Customer Reviews for

Wizard's Choice Volume 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 277 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

66 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

Very cool!

Old school cool! Think of it as a cross between a choose your own adventure book and the old infocom "hitchiker's guide to the galaxy" or leather goddesses of phobos" games (look 'em up!). A lot of fun, especially for free!

posted by 10879050 on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

.

Easily got bored. Stupid and waste of space and time.

posted by 14089268 on April 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Pretty cool.

    Not much to add. I would like it to be MUCH longer, but this was meant as a free teaser and was a reasonable length for that. Good cliff hanger to make you want number two. I'd love to see more game/apps like it and will definately check out part two.

    Only failing I saw was a few missed typos. And they did just look like typos, verses someone with poor english. There was only one or two though. I'd suggest to the writer having at least two proof readers who are not involved in the writing. They catch things better when they're not directly involved.

    50 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    i remember

    when i was in elementary school reading books similar to this. to find it on the nook is amazing. the story was great and the adventure was even better. i had fun. can't wait to start volume II.

    19 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Died, died, died, and died again!

    I keep
    freaking dying.

    12 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Just plain fun.

    A text based advemture game, much reminiscent of the old Infocom "You are standing in am open field west of a white house..." Games. (i.e. Zork.) The major difference is that here you are given 2 or more options and there you had to figure put what comands the parser would accept. Bit the story line is interesting and well expressed. This was a fun way to explore another form of writing. A smart move by the author to put it on an ebook site-I'm going to get the next one & see what happens.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Fun!

    Nice little app that draws you in, fires up your curiosity, and strings out the rewards just enough to keep you from not wanting to try again and do better. Although, I cannot imagine how you attain those top scores. There must be whole sets of lexia that I never went through although I died so may times and thought I tried every option. If you liked the old Dungeons & Dragons arcade game from back in the 80's (you youngsters will just have to take my word for it that it was quite awesome!!) then you should enjoy this literary/graphic version. Go on and try it!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Wiz a

    The game was hard but i loved it super unique iv never thought about a game thats a book it helps with giga bites i bet but seriosly get this game its awsome

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Must have imaganation!

    Good, diffetent,very fun.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Memories of childhood

    I thought this was cute - reminded me of the old "coose your own adventure" books I read as a kid! Neat walk down memory lane & will definitely be getting the next one soon.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Fun App

    Different which is what I liked about it. It was a combination of reading a story and making choices - really cool. I look forward to chapter 2.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Fun, oldschool adventure

    Like the original, text-only Adventure! and D&D games, this games harken back to the old days, when your GUI took the form of text on the screen, and your input device was a keyboard!

    An immaginative text & picture game, it takes less than a half hour to complete, unless you die earlier than that.

    I give it 4 stars for the fun, and 1 star for the retro, and -1 star for being too short, for a total of 4 stars.

    - JMK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    Fun Game!

    Great way to pass the time when waiting at doctor's appointments and such. Enjoy playing anytime really. I plan to get the other chapters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Fun

    Overall this is a great app. The only reason I gave it one star is that It gets old. It is like a book, except you choose what happens. Its pretty cool. It doesnt freeze or anything, and why wouldnt it. I recomend getting it. Its challenging, and it makes you think. If you keep dying and then finish it just archive it and then unarchive it. Fun. Get it. You wont be sorry. I wanna get the next one, but you have to pay. Bleh.

    Review Knight

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Different but fun

    I wiuldnt typically play something like this but it was free and thought i would give it a go. I was surprised at how much i liked the story line and how much i enjoyed it. Thanks for offering a free volume. Will definately play the other three!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Lot of fun

    Well worth it looking forword to the next one

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Ok

    It was good but it could be longer

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Enjoyed it

    A fun D&D-like adventure with plenty of replay value

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Good old days

    Excellent teaser. Reminds me of the choose your own adventure genre. Will buy more if the author continues to write. Already dled the other two and was impressed.

    P. S. Try branching out into other fantasy tropes i.e. sci fi or super heroes.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Really Fun

    A great deal you can't go wrong for free. Moreso, it's a charming, fun story akin to old Choose Your Own Adventure books, as other reviewers have stated prior. I'm seriously tempted to check the sequels. The illustrations that pepper the story are crude but not a distraction, or even worth complaining about. If I have any complaint it's that I couldn't tell if the narrative was intending to be serious or humorous, which helps one determine how to react to a sitiation. But that's a minor quibble. Definitely worth the quick read-through that it is.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Incredible!

    Fun, quirky, and fast past. An amazing read, pulls you in quickly and keeps you hooked. If you like "choose your own adventure" books, you'll love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2014

    Good. A bit hard at first but I enjoyed it. I like how you get t

    Good. A bit hard at first but I enjoyed it. I like how you get to choose what to do
    instead of being forced into the creators "chosen path". I also like how it makes
    you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3