Customer Reviews for

The Wizard of Oz

Average Rating 4
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

What a wonderful book!

I am fourteen. I grew up as a young boy watching and loving the movie. At age nine or ten, I came across the book in a small bookstore in a mall. My parents bought it for me and I read it in a few days. I absolutely loved it. After reading the book, the movie isn't that...
I am fourteen. I grew up as a young boy watching and loving the movie. At age nine or ten, I came across the book in a small bookstore in a mall. My parents bought it for me and I read it in a few days. I absolutely loved it. After reading the book, the movie isn't that great anymore; it's just another classic musical. The book is so amazingly descriptive and the movie left out or changed so much of the adventure, it's somewhat disapointing. I like all the characters much better in the book. I would tell you more detail of what lies between the wonderful covers of this wonderful book, but there are those who have yet to explore the world of Oz and I don't want to ruin it for them. This is one of my favorite books and I wish more people would pick it up and read it, instead of watching the half-(not appropriate word) job they did in the musical. Horray for L. Frank Baum!!!

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I purchased this particular issue of this classic story because of the cover. I am a Mary Engelbreit fan and purchase all of her books. Imagine my disappointment to open this sealed book to discover no inside illustrations. I have several copies of "The Wizard of Oz"...
I purchased this particular issue of this classic story because of the cover. I am a Mary Engelbreit fan and purchase all of her books. Imagine my disappointment to open this sealed book to discover no inside illustrations. I have several copies of "The Wizard of Oz", I didn't need another, I just wanted to see Mary Engelbreit's interpretation of the characters.

posted by 1014548 on February 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    A very good book

    The Wizard of Oz was written in 1986 by Lyman Frank Baum, published by Exter Books and 150 pages, is fiction and about a girl and her dog who meet new people in their adventures through a strange land. There are four main settings for this book. The first part of the book takes place in Dorothy¿s house in Kansas. The second setting is in munchkin land, then the yellow brick road and the last setting is in Emerald City, the Land of Oz. The book is written in third person and the protagonist is Dorothy, the main character. On her journey Dorothy meets three people who come along with her to the great Oz. The first person she meets is the scarecrow he wants a brain because he is made out of straw. The second person she meets is the lion he wants courage because he is a coward. The third person she meets is the tin man he wants a heart because he is made out of tin. In the beginning of The Wizard of Oz Dorothy¿s house is blow in a tornado to Munchkin land there she meets a good witch and tells her that she wants to get back to Kansas. The good witch tells her to follow the yellow brick road to the city of Oz. On the yellow brick road she meets a scarecrow, a lion, and a tin man. One of the major events is that Dorothy¿s house gets blown from Kansas to Munchkin land. Another main event is when Dorothy makes it to the city of Oz with all of her new friends. The author achieved his purpose and the writing was very well organized and beautiful. There were not very many inconsistencies in the book it was very well thought out. The book was very good and interesting it was one of the few books that I liked. I would recommend this book to everyone it is and easy read but a good one. I think the grade level for this book should be around 4th or 5th grade.

    13 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    I recommend this book to everyone it's a great read!

    The book "Wizard of Oz" is a great book, it's much more than just a children's fantasy. I would recommend this book to ANY reader, because the author Frank Baum was attempting to teach his audience of self-contradiction through the main characters of his story. All of the characters in this story portray self-contradiction in some way or another. Dorothy, the Tin Man, the Scarecrow, and the Cowardly Lion, all lack some sort of self confidence which leads to self contradiction in this story. The Scarecrow believes he has no brain, but comes up with many useful schemes along their journey to Oz, such as building a boat to cross the lake and cutting down a tree to cross the gap in the Yellow Brick Road. The Tin Man believes he has no heart, but on their way to the Land of Oz, he is moved to tears by the misfortunes of others. For example, when he saw a cougar trying to hunt down the queen field mice, he began to weep. Then there is the Cowardly Lion who believes he has no courage, but actually he was the bravest one of the bunch, he helped them all by risking his life by jumping over the gap of the Yellow Brick Road. Not to mention he scared away the most ferocious beasts you could ever imagine. Then there was poor Dorothy, she thought she would never be able to go home, but when she got to the Land of Oz, she realized that all she had to do was believe of going home and click her heels.
    The author attempts to teach the reader a lesson about believing in yourself and the power of believing in, "I Can."

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Cute

    My son absolutly loves this book.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    Book or Movie

    Lions and tigers and bears, oh no? When you think of the Wizard of Oz isn’t that one of the first things to come to mind. Well not if you read the book. Oh, and those ruby red slippers? Don’t worry they are silver in the book. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz movie is not much like the book. You have the same basic characters; Dorothy, To-To, Scarecrow, Tin-Man, Oz, Glinda, the Wicked Witches, Auntie Em, and Uncle Henry. After that things are basically up for change. You have the yellow brick road, but no munchkin land. The Winged Monkeys have a whole new story to tell in the book. From a girl growing up watching this movie the book is a whole new story. It has the same basic points; Dorothy ends up in the Land of Oz after a tornado, Glinda meets her, gives her the shoes (silver in the book), she follows the yellow brick road, find the Scarecrow and Tin-Man, emerald city, melting the wicked witch (but who would of guessed she was scrubbing the floors at the time and not just sitting around), and finally going home. When she is brought home by the Winged Monkeys, yes you heard right no taping her heals together and saying “there is no place like home”, Glinda called upon the Winged Monkeys to bring her back to Kansas. When she arrived home she went running into the yard to give Auntie Em a hug. No waking up from a dream in this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Omg

    Awsomw book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Wizard of Oz...Not just a childrens book!

    Contrary to popular belief, the Wonderful Wizard of Oz is much more than a children's fantasy: author L. Frank Baum attempts to teach his audience about the notion of self-contradiction through the main characters of his story. Dorothy, the Tin Man, the Scarecrow, and the Cowardly Lion all lack the ability to withstand personal challenges, which leads to the book's theme of self-contradiction. The Scarecrow believes he has no brain; however, without realizing he has an ability to come up with many ingenious schemes along their journey to Oz, he comes up with the idea to build a boat to cross a lake and cut down a tree to cross the gap in the Yellow Brick Road. Similarly, the Tin Man believes he has no heart, but on their way to the Land of Oz, he is moved to tears by the misfortunes of others. For example, when he sees a cougar trying to hunt down the queen field mouse, he begins to weep, feeling sorry for the mouse. Likewise, the Cowardly Lion, who believes he has no courage, but in actuality is the bravest one of the bunch, helps them all by risking his life jumping them over the gap in the Yellow Brick Road with them on his back. In addition, he scares away the most ferocious beasts one can imagine. Also, Dorothy believes she will never be able to go home, but when she reaches the Land of Oz she realizes that she is wrong-all she has to do is believe of going home, click her heels, and she will find herself back in Kansas. This book is not just a children's fantasy; it teaches lessons on doubt and how one can overcome it.
    I highly recommend this creative book, it's a fantastic read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Anonymous

    I love this book but (sorry barnes and noble) the sample wasnt good! It was only on page of the actual story. The rest was foreword and contents.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Kk

    Wired

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    A Classic Series comes to the Nook!

    I bought the Classic Illustrated Junior the Wizard of Oz for my Nook Color because my 5 year old son is a Wizard of Oz fanatic! We are always looking for new illustrated versions of the story for him. This edition is a nicely condensed form of the original story. Since reading a chapter book would be too much for his attention span, this book is a nice alternative. I would recommend it to anyone with young children or fans of any age!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    Wizard of Oz...Not just a childrens book

    Contrary to popular belief, the Wonderful Wizard of Oz is much more than a children's fantasy: author L. Frank Baum attempts to teach his audience about the notion of self-contradiction through the main characters of his story. Dorothy, the Tin Man, the Scarecrow, and the Cowardly Lion all lack the ability to withstand personal challenges, which leads to the book's theme of self-contradiction. The Scarecrow believes he has no brain; however, without realizing he has an ability to come up with many ingenious schemes along their journey to Oz, he comes up with the idea to build a boat to cross a lake and cut down a tree to cross the gap in the Yellow Brick Road. Similarly, the Tin Man believes he has no heart, but on their way to the Land of Oz, he is moved to tears by the misfortunes of others. For example, when he sees a cougar trying to hunt down the queen field mouse, he begins to weep, feeling sorry for the mouse. Likewise, the Cowardly Lion, who believes he has no courage, but in actuality is the bravest one of the bunch, helps them all by risking his life jumping them over the gap in the Yellow Brick Road with them on his back. In addition, he scares away the most ferocious beasts one can imagine. Also, Dorothy believes she will never be able to go home, but when she reaches the Land of Oz she realizes that she is wrong-all she has to do is believe of going home, click her heels, and she will find herself back in Kansas. This book is not just a children's fantasy; it teaches lessons on doubt and how one can overcome it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bought as a gift for my 6 year old nephew

    my nephew loves the wizard of oz so i thought i should get him the book for his birthday. he loves to call me to tell me how far along he is in the book and how much he loves it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    A Wonderful Wizard Indeed

    A girl in gingham, white and blue checked, named Dorothy enters the Land of Oz through a whirling cyclone that ballooned her house to the Land of the Munchkins and dropped it on the Wicked Witch of the East. Eager to get back to Kansas, Dorothy sought the help of Glinda, the Good Witch of the North. Glinda told Dorothy to follow the yellow brick road to the City of Emeralds to speak to the Wizard of Oz to seek help to get back to Kansas. Along the way, Dorothy meets a brainless scarecrow, a heartless tin woodman, and a cowardly lion, all of which accompany Dorothy on her journey. This children¿s novel by L. Frank Baum is an enjoyable fairytale about a girl who believes that there is no place like home and fights unbearable odds against a Wicked Witch, of the West, to reunite with her family. Through unique and interesting word choice, Baum keeps the reader interested in learning more about this wonderful new country and how it has shaped the characters and creatures within it. His inserts about Oz the Great and Terrible throughout the book lead to a great climax where a twist is revealed. The Wizard of Oz is not only great for children, but it is a wonderful classic for anyone wanting to escape to a different world, a world unlike any other, a world somewhere over the rainbow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Wonderful wizard of oz

    It is a good movie and book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    The Wonderful Wizard Of Oz

    The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum was a great book. I liked it especially because it takes your imagination through a journey that you will never forget. Also, you get so deep into the book, you forget that you're even reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    This book was the best book I ever read

    this book was good because it was exsiting and they had cool chartaers like dorthy ,scarcrow,tin man,and a lion.they all went on the yellow brick road to see the wizard of oz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    It is the outstanding book that I have ever read!

    I really like this book because it was a big adventure.It was very exiting.my favorite part was when they went to emerald city and got what they wanted to be done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2002

    An excellent novel!

    This is an excellent book that everyone will enjoy. It is beautifully written and everything is described very nicely. This is one fairy tale novel that I will certainly read again. I recommend this book to people of all ages. It is truly a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2