Customer Reviews for

A Wizard of Earthsea

Average Rating 4
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Ged vs. Potter? I choose Ged.

It's interesting, in these days of Harry Potter, to read what people think of LeGuin's Earthsea books and in particular 'A Wizard of Earthsea'. I think that people forget that this book was first published in 1968, about 30 years before the US publication of 'Harry Pott...
It's interesting, in these days of Harry Potter, to read what people think of LeGuin's Earthsea books and in particular 'A Wizard of Earthsea'. I think that people forget that this book was first published in 1968, about 30 years before the US publication of 'Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's [Philosopher's] Stone'. While, in my opinion, J.K. Rowling is an extremely creative writer, her characters are all fairly simplistic, with virtually one-track minds. Adults in Rowling's magical world are as immature and petty as the children at Hogwarts. Her characters are driven by rather simple, predictable emotions and goals. Characters in Rowling's books continuously repeat the same character flaws and don't seem to learn from them over the course of seven books. Rowling paints with so thick a brush that the reader becomes duped into accepting that a plot twist equates to character development. LeGuin's Ged, on the other hand, does learn. He exists in a world where children act like children and adults act like adults. He grows immensely during this coming of age tale. His character development leads the plot, rather than the other way around, therefore, creating a much richer read, in my opinion, than any of Rowling's beloved books. LeGuin packs so much imagery, action and character development into a book less than 200 pages long. Compare that to the endless chapters in the Harry Potter books where you spend over 200 pages finding out, for example, who's taking who to the Yule Ball, or how many times Harry will serve detention. LeGuin's book is probably written for younger readers who like to think about the meaning of what they are reading, rather than simply follow a story line laid out before them. Don't get me wrong, I have enjoyed J.K. Rowling's books and I greatly appreciate them for what they are...I've bought the last few books the day they were released, just like almsot everybody else. But I absolutely love LeGuin's work and I feel that she has written amongst the finest fantasy writing I have read, to date, and I've been reading fantasy for over 25 years. For people who have enjoyed reading Harry Potter, you may also enjoy the original three books of this series 'A Wizard of Earthsea, The Tombs of Atuan, and The Farthest Shore'. The Farthest Shore is also a masterpiece. As I have grown older, with maturation of my understanding of the way things work in life, my perspective and understanding of that story has evolved and so I consider that book to be a rare literary equivalent to a fine wine whose flavors change as it ages.

posted by Anonymous on July 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Whaaaaat?

Not even the first sentance. Some sample. How do I know if this book is right for me? GIVE AT LEAST THE FIRST CHAPTER!!!!!!!! Click yes if you agree!

posted by Anonymous on August 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Pretty good.

    This book is good. I for one enjoy it, but my peers dislike it, and for some good reasons. The writing is quite difficult to understand, so if you're one of those people who hate hard books or are too lazy to read them, don't even waste your time. But if you're literate enough, you'll love this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I know many rave about this book, but for me it was a bit labori

    I know many rave about this book, but for me it was a bit laborious reading. I much prefer the work of J.K. Rowling.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Meh.

    The "A Wizard of Earthsea" is a great idea for a book but its no lord of the rings or harry potter. Its concepts are all great and imaginative but they don't come full circle. When Ged ,or Sparrowhawk, whichever you prefer ventures across basically the entire known world of this book we gain backstory to select situations, islands, and stories. Sadly they are never enough, generally skipping straight to a song of a hero or event whose feats apparently explain the island in its mystical ways. I can honestly say this book displays what wizarding should probably be but it lacks something to put its version over the top. Ged's quest is innovative and different from what we expect and the power of names is an ingenious idea. The islands, the magic academy, and the edge of the world are places that animate a magical and mystical world very well but they lack a lengthy explanation we can expect from fantasy novels, that lore that spurs us to read about whispering to the wind and taming dragons.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    The book is written almost as the rememberance of a dream. It carries all the majesty of a long forgotten scroll of historic import. The powers behind the story are deep, and the world is interesting. However, the characters were so fleetingly glanced. Each locale is passed over in a breath. Even the final confrontation seemed to lack substance. I can understand why some readers had a hard time with this book. There is a lot of powerful writing, but there is also a lot of plot holes and surface skimming. It is probably good for those who want to get a better idea of the fantasy genre, but not as good as the hype that it has received.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    Overrated

    This book may have been ahead of it's time, but too many great fantasy entries have entered the scene since that are just incredible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    Earthsea

    Although the writing and wording was very well done and the begining did pull me into the story, my interest waned right in the middle of the book due to the lack of dialogue, emotion between the characters, and the lack of excitement in the actual plot. It was still a good book and perhaps requires patience before the actual story begins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    Not a Good Book!

    This book was terrible.The beggining was ok.But it had a lot of boring parts.It wasn't what I expected,I thought it would be more exciting.The plot wasn't that good either.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2004

    Good Book for Young Adults

    This book is like one of the Lord of the Rings books, or maybe Harry Potter. However, it is not able to capture the reader's attention like Harry Potter, and does not contain the magic of the Tolkien books. It may be a good book for some adolescent readers, for it deals with coming of age and other similar topics.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    Great book, but not the best!

    I have to admit this book is quite enjoyable to read but it is not the best of many books i have read. The reason why its not the best is because the chapters are TOOOOOO... long!! which makes it abit boring and long, but i have to admit the story line is quite good and the author is a superb author with a very creative mind. Im not telling you that this book is bad and you shouldn't read it im just suggesting a negative point in the book which i didn't enjoy. This book is a great fantasy book, but its not the best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2003

    A Wizard of Earthsea (Earthsea Series #1)

    The Wizard of Earthsea is a very good book. It is about a young boy who goes to a wizard scool and becomes a great wizard. I recommend, though that you need a good vocabulary to understand this book. If you like this book,you should also read the Harry Potter series.It is also about a boy who goes to a wizards school, but it is much better than A wizard of Earthsea.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2002

    Great start...Gets better as series goes

    A Wizard of Earthsea is about Ged, a boy who grows up intrigued by magic. Things really start when Ged seeks out an evil creature he brought into the world with a powerful spell. I felt the book was fairly well written. For a person who doesn't read that much I found this to be hard not to fnish. It has good parts and boring but okay throughout. I liked the next books in the series better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1