Customer Reviews for

The Witness

Average Rating 4
( 331 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Absorbing!

This book really sucked me in. Coudln't put it down. A warning to people that don't like going back and forth in the time sequence. I usually don't like that but it was esential to the story Brown wanted to tell. This would have been 5 stars by me but Brown didn't pr...
This book really sucked me in. Coudln't put it down. A warning to people that don't like going back and forth in the time sequence. I usually don't like that but it was esential to the story Brown wanted to tell. This would have been 5 stars by me but Brown didn't provide enough of an ending for me. I was looking for an epilogue or something.

posted by Billify on February 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

This is a 15 YEAR OLD BOOK

I love Sandra Brown books just so tired of Barnes and Noble being so deceptive and hyping these books as a new release beginning to appear that B and N is hoping we will reourcgase something published decades ago All they need to do is add a statement that its first t...
I love Sandra Brown books just so tired of Barnes and Noble being so deceptive and hyping these books as a new release beginning to appear that B and N is hoping we will reourcgase something published decades ago All they need to do is add a statement that its first time published as an ebook thats what KINDLE does

posted by 5847646 on July 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 331 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    This is a 15 YEAR OLD BOOK

    I love Sandra Brown books just so tired of Barnes and Noble being so deceptive and hyping these books as a new release beginning to appear that B and N is hoping we will reourcgase something published decades ago All they need to do is add a statement that its first time published as an ebook thats what KINDLE does

    49 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    Absorbing!

    This book really sucked me in. Coudln't put it down. A warning to people that don't like going back and forth in the time sequence. I usually don't like that but it was esential to the story Brown wanted to tell. This would have been 5 stars by me but Brown didn't provide enough of an ending for me. I was looking for an epilogue or something.

    31 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    The Witness

    Enjoyed the book but hated the use of the "f" W
    word,,




    Enjoyed the book, hated the use of the "f" word , I would rhink








    I loved the book, hated the use of "f" word, I don't think it helped the book if anything it will keep me from referring it to other people, Maybe a thesaures would be a tool to find a word that is not offensive,











    Teed



    ed




    15 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Old

    You sold it since December 30 1999! WOW no wonder I don't like it!

    15 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Good summer reading

    Enjoyed this thriller by Sandra Brown as I do most of her books. This was unusual plot, but kept you on the edge of your seat.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Sandra Brown

    I loved this book as I have loved all the Sandra Brown books I have read. I highly recommend it.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2001

    A GREAT BOOK

    This was a first with Sandra Brown, but it won't be the last. What a great read for everyone. I just kept at this book until it was finished...just couldn't put it down. Even though I figured out what the ending would be, it was fantastic reading right to the end. Highly recommended to anyone.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    This is an old book! Why did I need to preorder it? I read it in paperback years ago.

    They need to tell you that it is an older book. Now ive bought it twice. I think I should get a store credit or something. Again, why preorder? Very disappointed Barnes and Noble!

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    One of my favorites

    This was the first sandra brown book i read, and it blew me away. After that i read a ton of her books and became a huge fan. This book has so many themes that I look for in a good read and just the right touch of romance. It instantly became one of my favorites...this and Slow Heat in Heaven! Read them both!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    The wittness

    377 pages......I like this book it kept my interest....a lot ofgoing back and forth and I was surprised at the end......it was different writing for SB.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Like It

    Some of the violence is more than I cared for but I loved the story. I read it in two days.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Started out fine then turned boring.

    I read the "The Witness" over a 3 day period and I had a struggle to keep reading it. The story is okay nothing to praise and the writing was weak. I have read other books by Ms. Brown and I have enjoyed some of them, but this one just didn't seem to be very interesting. She is a great writer and I'll probably pick up another novel by her. However it will be through the library just in case. Overall, it's not a terrible book, just an easy beach read.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Product Details for this book says that the Publication Date is

    Product Details for this book says that the Publication Date is 6/25/2013.  So, I thought this was a new book by Sandra Brown.  I'm not sure what that date means, because I have read this book previously.  Very Frustrating.
    It is a good book though.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2007

    WOW!

    This book was great! If you have never read a Sandra Brown novel before, this is the one to get you started! It is filled with suspence and romance! You are not going to want to put this down!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2005

    my first Sandra Brown book!!

    Over the summer I went away and had nothing to read, so I picked The Witness up to read, and I couldnt stop! I think its well written and it keeps you guessing...I love that book, and am now an avid reader of her other books...a must read!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    Great Book that captured me from the start

    I loved this book, Although some of the content was so sad to me I couldnt beleive the brutalness of Gibb and Matt. And some of the scenes were just hard to think about. But it was a great suspense and really hooked me in from the start. On a negative side I found it hard to think that someone as kind as Kendall would have such a trashy best friend who would sleep with two strangers she had never even met and spill her secret location to. So some things were just so unrealistic but on the whole a great fast read

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2000

    Great reading!

    The story is very instense from beginning to end. It'll keep you on the edge of your seat. The romance is just as instense as the plot. I really enjoyed this book so much so that I had to listen to the audio cassette.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Good story, but I thought it was a new release.  This happens a

    Good story, but I thought it was a new release.  This happens a lot when buying Nook books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    SLOW And completely unbelievable story

    Stopped reading after 65 pages ! Boring and dumb

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Ive read this before and want to read it again but i would buy i

    Ive read this before and want to read it again but i would buy it if it was available on the nook

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 331 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17