deployed forces in the Middle East, and trying to maintain law & order in the surviving areas of America, the military is pulled in every direction and faces some tough decisions. This is the first book in what promises to be an amazing trilogy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The opening act of a world reacting to an apocalyptic disaster is fast-paced and filled with action

    In 2003, WITHOUT WARNING American military forces are preparing for Operation Desert Freedom deployment when an energy field that rises miles into the sky covers much of the forty-eight continental states, Canada, Mexico and Cuba like a thick blanket. Almost every animal life including humans trapped inside is dead; in almost seconds billions of Americans, Canadians, Mexicans, and Cubans are turned into ooze.<BR/><BR/>Around the globe there is shock and fear. The only major American city to survive the carnage is Seattle, which was fortunate to be outside the massive eradication zone. Still the emotional impact leaves the city and its burbs near collapse. City engineer James Kipper tries to deliver some semblance of civilization by keeping the essential support services working although rioting is common and the military consider martial law. In Hawaii, also outside the dead zone, Admiral James Ritchie leads the powerful American navy, but against no known enemy with no command and control beyond him. Israel considers nuking its Arab neighbors since the Americans no longer are there to require restraint. France has a civil war while Britain shuts down the islands. The aftermath is civilization around the world is rapidly deteriorating as ugly incidents are everywhere as only the deviously strong will survive.<BR/><BR/>The opening act of a world reacting to an apocalyptic disaster is fast-paced and filled with action as John Birmingham¿s global nightmare shows the aftermath to what begins to happen when the superpower vanishes WITHOUT WARNING. Ironically with the biblical proportions of the catastrophe, Darwinism comes to mind as survival of the fittest means the previous Americanized rules of order no longer apply. Although this is the set up for first tale, fans will appreciate Mr. Birmingham¿s deep dark saga of a world in radical change due to an unforeseen calamity that has survivors reeling for cover with differing reactions.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    I'm not going to recommend it for my book club, but it was a lot

    I'm not going to recommend it for my book club, but it was a lot of fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Highly Recommend.

    Thought provoking - very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Intense, engaging but pretty bleak - looking out for the next one

    The last John Birmingham book I read was "The Tasmanian Babes Fiasco" and it was one of the funniest things I'd ever read. I guess JB didn't want to be pidgeonholed by that and "Falafel", because this may be a lot of things, but funny isn't one of them. Intense, gritty, bloody and pretty disturbing it is. Not something you'll put aside between chapters and forget about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Excellent

    Great story. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    Exciting!!

    This book is a rollercoaster ride with multi charters. The US, most of Canada, Mexico and half the island of Cuba are incased in this bubble of unknown energy, killing all warm blooded beings inside.
    The book takes you from the only US city of Settle to Guantanamo Bay Cuba,to Europe, to the middle east and wrapes you in its spell.
    John Birmingham makes you feel like you are there and truley involved with the world gone crazy.
    I recommend this book to anyone who likes a book that involves the unknown and who can stay up all night to finish it. I cant wait for the next installment of the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2