Customer Reviews for

The Wizard of Oz (Oz Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

What a wonderful book!

I am fourteen. I grew up as a young boy watching and loving the movie. At age nine or ten, I came across the book in a small bookstore in a mall. My parents bought it for me and I read it in a few days. I absolutely loved it. After reading the book, the movie isn't that...
I am fourteen. I grew up as a young boy watching and loving the movie. At age nine or ten, I came across the book in a small bookstore in a mall. My parents bought it for me and I read it in a few days. I absolutely loved it. After reading the book, the movie isn't that great anymore; it's just another classic musical. The book is so amazingly descriptive and the movie left out or changed so much of the adventure, it's somewhat disapointing. I like all the characters much better in the book. I would tell you more detail of what lies between the wonderful covers of this wonderful book, but there are those who have yet to explore the world of Oz and I don't want to ruin it for them. This is one of my favorite books and I wish more people would pick it up and read it, instead of watching the half-(not appropriate word) job they did in the musical. Horray for L. Frank Baum!!!

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I purchased this particular issue of this classic story because of the cover. I am a Mary Engelbreit fan and purchase all of her books. Imagine my disappointment to open this sealed book to discover no inside illustrations. I have several copies of "The Wizard of Oz"...
I purchased this particular issue of this classic story because of the cover. I am a Mary Engelbreit fan and purchase all of her books. Imagine my disappointment to open this sealed book to discover no inside illustrations. I have several copies of "The Wizard of Oz", I didn't need another, I just wanted to see Mary Engelbreit's interpretation of the characters.

posted by 1014548 on February 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2004

    What a wonderful book!

    I am fourteen. I grew up as a young boy watching and loving the movie. At age nine or ten, I came across the book in a small bookstore in a mall. My parents bought it for me and I read it in a few days. I absolutely loved it. After reading the book, the movie isn't that great anymore; it's just another classic musical. The book is so amazingly descriptive and the movie left out or changed so much of the adventure, it's somewhat disapointing. I like all the characters much better in the book. I would tell you more detail of what lies between the wonderful covers of this wonderful book, but there are those who have yet to explore the world of Oz and I don't want to ruin it for them. This is one of my favorite books and I wish more people would pick it up and read it, instead of watching the half-(not appropriate word) job they did in the musical. Horray for L. Frank Baum!!!

    38 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    I Love It!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    In the book it has sooooooo much detail. In the movie it changes so many thing. I like the book better than the movie. I also read this book in school. My class was surprised how much it changed and how much they like it. After we read the book we watched the movie and my class was disapointed at how much they left out of the movie. I llllllllllllllllllllloooooooooovvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeeeee this book sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much that I could have read this book seven million times.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    A very good book

    The Wizard of Oz was written in 1986 by Lyman Frank Baum, published by Exter Books and 150 pages, is fiction and about a girl and her dog who meet new people in their adventures through a strange land. There are four main settings for this book. The first part of the book takes place in Dorothy¿s house in Kansas. The second setting is in munchkin land, then the yellow brick road and the last setting is in Emerald City, the Land of Oz. The book is written in third person and the protagonist is Dorothy, the main character. On her journey Dorothy meets three people who come along with her to the great Oz. The first person she meets is the scarecrow he wants a brain because he is made out of straw. The second person she meets is the lion he wants courage because he is a coward. The third person she meets is the tin man he wants a heart because he is made out of tin. In the beginning of The Wizard of Oz Dorothy¿s house is blow in a tornado to Munchkin land there she meets a good witch and tells her that she wants to get back to Kansas. The good witch tells her to follow the yellow brick road to the city of Oz. On the yellow brick road she meets a scarecrow, a lion, and a tin man. One of the major events is that Dorothy¿s house gets blown from Kansas to Munchkin land. Another main event is when Dorothy makes it to the city of Oz with all of her new friends. The author achieved his purpose and the writing was very well organized and beautiful. There were not very many inconsistencies in the book it was very well thought out. The book was very good and interesting it was one of the few books that I liked. I would recommend this book to everyone it is and easy read but a good one. I think the grade level for this book should be around 4th or 5th grade.

    13 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Well written i like the good descriptions :)

    This could be an adult book or anyones bok if they just took the tie to sit down and actully open the book and read yes read read read adults Naval83

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    betsymetsybook

    I loved wizard of oz because of it's descritive writing.Reading this book sometimes was the highlight of my day.I could relate all the characters,but mostly the lion because sometimes you don't want to be a coward.this book was GREAT!

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    I recommend this book to everyone it's a great read!

    The book "Wizard of Oz" is a great book, it's much more than just a children's fantasy. I would recommend this book to ANY reader, because the author Frank Baum was attempting to teach his audience of self-contradiction through the main characters of his story. All of the characters in this story portray self-contradiction in some way or another. Dorothy, the Tin Man, the Scarecrow, and the Cowardly Lion, all lack some sort of self confidence which leads to self contradiction in this story. The Scarecrow believes he has no brain, but comes up with many useful schemes along their journey to Oz, such as building a boat to cross the lake and cutting down a tree to cross the gap in the Yellow Brick Road. The Tin Man believes he has no heart, but on their way to the Land of Oz, he is moved to tears by the misfortunes of others. For example, when he saw a cougar trying to hunt down the queen field mice, he began to weep. Then there is the Cowardly Lion who believes he has no courage, but actually he was the bravest one of the bunch, he helped them all by risking his life by jumping over the gap of the Yellow Brick Road. Not to mention he scared away the most ferocious beasts you could ever imagine. Then there was poor Dorothy, she thought she would never be able to go home, but when she got to the Land of Oz, she realized that all she had to do was believe of going home and click her heels.
    The author attempts to teach the reader a lesson about believing in yourself and the power of believing in, "I Can."

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    9/12year old

    Hey tell me if you like this book because i loved it

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    OK

    Luv it

    7 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Love it

    I abosolutley love it it is so cool i had to read it for summer readingand when i started i was on page 5when i finished i was on page 48 and i read it in 1 day people who have not read it you need to read it right now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Cute

    My son absolutly loves this book.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Wizard of Oz

    This book was written so long ago, but when you read it, it feels like you can understand every word! Usually, these classics are kind of hard to understand, because they were written so long ago. But this book, is great! You can fully understand it, the characters are great, and it is very descriptive. This is a book everyone should read!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    Disappointed

    I purchased this particular issue of this classic story because of the cover. I am a Mary Engelbreit fan and purchase all of her books. Imagine my disappointment to open this sealed book to discover no inside illustrations. I have several copies of "The Wizard of Oz", I didn't need another, I just wanted to see Mary Engelbreit's interpretation of the characters.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    That sucked

    Why is the sample so short?!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    T

    This book is the wrost book i have ever read.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Children's book

    All you complaining about this book... you know it was written for first-graders learning to read, right?

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    I hate the samle

    Ad more to the sample i did not read the book but i read the sample i dont like it booooo foooooooo hate it

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Bad sample

    Only have one page to read boo

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Make sure you look at the cover

    I guess I didn't take a look at the cover, but this is a stepping stone book. It's not the original.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    Book or Movie

    Lions and tigers and bears, oh no? When you think of the Wizard of Oz isn’t that one of the first things to come to mind. Well not if you read the book. Oh, and those ruby red slippers? Don’t worry they are silver in the book. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz movie is not much like the book. You have the same basic characters; Dorothy, To-To, Scarecrow, Tin-Man, Oz, Glinda, the Wicked Witches, Auntie Em, and Uncle Henry. After that things are basically up for change. You have the yellow brick road, but no munchkin land. The Winged Monkeys have a whole new story to tell in the book. From a girl growing up watching this movie the book is a whole new story. It has the same basic points; Dorothy ends up in the Land of Oz after a tornado, Glinda meets her, gives her the shoes (silver in the book), she follows the yellow brick road, find the Scarecrow and Tin-Man, emerald city, melting the wicked witch (but who would of guessed she was scrubbing the floors at the time and not just sitting around), and finally going home. When she is brought home by the Winged Monkeys, yes you heard right no taping her heals together and saying “there is no place like home”, Glinda called upon the Winged Monkeys to bring her back to Kansas. When she arrived home she went running into the yard to give Auntie Em a hug. No waking up from a dream in this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Incredibly boring movie

    HORIBLE

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7