BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wizard's Choice Volume 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 279 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

66 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

Very cool!

Old school cool! Think of it as a cross between a choose your own adventure book and the old infocom "hitchiker's guide to the galaxy" or leather goddesses of phobos" games (look 'em up!). A lot of fun, especially for free!

posted by 10879050 on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

.

Easily got bored. Stupid and waste of space and time.

posted by 14089268 on April 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 279 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Very cool!

    Old school cool! Think of it as a cross between a choose your own adventure book and the old infocom "hitchiker's guide to the galaxy" or leather goddesses of phobos" games (look 'em up!). A lot of fun, especially for free!

    66 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Pretty cool.

    Not much to add. I would like it to be MUCH longer, but this was meant as a free teaser and was a reasonable length for that. Good cliff hanger to make you want number two. I'd love to see more game/apps like it and will definately check out part two.

    Only failing I saw was a few missed typos. And they did just look like typos, verses someone with poor english. There was only one or two though. I'd suggest to the writer having at least two proof readers who are not involved in the writing. They catch things better when they're not directly involved.

    50 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Great

    Loved. Great for all ages

    26 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Back To Days Of Old!

    I know that I am dating my age, but I remember when computers came out and there were NO GRAPHICS! They were just for work! And then someone invented the first text adventure and gaming was ON! This brings you back to a simpler time when you had to READ and put some THOUGHT into gaming. Oh, joy! I already purchased the other two volumes and hope for more in this genre. GREAT JOB!

    24 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    i remember

    when i was in elementary school reading books similar to this. to find it on the nook is amazing. the story was great and the adventure was even better. i had fun. can't wait to start volume II.

    19 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    AWESOME BOOK

    I dont like that i have to be a guy but beside that its a great book i felt like i was actul in the book at some points. (Sorry for misspellig)

    15 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Awesome!

    Its like choose your own adventure, but better! The best free app I've ever seen. I will definately be purchasing the other two!! Glitch-free, and the illustrations sprinkled through were beautiful. The writer had a sense of humor, but kept the story serious and logical. Overall,fantastic!

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    .

    Easily got bored. Stupid and waste of space and time.

    14 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    ...

    For those of you who said it was lame, or a waste of space and time, you are all new-age spoiled brats, who think that murder and gore are the only forms of entertainment, and should have (no offense) been raised a bit better. Text-based games are the same as games today, excepting the fact that you have to actually USE your BRAIN to enjoy them. I know this may be a foreign concept to you, but you don't have to say anything at all if it isn't for the benifit of anyone else. So stop complaining, learn how to spell, and go finish your Mortal Kombat. As for everyone who loved it (and said so beautifully, might I add), at least some people still respect the classics. Kudos to you.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    D&D style pick your adventure

    I enjoyed it. Good variety and the stats are a cool feature. Scores at end based on choices. Buying next two now. Waiting for more. Maybe different characters later.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Died, died, died, and died again!

    I keep
    freaking dying.

    12 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Its okay

    This game has alot of readingin in ir not really approire for kids under 10

    12 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Just plain fun.

    A text based advemture game, much reminiscent of the old Infocom "You are standing in am open field west of a white house..." Games. (i.e. Zork.) The major difference is that here you are given 2 or more options and there you had to figure put what comands the parser would accept. Bit the story line is interesting and well expressed. This was a fun way to explore another form of writing. A smart move by the author to put it on an ebook site-I'm going to get the next one & see what happens.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    A reminder of younger years.

    This was a reminder of years ago when my kids were in highschool and we used to game with them. We all dreaded when we rolled to see who would be game master and it was my oldest son. We used to call him Master Death because no matter what you did or rolled, he found a way to kill your character inside of 20 minutes. Be carefull here. It was like reliving those times for me. The hit points are high and the starting points are low! That's all I have to say. Good luck!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!

    It was astounding! Me and my older sister can't get enough of this game, along with the rest of the series. You need to make that 4th volume. PRONTO!!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Pretty Okay

    I died the first couple of times, and you can't play as a female wizard, but overall this was pretty cool. Obviously meant to be short-it is free afterall-but still I wish there was a little more to it.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Well done

    Great read and app. The style captured the imagination, just like the old "flip to page 45 if you want to cast 'wall jump'" books. Text based adventures with a scant of illustration needs to be revived. Perhaps Sam has resurrected an old storytelling method to get a younger audience interested in reading again.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Lots of fun, had to get the next one!

    You wont be dissapointed

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    -_- help!

    Everytime i try to dowload it doesnt work!!!!!! Fix this!

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Perfect!

    For those of you who enjoy text-based adventure stories this is a great read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 279 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14