Customer Reviews for

Witness

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is excellent.

    Karen Hesse uses the monologue style that she used for Out of the Dust. Witness is shocking but very interesting. I think that it might be even better than Out of the Dust. It should have won a Newbery Award. Please read it. You will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    Great

    Love it the book was great

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2007

    Heart-rending

    Karen Heese wrote the novel Witness as journal entries, and these astonishing and heart-rending free verse poems capture the suspense, hurt, and commotion of the early 1900's. Witness has many sections from different people's point-of-view. Some of the characters are Leanora Sutter, the young black innocent girl, Johny Reeves, clergyman, Percelle Johnson, town constable, Esther Hirsh, lonely little white girl that only has Leanora as a friend and Sara Chickering and her dad to look after her. Each character has a strong way of letting the readers know what is going on and voice their point-of-view about all the situations. As you read more about the characters, you are able to get a clear picture of what is going on in this town of disturbance. This book is very interesting, so go ckeck it out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Pese read this preview

    So in this book there is rape and racism. Fear and friendship. This is the best freeverse I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT MYSTERY BOOK BASED ON WORLD WAR II!

    BASICALLY WRITTEN THE SAME WAY AS OUT OF THE DUST!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    a reviewer

    this was a great book i enjoyed it and im 12 years old we had to do this for a project in school and it was great fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    Great book for young teens!

    Witness was a great book! It is not to long for kids because it does not fill a full page and it is only 161 pages. But, you will learn alot from this book about the early 1900's. It is about a black family moving to Vermont and they have to deal with the KKK coming up. So, if you are interested in the early 1900's and do not like to read a mouthful like Harry Potter, this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2006

    A Witness to WITNESS

    the book is ok. it's not great but,it's not bad. the ending makes no sense. it's just about the kkk coming into a small vermont town. the only thing that happens is the pastor was part of the kkk, they kicked him out and then he committed suicide because of it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2006

    a reviewer

    Witness is a great book for either scool project or just for a good infromative book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    Do you want to no more about the Civil Rights Movement? If so this book is for you!

    Do you want to know more about the Ku Klux Klan? Read the book, Witness, a novel told in verses, by Karen Hesse. The setting of this book is the year 1924, in Vermont. This novel is serious, and talks about people in the north getting attacked by the Ku Klux Klan. The two main characters of this book are Leanora Sutter, and Esther Hirsh. If you like this book you will like another book by Karen Hesse called, Out of the Dust. These two books are alike because they are told in many verses, voices, and poems. The weak points in this book that I didn¿t like were when each page was a different person than the page before. The strong points in the book that I liked were when they talked about the KKK. I wouldn¿t recommend this book to anyone because it goes from one person to another, then it gets hard to follow along, and then you get bored with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    Read this book

    Do you like poems? If you do Witness was made for you! Witness is a historical novel told in many voices by Karen Hesse. This is a book about people who witnessed the Ku Klux Klan. There are many people in this book, but the most effected were Leonora and Esther. This book is also very serious. This book is a lot like the other book Karen wrote called Out of the Dust. They are both written in poems. They also have many voices and good and bad points. The bad points in Witness were the poems and no capitalization. The strong points are when the people see the KKK, because it makes me want to read more to see what happens. Someone who wants to learn about the KKK might want to read this. I wouldn¿t tell my friends to read this because it is very confusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    Witness is an Amazing Book

    Did you ever wonder about victims of the Klu Klux Klan? This novel that is told in verse is by the wonderful author Karen Hesse. I would think that 13 year old kids that are interested in the civil rights movement would be the best audience for this book. The book Witness is like the story Numbering the Stars. I think this because it talks about people that are afraid of being themselves because if they are they will get hurt or killed. Two main characters are Sara Chickering and Merlin Van Tornhout. Sara is a 42 year old farmer and Merkin is 18 years old.The setting of this book takes place in Vermont in the year 1924. I think that this is a strong story about people up in the north worried about getting hurt by the K.K.K. and whether or not they should become part of it. The weak points of this story are that there is pore sentence structure and that it is in a poem form. I think one of the strong points of this story was when Johnny Reeves got the K.K.K. branding on his back. I would not recommend this story to my friends because it is very powerful and too hard for children my age to understand every thing that is going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    Super Kool Review by Mr.Pibb

    Do you like a good novel with mystery and adventure? Then Witness is the book for you. This book by Karen Hesse is interesting because each page is written in verse, sort of like poems. This book takes place in 1924. It is about a small town in Vermont that is being invaded by the Ku Klux Klan. It¿s up to Leanora Sutter, a black girl who is fighting for her rights, Esther Hirsh, a Jewish girl who is friends with Leanora, and a few of their friends to chase them out. The basic theme of this story is that you should never give up, even if you are faced with something much bigger than you. I don¿t think I would recommend this book to anyone in fifth grade or lower, because it might be hard for them to understand. After all, the entire book is written in poems. You actually have to read it a few times to get the meaning of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    my opinion

    I am sorry, but i didn't like the book. maybe it was because we had to 'analiyze' what the poems meant in school since it was a team novel. it didn't interest me. sry 2 all those who liked it, but not everyone likes this book. that is my opinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    A small town's inhabitants combat racism

    This excellent book in free verse details the rise of the Ku Klux Klan in a small Vermont town in the 1930s. When a Klan incident occurs about 12 townspeople give their testimony about the event and the ugly rise leading up to it. There is plenty for discussion in this book. It is excellent for teens as well as adults. You would figure that adults would have already learned the lesson about tolerance inherent in this book, but just change the word 'racism' to 'homophobia' and you will realize that many adults still fear those they consider to be different. We need to develop tolerance for all people, not just those we perceive to be like us. I bought this book for our church library. It is terrific. It is deceptively simple but has much food for thought. Buy this as a gift for a middle schooler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    Witness to an amazing book

    This is an inventive concept, to create photos of characters so you can better identify them and then provide prose/poem perspectives from each one in a sort of homage to Rashomon. Reminds me of Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman and Spoon River Anthology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    The Best Book Ever

    I loved Witness. Even though I love poems. This book was over the top good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    READ THIS REVIEW!!!

    this book was so awesome, i loved it so much! it is really sad but really good. At first i didn't understand the title but then i totally understood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    good

    The was good gecause it was about the how people lived in the 60's and how hard life was for black people.It talked about the ku klux klan and how so many whites wanted to join.the klan thoght of everything you could thing of but when they found out that they were wrong they would burn a cross. The book also talked about how mean people could be. There was one person who killed some body for no reason. I think that this book really gave a good prespective of what life was really like for blacks and every one else who lived back then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2003

    excellent reading!

    I loved this book; read it because it looked interesting, and read it again, and again -- ended up using it as the basis of an assignment, and found lots of ideas for activities for using this story with kids. A great story, a great resource, and a wonderfully unique style -- as well as an interesting starting point for researching the KKK and other similar groups. I recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2