Customer Reviews for

Wizard's First Rule (Sword of Truth Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1052 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(841)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Wizard's First Rule: People are stupid....

That is if they don't read this novel. I must admit that I first got into this because of the show Legend of the Seeker. Which got me hooked on from the very first second of the opening. As the show progressed I found out that it was based on novels and I quickly search...
That is if they don't read this novel. I must admit that I first got into this because of the show Legend of the Seeker. Which got me hooked on from the very first second of the opening. As the show progressed I found out that it was based on novels and I quickly searched for them and added them to my list of books to buy. I finally bought all of the books and finished Wizard's First Rule and Holy Mother Confessor it is one of the best books I have ever read in my life. Each character is so unique but so connected to each other that you would think they were real people. The way they are written and how they interact and how they react to each other, everything just makes them believable. I feel as if I know them in real life. But it's not only the characters that are just WOW! It's the plot, the story, the lands. EVERYTHING! I don't want to give anything away, but watching the show I kind of knew how things ended. I mean, I know that the show and the books are totally different but I knew what happened to the characters. But at times when they were in danger I still held my breath and grew worried that they would be gone. Not only from the novel but from my life. Terry Goodkind is an amazing writer who created an amazing world full of loveable characters. This is one book I say you HAVE to read. That is if you want to know what great literature is. I did find a few grammar mistakes and such but they were very minor like a letter missing or a word was repeated. But put that aside, and you have a masterpeice in your hands. I will definatly have to re-read this book again in the very near future. Watch the show and read the books.

posted by Ravenclaww on December 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't get past the graphic torturing of young boys.

I really thought this book was good until about a third of the way through it. I was appalled by the grown man who likes to rape little boys and likes to "feel them squirm", but I couldn't read past the part where Darken Rahl murders a young boy, then proceeds to (in g...
I really thought this book was good until about a third of the way through it. I was appalled by the grown man who likes to rape little boys and likes to "feel them squirm", but I couldn't read past the part where Darken Rahl murders a young boy, then proceeds to (in graphic written detail) cut him open and remove every organ in his little body from his brain down to his testicals.

I get that the villains in books are going to preform abhorrent atrocities, but I can't stomach them being written in such graphic detail. This is definitely an author and series that I'll avoid with great berth in the future.

posted by LeslieWA on January 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Great stories, awful writing.

    I'll comment on the whole series for anyone who's thinking of reading all the books (11 full-length novels and one novella). These are (mostly) great stories combined with awful writing. Conversations and monologues ramble on. A character asks someone what it's like to be old. The answer rambles on and had nothing to do with the story. A Mord-Sith hits a subject with her Agiel a mere 5 times and he is fully broken. In the first book, Denna's subjugation of Richard went on ad nauseum for 50 mind-numbing repetitive pages. At one point, two characters subdue a bad guy and then engage in a debate about the difference between love and loyalty. Had nothing to do with story. (Needless to say, the bad guy who had been incapacitated made his escape.) Here is an excerpt showing what could be the worst paragraph+ ever to appear in a fantasy novel; the women in question had earlier been naked for no reason): They were, after all, wearing their finest dresses: WOMAN1 in a dark dress slimming to her size; WOMAN2, her brushed and neat gray hair complementing her deep green dress banded with lace at the collar; WOMAN3 in a simple dress, black, as her dresses always were, laced at the bodice in a way that accented the shape of her bosom; WOMAN4 in a red dress, a color she favored, and with good reason, the way it set off her thick mane of dark hair, to say nothing of exhibiting her exquisite form; WOMAN5 in a dark blue dress that revealed her reasonably shapely figure and went well with her sky blue eyes; and WOMAN6 in her own becoming attire, a shade of blue much lighter than WOMAN5's and trimmed with tasteful ruffles at her cleavage and wrists, and unadorned at the waist so as not to hide her well-formed hips. ("tasteful ruffles"???) "Richly detailed" is one thing, but this is beyond the pale. Goodkind repeats then repeats and repeats then repeats ad nauseum. He rehashes facts which have already been presented, often when it had nothing to do with what was taking place at the moment. The graphic violence and sex could have been dispensed with as being gratuitous. ("tasteful ruffles"???) Richard and Kahlan are powerfully in love--that is relevant to one sub-plot. But it's taken to a ridiculous level. During a pitched battle, they exchange "I love you"'s. One time they walk through the hall surrounded by others, and stop, to make out. One time they question a possibly dangerous and threatening individual, and they think about making out. When they're in the same room, Kahlan thinks of having Richard in her bed or being in his arms. This is a fantasy epic, not Danielle Steele. In the first book, we have a scene of Kahlan crying her eyes out. It was truly a bad situation, but Kahlan is really "more than a woman"--instead of bawling like a baby, she could have (and should have) shown steely, stoic resolve or defiance. Not to mention countless times she, and other (more-than) women, cry, or have a "tear ran down her cheek". ("tasteful ruffles"???) Plot-wise, parts were overtly political and religious--perhaps that could've been cut down. So why did I read (plod through) these books? Because generally the stories are fantastic--exciting, full of action and mystery, with interesting twists. At one point two characters are described: "They both spoke with a quiet economy of words that added an air of nobility to their bearing.&quot

    17 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wizard's First Rule = "Writers are not Created Equal"

    A friend recommended this book to me as fun, easy read that told a story of a great hero who gets to be the ultimate good guy until the very end.

    I agree with this book being an easy read. It didn't take anytime at all to plow through this 800+ page paperback. It's not pretentious in the slightest, not complicated to follow and is easy to put down and pick back up.

    From the beginning, I didn't have much buy-in for the main characters due to the unrealistic emotional connections made almost instantaneously.

    I'm a big fan of getting lost in a book of complete fantasy or other outrageous fiction, but this book just didn't leave me wanting more. It's the first in a long series, but I have no interest in reading more.

    If you're looking for a great creator of fantasy, please check out Dan Simmons. He's an amazing writer.

    Hope this was helpful.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2000

    I am embarrassed that I read the 2nd one, too

    Summing it up - simplistic characters that are stereotypes (the old fuddy-duddy wizard is so classically from D&D campaigns), a few interesting monsters, prophecies that feel pretty lame instead of feeling epic, and a very, very weak love story that is vapid, like many romantic movies that claim to be about love, but are mostly just about physically attraction and sex.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wizard's First Rule by Terry Goodkind

    Dispite the rave reviews on the jacket cover, this author does not hold a candle to Tolkien, Rowling or any of the really good fantasy writers. I found this book to be depressing and did not appreciate some of the subject matter. Goodkind could not decide whether to make this a children's book or an adult book, went with adult about one third of the way through which is about where I decided it was rubish and started another book.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Yawn.

    My grandfather suggested this series to me and I struggled to finish it. I'm torn; there were some things I enjoyed about this book. Generally, I enjoyed the world the author created. The idea of the Confessors, the Wizards and the idea of magic being walled off was interesting. I found the main character boring and two dimensional. Richard is every hero ever - tall, handsome, perfect. Sometimes he gets angry but it's always on behalf of some innocent being harmed. Kahlan didn't hold my interest any better - she just felt like some damsel in distress. I didn't find their relationship compelling at all. Richard decides right away he is in love with her and it's discussed CONSTANTLY as his motivation for saving the world.
    My verdict: Not the hugest waste of my time, but boring and formulaic. Nothing really happened besides Richard wanting to get in his companion's pants the whole book. I can't believe there are so many books in this series, I can't imagine what would go on in them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    So So

    Not a terrible book, but after getting a taste of GoT, and getting fed up with Robert Jordan after WoT lost its focus I can see a train wreak coming fast in this series. To start there really is no depth to the characters, just a attempt to keep the intensity so high with what ends up feeling like conflict that is continually forced. There is never any real chance for development and plot devices that have real potential that feel like they are never explored to their fullest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Great Book

    When I first saw the reviews I was a little worried about this book, but after reading the preview I decided to give it a try. I'm very glad I didn't take everyones ones complaining about a bit of torture to seriously. It has some but it goes to show what the main character is fighting. I'm on the 6th book now and I absolutely love this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Great book

    Hey its such a great book even no i am only on page 22

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Good once

    Not bad but not real good either. Characters were well developed but the story line, particularly toward the end, was pedictable and it seemed the author was reaching for a conclusion. Didn't do well in the end but fun once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    dissapointed

    I was hoping for a wonderfull series. I was blasted by un-interesting characters. I did not like Richard nor the wizard Zed. The plot held my attention until i finished the book. The places and people were too shallow for me. I guess after reading years of Feist, you begain to expect certain things...I will not read another Goodkind book, ever...My wife on the other hand loved all his books and she has read the entire series....So, I thought I would give it a go and was sourly dissapointed. It's just not my thing....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    I Tried, I Really Did

    Ok, I gave this book a shot, couldnt take it, so I put it down, as I am want to do, and tried it later, still yuk. Its a fantasy book right ? So why is the protagonist named Richard ? This is a book of fantasy, with monsters and dragons, and the guys name in the book is freakin Richard !!! Just that alone caused too much pain, and destroyed any plausibility this thing had left. I do not think this is worth the $8 I paid for it. I just do not get it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    Typical Cliche Fantasy Story

    I bought this book because it was on sale for 3 bucks and because I like fantasy and heard good things about Terry Goodkind. I was dissapointed though when I started it. It seems to be your typical fantasy story, maiden in distress gets help from a man who has powers and doesn't know it etc. etc. etc. I'm still reading it but I seriously doubt I'd continue reading the series. The story lacks spice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2000

    Disappointing, but not the worst

    I read this book from cover to cover and found myself fairly disappointed. My friend raved about the books and their excellence, but I found the characters to be almost the most annoying I've come across. In comparison to Robert Jordan, I would say that Goodkind is a much better author. He needs some work in his writing style and his characters, however he lacks the incessant rambling found in Jordan's books. The two authors do share a striking theme. That in itself was also disappointing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1