Customer Reviews for

A Wizard Of Earthsea (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Ged vs. Potter? I choose Ged.

It's interesting, in these days of Harry Potter, to read what people think of LeGuin's Earthsea books and in particular 'A Wizard of Earthsea'. I think that people forget that this book was first published in 1968, about 30 years before the US publication of 'Harry Pott...
It's interesting, in these days of Harry Potter, to read what people think of LeGuin's Earthsea books and in particular 'A Wizard of Earthsea'. I think that people forget that this book was first published in 1968, about 30 years before the US publication of 'Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's [Philosopher's] Stone'. While, in my opinion, J.K. Rowling is an extremely creative writer, her characters are all fairly simplistic, with virtually one-track minds. Adults in Rowling's magical world are as immature and petty as the children at Hogwarts. Her characters are driven by rather simple, predictable emotions and goals. Characters in Rowling's books continuously repeat the same character flaws and don't seem to learn from them over the course of seven books. Rowling paints with so thick a brush that the reader becomes duped into accepting that a plot twist equates to character development. LeGuin's Ged, on the other hand, does learn. He exists in a world where children act like children and adults act like adults. He grows immensely during this coming of age tale. His character development leads the plot, rather than the other way around, therefore, creating a much richer read, in my opinion, than any of Rowling's beloved books. LeGuin packs so much imagery, action and character development into a book less than 200 pages long. Compare that to the endless chapters in the Harry Potter books where you spend over 200 pages finding out, for example, who's taking who to the Yule Ball, or how many times Harry will serve detention. LeGuin's book is probably written for younger readers who like to think about the meaning of what they are reading, rather than simply follow a story line laid out before them. Don't get me wrong, I have enjoyed J.K. Rowling's books and I greatly appreciate them for what they are...I've bought the last few books the day they were released, just like almsot everybody else. But I absolutely love LeGuin's work and I feel that she has written amongst the finest fantasy writing I have read, to date, and I've been reading fantasy for over 25 years. For people who have enjoyed reading Harry Potter, you may also enjoy the original three books of this series 'A Wizard of Earthsea, The Tombs of Atuan, and The Farthest Shore'. The Farthest Shore is also a masterpiece. As I have grown older, with maturation of my understanding of the way things work in life, my perspective and understanding of that story has evolved and so I consider that book to be a rare literary equivalent to a fine wine whose flavors change as it ages.

posted by Anonymous on July 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Whaaaaat?

Not even the first sentance. Some sample. How do I know if this book is right for me? GIVE AT LEAST THE FIRST CHAPTER!!!!!!!! Click yes if you agree!

posted by Anonymous on August 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    Ged vs. Potter? I choose Ged.

    It's interesting, in these days of Harry Potter, to read what people think of LeGuin's Earthsea books and in particular 'A Wizard of Earthsea'. I think that people forget that this book was first published in 1968, about 30 years before the US publication of 'Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's [Philosopher's] Stone'. While, in my opinion, J.K. Rowling is an extremely creative writer, her characters are all fairly simplistic, with virtually one-track minds. Adults in Rowling's magical world are as immature and petty as the children at Hogwarts. Her characters are driven by rather simple, predictable emotions and goals. Characters in Rowling's books continuously repeat the same character flaws and don't seem to learn from them over the course of seven books. Rowling paints with so thick a brush that the reader becomes duped into accepting that a plot twist equates to character development. LeGuin's Ged, on the other hand, does learn. He exists in a world where children act like children and adults act like adults. He grows immensely during this coming of age tale. His character development leads the plot, rather than the other way around, therefore, creating a much richer read, in my opinion, than any of Rowling's beloved books. LeGuin packs so much imagery, action and character development into a book less than 200 pages long. Compare that to the endless chapters in the Harry Potter books where you spend over 200 pages finding out, for example, who's taking who to the Yule Ball, or how many times Harry will serve detention. LeGuin's book is probably written for younger readers who like to think about the meaning of what they are reading, rather than simply follow a story line laid out before them. Don't get me wrong, I have enjoyed J.K. Rowling's books and I greatly appreciate them for what they are...I've bought the last few books the day they were released, just like almsot everybody else. But I absolutely love LeGuin's work and I feel that she has written amongst the finest fantasy writing I have read, to date, and I've been reading fantasy for over 25 years. For people who have enjoyed reading Harry Potter, you may also enjoy the original three books of this series 'A Wizard of Earthsea, The Tombs of Atuan, and The Farthest Shore'. The Farthest Shore is also a masterpiece. As I have grown older, with maturation of my understanding of the way things work in life, my perspective and understanding of that story has evolved and so I consider that book to be a rare literary equivalent to a fine wine whose flavors change as it ages.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Whaaaaat?

    Not even the first sentance. Some sample. How do I know if this book is right for me? GIVE AT LEAST THE FIRST CHAPTER!!!!!!!!


    Click yes if you agree!

    17 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A great book

    A Wizard of Earth Sea by Ursula K. Le Guin is an amazing piece of Sci Fi literature and covers many captivating themes such as light vs. dark, arrogance vs. self control, modesty and maturity vs. boasting and growing and of course friendship. The book was published by A Bantam Spectra Book Co. and what a wonderful decision it was for them to publish such a wonderful book. Ged starts of young and arrogant with little self control. He strives to be the best at everything he does and wants to prove himself better than his humble island. After discovering his magical abilities he shortly starts making poor choices that his arrogance, lack of self control, and immaturity lead on to. He summons up a spirit and a fog that nearly destroy him twice. Ged starts a new journey on the island of Roke where he is given magical lessons from the best of the best. In his haste to learn all he can he gains knowledge much faster than other students and quickly excels. He meets his friend and enemy on the same day. Vetch the peace maker a character most enjoyable for his kind ways and Jasper most despised for having all of the bad traits of Ged yet none of his good qualities that make Ged acceptable. Ged and Jasper become competitors and each thinks they are better than the other. This leads to Ged and Jasper having a competition. Ged must summon a spirit to prove he has greater power then Jasper. In doing so Le Guin shows that when a person creates something out of evil and darkness the product of that creation can only be or used for darkness and evil. This was also true in the case of Ged summoning up a spirit which allowed all of Ged¿s poor qualities to be poored into this dark shadow. Ged leaves Roke to hunt his darkness and when he comes face to face with it he realizes that it is just all of his own bad qualities. Ursula captures how people think of themselves and how we like to avoid all of our bad habits, but in the story Ged must face his and in doing so he truly becomes powerful and great. In my true and most honest opinion I find this book to be wonderful and captivating. It will keep a reader engaged page after page and will also spark a reader¿s interest in other books written by Le Guin. This story is definitely up there with Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings. If you have any book to read with a class or for fun I would recommend this book again and again.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good fast book

    This book is an excellent star to the Earthsea Cycle. The writting is very fast in some moments of the book and suspenful and funny in other. You won't be bored.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Don't know can't tell

    What kind of sample is that??? They only give one page to read!

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    This was good.

    This was good - made me go out and buy more of the Earthsea Series. My only problem was that the book wasn't very long and I read it far too quickly. I recommend for anybody who likes a little different.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The Wizard of earthsea is, without a doubt, the best book ever!When I first read it, I was blown away. It's full of great characters, and the writings great.:)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Pretty good.

    This book is good. I for one enjoy it, but my peers dislike it, and for some good reasons. The writing is quite difficult to understand, so if you're one of those people who hate hard books or are too lazy to read them, don't even waste your time. But if you're literate enough, you'll love this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am not in the majority of those who liked this book.....I felt

    I am not in the majority of those who liked this book.....I felt is was dry, lacking in development of the characters, and I couldn't root for any of the characters. There was too much narration and too little dialog between characters. I actually had to force myself to finish the book....The premise of the storyline was a good idea but it fell short. It was like reading in an encyclopedia...

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    I had to read this for my seventh grade english class. It was soooo boring!! Half of the book didn't make sense. Then, you get to the end and I couldn't even figure out what he was fighting or who was following him. The whole story is very vague and extremely hard to understand. My teacher thought that we should all understand what it was talking about. I do not suggest that anyone read this unless you are able to read confusing books. I thought it was going to be a good book, but it was extremely dissapointing.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Okay

    Okay story but didn't mame much sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Good fantasy fiction

    Subversive but timeless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Great oregon writer

    Wizard ftw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Great book

    Fun to read! Couldn't put it down. Would and have read it time and time again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Read

    No! That's mean to say. What if you wrote that book, and herd that coment.

    :(

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    An epic of a story

    She does magic when she writes, I am trully on an adventure with this series. I reread it every few years since no other storyteller can write so spellbindingly well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    D

    D

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Ugh.

    While the concepts of magic presented are indeed interesting, this book lulled me to sleep. There is little to no detail any of the characters, barely any dialouge, and definitly doesn't live up to its wonderus ratings. If it's requiered reading for school, I would definitly check it out of a library and save money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Great

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Awsome book!

    One of the greatest novels i've ever read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8