BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wizard's First Rule (Sword of Truth Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1055 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(843)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Wizard's First Rule: People are stupid....

That is if they don't read this novel. I must admit that I first got into this because of the show Legend of the Seeker. Which got me hooked on from the very first second of the opening. As the show progressed I found out that it was based on novels and I quickly search...
That is if they don't read this novel. I must admit that I first got into this because of the show Legend of the Seeker. Which got me hooked on from the very first second of the opening. As the show progressed I found out that it was based on novels and I quickly searched for them and added them to my list of books to buy. I finally bought all of the books and finished Wizard's First Rule and Holy Mother Confessor it is one of the best books I have ever read in my life. Each character is so unique but so connected to each other that you would think they were real people. The way they are written and how they interact and how they react to each other, everything just makes them believable. I feel as if I know them in real life. But it's not only the characters that are just WOW! It's the plot, the story, the lands. EVERYTHING! I don't want to give anything away, but watching the show I kind of knew how things ended. I mean, I know that the show and the books are totally different but I knew what happened to the characters. But at times when they were in danger I still held my breath and grew worried that they would be gone. Not only from the novel but from my life. Terry Goodkind is an amazing writer who created an amazing world full of loveable characters. This is one book I say you HAVE to read. That is if you want to know what great literature is. I did find a few grammar mistakes and such but they were very minor like a letter missing or a word was repeated. But put that aside, and you have a masterpeice in your hands. I will definatly have to re-read this book again in the very near future. Watch the show and read the books.

posted by Ravenclaww on December 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't get past the graphic torturing of young boys.

I really thought this book was good until about a third of the way through it. I was appalled by the grown man who likes to rape little boys and likes to "feel them squirm", but I couldn't read past the part where Darken Rahl murders a young boy, then proceeds to (in g...
I really thought this book was good until about a third of the way through it. I was appalled by the grown man who likes to rape little boys and likes to "feel them squirm", but I couldn't read past the part where Darken Rahl murders a young boy, then proceeds to (in graphic written detail) cut him open and remove every organ in his little body from his brain down to his testicals.

I get that the villains in books are going to preform abhorrent atrocities, but I can't stomach them being written in such graphic detail. This is definitely an author and series that I'll avoid with great berth in the future.

posted by LeslieWA on January 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    Couldn't get past the graphic torturing of young boys.

    I really thought this book was good until about a third of the way through it. I was appalled by the grown man who likes to rape little boys and likes to "feel them squirm", but I couldn't read past the part where Darken Rahl murders a young boy, then proceeds to (in graphic written detail) cut him open and remove every organ in his little body from his brain down to his testicals. <BR/><BR/>I get that the villains in books are going to preform abhorrent atrocities, but I can't stomach them being written in such graphic detail. This is definitely an author and series that I'll avoid with great berth in the future.

    21 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    And to think that a tree died for this.

    I've read a lot of books. I'm particularly fond fantasy and sci-fi and will finish a thousand page novel in a day or two if it captures my interest. I've read through several Goodkind series in my youth and after seeing such glowing reviews for this one thought I might revisit my old stomping grounds. I only got about half way through the book before I traded on SwapTree.

    Where do I even begin? Besides not finding a single original idea in the first 400 pages of the book:

    The characters were drab, unemotional and altogether unbelievable.
    The plot was static, predictable, and quite linear.
    The writing was uninspiring and not particularly eloquent.
    And finally, I had to force myself to continue reading as long as I did.

    Case in point, the description of the potion made from the brain, heart, and testicles of a young boy so that our arch-villain could cross over to the "other side" was downright insulting to me as a reader. Not because it was overly graphic or obscene, but because it was a cheap attempt to inspire enmity for a villain who, up to that point, was BORING! I'm sick and tired of the pathetic attempts of authors to shock their readers by adding a few graphic details to their meaningless plots.

    What these cheap tricks tell me is that Goodkind feels that his readers are unimaginative idiots incapable of coming up with even more psychologically thrilling conclusions than his testicle potion. You know why Hitchcock is still a household name? It's because he allowed his audience to fill in the gaps in his stories with their own twisted ideas.

    Perhaps the most disturbing thing about this book is the rave reviews its had by other readers. There is nothing interesting or remarkable about this book any more than there is about a McDonald's hamburger. I suppose millions of those get eaten every day too though. At least the hamburger only represents an investment of about five minutes though. I wish I had the hours back I wasted hoping that this book would take me somewhere. If you want a truly original story, check out some of my recommends. You should immediately be able to see the difference between a work of art and the unfortunate and needless death of another tree.

    15 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    This product was purchased in your teen section and my recommendation is for B&N to get it off its shelves, period.

    This product was purchased in your teen section, and I bought two of them-one for my grandson (14) and one for me. Having first read about 1/3 of it, I tore out chapters in both books and destroyed both new books without returning them to B&N, because some parts should not be read by anyone-adults included (the torturing of a child).

    14 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    this book stinks!!!

    I think that it is a sadistic book that goes over and over the same text about torture and stuff. There were at least 4 chapters about him getting turned into a wimpering lump in the basement of the castle. It is one of the worst fantasy books I have ever read.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    In school they punish you for plagiarism, the only ones punished

    In school they punish you for plagiarism, the only ones punished for Goodkind's plagiarism are the readers of his series. I found the series to be a waste of time. At least I was smart enough not to waste my money by using the public library. I kept hoping that a New York Times &quot;Best Seller&quot; would actually write a novel worth reading...NOPE! From the positive reader feedback, I assumed that this would be a work of art, not a work to read. Not only did I find Goodkind's work to plagiaristic, it was also very reptitive, and predictable.

    Here is the jist of the who;le series: good versus evil. Evil's claim to fame was torture, rape, and murder. Guess what? Good wins in a very anti-climatic ending that was completely rushed in an attempt to tie all of the loose threads Goodkind wove while writting this series.

    The worst part about the series is the fact that we the readers made this guy lots of money for writting such dribble!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    I was recommended to this series by several friends who love it,

    I was recommended to this series by several friends who love it, fanatically. I'll never read anything by Terry Goodkind as long as there are other books. Anybody who thinks this is true literature doesn't read much, and anybody who thinks the author is creative hasn't read Lord of the Rings. Nearly every thought in this book is a rip-off of something else. FOR INSTANCE: in the beginning of the story the hero is given a magical item by a powerful wizard. He needs to use it to destroy an evil that is preparing to destroy his world. During his adventure, he is attacked by a decrepit, hunched-over creature that says little more than &quot;mine&quot; (in reference to the magical item that was his before it was given to the hero).
    My suggestion is to not waste your money on a culmination of stories you have likely already heard or read. If you really like fantasy stories, read something by R.A. Salvatore.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    I first picked this book up when it was published by Tor Fantasy

    I first picked this book up when it was published by Tor Fantasy (I think through their Forge series; which I intend was meant as a glorified self-publishing option) from a grocery store when I was in my teenage years.  The first book, Wizard's First Rule, was a blatant ripoff of some of the best scenes, tropes and settings in fantasy literature and is easily recognizable by even the novice fantasy reader.  Unfortunately, Terry felt to make his stamp on this borrowed world was to extend the amount of depravation of the villians and the stupidity of the reader.  I picked up the second book expected to read work from an author who had grown from the mistakes made in the first book and was sorely and, upon reflection, unsurprisingly disappointed by the thematic carbon copy.  I do not recommend this book for young readers, older readers with a critical eye or aspiring writers looking for examples of excellent work.  The series is 10 books too long, in my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    This book sucks and is very boring. Also it is not at all worthy

    This book sucks and is very boring. Also it is not at all worthy of 13 books. How this series has lasted 13 books makes no sense to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Absolutely horrible

    Thank goodness that Sam Ramie was able to take bits and pieces of this drivol and create a good series from it. The writing is horrible and unimaginitive. Seriously, how many times did Denna have to tell Richard that she was Mord-Sith? I won't be buying any more books by this author, and I'm truly sorry that I wasted my money on this one.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Odd sci fi

    Kind of like a bad sci-fi book with an s&m theme...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2006

    Can you say Jordan wannabe?

    Totally unimpressive. Can't believe how many ideas he coped from the Wheel of Time. No depth to any characters. Same old stupid evil mage guy wanting to take over the world. Same old wimpy hero with a sword, and wanting the girl he can't have. YAWN. Save yourself the money and read Jordan. No originality whatsoever, and the dumbest map I have ever seen.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2002

    Very disappointing

    Goodkind's style is overused, and his writing, primitive at best, rarely deviates from the cliches of the fantasy genre. He tends to be overly emotional, which in turn significantly impairs the dialogue. However, if it is revered by fantasy readers as a masterpiece despite this, I recommend you give it a try.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2002

    One of the most superficial works I have ever read.....

    Cheesy. Must be written for a target audience of 13-16 year olds. Very predictable and formulaic. Overly melodramatic. Cant say as I felt sympathetic or moved by any of the childish characters who never seemed to mature. Zed was funny, but he could not save the book. I forced myself to read a couple of more books of the series, but they become even more predictable and trite. How many things can possible happen to these people? I did like the confessor's, but this read just like a D&D module, which usually needs a lot of input by the reader or the story is just plain boring. I believe Goodkind has lots of talent, and probably just needs to write a few more books to achieve some depth (orignal, get off the series already-looks like we have another Jordan here).

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2000

    Stick with Jordan or Martin......

    I don't know if I should be writing a review on this book, because I never finished it. I couldn't finish it. I've read 'Wheel of Time' by Jordan, I've read 'The Belgariad' by Eddings, I've read 'Memory, Sorrow and Thorn' by Tad Williams and I've read the first two books of 'Song of Ice and Fire' by George R. R. Martin to name a few. 'Wizards First Rule', in my estimate, should not even be mentioned along with these other series as far as quality. I was shocked to find so many people suggested this series to people who enjoyed 'Wheel of Time' and 'Song of Fire and Ice'. Those suggestions are way off base. If I was 14 years old and I had never experienced any of the series I just mentioned, then maybe, maybe I would have enjoyed this book. His writing style is juvenile and predictable. I seemed to come across every fantasy novel cliche in the first 100 pages. If you are looking for a dynamic, engrossing, adult read I would suggest reading Jordan or Martin and bypassing Goodkind all together. Again, as I stated earlier, I don't know if I should even be writing a review for a book I didn't finish. But the bottom line is, I'm not one to finish a book just to finish it. I need to enjoy it. Goodkind's 'Sword of Truth' came up short, really short.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2000

    Simply Overrated

    The book was exciting but formulaic fantasy that takes itself too seriously for what it is. I found the characters stereotypical and the plot even moreso; really, I must be prescient, because I was able to predict the future throughout the entire book. In the first chapter I solved the two major mysteries of the work. I would say that if you're brain's tired and you want to read something frivolous, this is frivolous. But for some more meaningful/original fantasy, please look elsewhere.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2