Customer Reviews for

Without a Map: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    Emotional book! A story of survival

    One of the best books I have EVER read! Unbelievable story of survival and emotional turmoil around. I read this book in a very short amount of time because I just could not put it down! This book is not only absorbing but inspirational!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    What a journey!

    I had heard of this book (Without a Map) in the April issue of 'O' magazine. I purchased it six months later, and as I read it, I had to put it down a couple of times because of the emotional impact it had on me. Anyone who dares to be honest enough about the effects of familial abandonment should read this book. This book took me on an amazing journey that ended with a different resolution than I had imagined. I recommend Meredith Hall's 'Without a Map' to anyone who is brave enough to take the journey through heartbreak, loneliness, and most of all reconciliation with one's family and one's past.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2007

    A beautiful book!

    I have just finished reading Without a Map and I am truly moved. I feel a connection to Meredith Hall and to her story. Being a parent at the age of 18 - though in a different time - I can totally relate. This is a warm story highlighting the unending challenges of finding yourself once scarred by your past. I am touched by her story and look forward to the next installment.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is so emotional. You can feel this Meredith's pain, but she does not want you to feel sorry for her. She tells her story in a way that you feel part of it. Very worth while!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I saw this book in a recent Oprah magazine and decided to pick it up. Since I live near where the book takes place, I found it very interesting. I read the book on a recent family road trip and had a difficult time putting it down. Nearing the end of the book, I actually cried when her elderly houseguest passed, it touched my heart. This was a great memoir and I would recommend it to anyone. I only wish she would write another book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    Inside a Life

    This memoir draws the reader in and holds your interest. I needed to find out what happened next in this extraordinary life. The writing is elegant.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    Couldn't put it down

    This book is surprising, soulful, sad and incredibly joyful. I read it in one sitting. Anyone with parents or with children should read this memoir, which peels away the onion layers of complex family life. How do you coexist with simultaneously loving and hating your family? How do you create closure for yourself?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    Beautifully written, elegant and direct

    Meredith Hall has written unflinchingly about sensitive subjects and a life scarred by rigid expectations. Her parents and many others let her down, but she never lets the reader down in this searing memoir. Ultimately, she draws her own map.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Without a Map: A Memoir

    This is an account that no one should have to write. It's 1965 and good girls don't get pregnant. Meredith writes a sad...revealing...heartfelt account of her pregnancy at age 16 and how she was criticized, rejected and treated miserably by friends and family. How does she survive it? How does she regain control of her life? Does she ever meet her child? The book is based upon Ms. Hall's struggles to understand why her life changed so quickly and drastically as well as how she struggles to repair it. Her descriptions are vivid and the issues she raises are very thought provoking...great read...compelling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    I picked up this book because like the author I am a birth mom.

    I picked up this book because like the author I am a birth mom. I found the book way too confusing as it bounced back and forth from child to adult to teen to child to adult etc. I even found a few chapters disturbing. I understand the pain behind her actions but some were just WAY too out there and bizarre. I would not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Very highly recommended!

    As I was reading this book, I would glance to see how many pages I had left as I didn't want it to end! The writing style made me feel and walk with the author through her life and made me examine myself and relationships in my life.
    I love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW

    As a contemporary of Ms Hall, I remember the stretching and straining of mores with "girls in trouble". In more cosmopolitan NJ, girls were choosing to not be forced into marriage and still keeping their babies. Entering University of NH in the Fall of 1967, I found NH a much more insular - pizza was much too ethnic a food for this college town - so the shame and guilt visited upon her seem so genuine - The tone of the story reinforces the difficulty in the telling. It must have been such a difficult story to write. A great reference for our daughters and granddaughters to understand the social strictures and blatant double standard of the 1960s.
    Thank you for your courage

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    I found this story sad. It was chosed by our book club. certainly provoked a lot of discussion. we would have liked to know more about parts of the authors life that she did not share.

    This is a story about a teen age girl in the 1960's who becomes pregnant & is ostracized by her family. The book describes what happens to her over the next 30 or so years.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    This book is Amazing

    I don't know what that previous reader was talking about not believing the author, saying they grew up at the same time in the same place and remembers it differently. I think that's a matter of perspective and maybe he or she lived their lives , differently and didn't follow the same people or were just out of touch. I grew up in Hampton , raised children in Hampton and hung out at Hampton beach. I remember it and her descriptions are right on. Not to mention that I also reside in epping NH and its just wonderful to read a book that describes the towns and environment , that you can related to literally. It makes this book take on a vivid life. It breaths. It is true how pregnancy was considered tabu with a young girl and a one night stand so to speak, its true that your schools and churches and friends seem to validate the shame more than the unconditional love. Especially in 1965. So for some who think she made it up? How about just giving the benefit of the doubt. I would bet that the same 10 people could live in one town, have similar memories but have different perspectives. Thanks you Meredith.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    I grew up in the same town at the same time. We have another James Frey on our hands here. While I did not know Ms. Hall, I remember things being quite different than she describes. I read about this book in O Magazine and became interested in it. You would have thought that Oprah would be more careful after the Frey incident and not been taken twice.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Enough Already!

    I found this book introspective to the point of nausea. I emphathized with her pain and rejection from family when she was most in need. But the years of wandering the world, wearing rags and going hungry and constantly and willingly reliving her disappointments... just got OLD.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Loved it!!

    The emotional expression in this book was captivating! I read it in a day and a half! I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    Strongly Recommend

    I really enjoyed this book, one of the best books I have read in a while. did not want it to end. Especially enjoyed her stories of travelling throughout other countries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    BRILLIANT WRITER, SPELL-BINDING BOOK

    Hall tells a story of triumph and redemption after being cast out of her family, her church, her school and her community at age 16. Why? Because she became pregnant with one boy from out of town on the one night they made love on a sandy beach in New Hampshire. The boy deserts her, too. But Hall's courage and intelligence, her will to survive and her profound insights save her, and they have resulted in the best book I've read--and I read at least two a week--in years

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    The Four S's

    RE: Without A Map When I was a teenager my girlfriends and I loved reading those romance mags. However,the girls who did the dirty deed always got pregnant...sentenced to a life of secretly wearing the scarlett letter,forever adrift in the world with no hope of any future happiness. A while back More Magazine and NYT Book Review published a few letters to the editor when another one of these sad sack sob sister memoirs came out that showed some woman went on to live very happy,productive,content lives. They felt the past was the past and they did what had to be done. I suspect that there are more of these type woman among us than book publishers are aware. I have many friends who adopted children and they are very grateful for this type of woman.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2