Customer Reviews for

Wizard's First Rule (Sword of Truth Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1057 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(844)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Wizard's First Rule: People are stupid....

That is if they don't read this novel. I must admit that I first got into this because of the show Legend of the Seeker. Which got me hooked on from the very first second of the opening. As the show progressed I found out that it was based on novels and I quickly search...
That is if they don't read this novel. I must admit that I first got into this because of the show Legend of the Seeker. Which got me hooked on from the very first second of the opening. As the show progressed I found out that it was based on novels and I quickly searched for them and added them to my list of books to buy. I finally bought all of the books and finished Wizard's First Rule and Holy Mother Confessor it is one of the best books I have ever read in my life. Each character is so unique but so connected to each other that you would think they were real people. The way they are written and how they interact and how they react to each other, everything just makes them believable. I feel as if I know them in real life. But it's not only the characters that are just WOW! It's the plot, the story, the lands. EVERYTHING! I don't want to give anything away, but watching the show I kind of knew how things ended. I mean, I know that the show and the books are totally different but I knew what happened to the characters. But at times when they were in danger I still held my breath and grew worried that they would be gone. Not only from the novel but from my life. Terry Goodkind is an amazing writer who created an amazing world full of loveable characters. This is one book I say you HAVE to read. That is if you want to know what great literature is. I did find a few grammar mistakes and such but they were very minor like a letter missing or a word was repeated. But put that aside, and you have a masterpeice in your hands. I will definatly have to re-read this book again in the very near future. Watch the show and read the books.

posted by Ravenclaww on December 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't get past the graphic torturing of young boys.

I really thought this book was good until about a third of the way through it. I was appalled by the grown man who likes to rape little boys and likes to "feel them squirm", but I couldn't read past the part where Darken Rahl murders a young boy, then proceeds to (in g...
I really thought this book was good until about a third of the way through it. I was appalled by the grown man who likes to rape little boys and likes to "feel them squirm", but I couldn't read past the part where Darken Rahl murders a young boy, then proceeds to (in graphic written detail) cut him open and remove every organ in his little body from his brain down to his testicals.

I get that the villains in books are going to preform abhorrent atrocities, but I can't stomach them being written in such graphic detail. This is definitely an author and series that I'll avoid with great berth in the future.

posted by LeslieWA on January 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sword of Truth series

    I have read books 1-5 of this series by Terry Goodkind. all of the books have intriguing twists and plots and i keep reading the books. Over all out of the books of this series that i have read so far i think the first may be my favorite.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    I recommend this to everyone who loves fantasies.

    This book was awesome. I can't believe how the characters got under my skin. I finished the book days ago, and I'm still haunted by it. The only reason that I didn't give it the last star was because of the number of misprints and typos in the e-book version. Some times a page actually disappeared making a gap in the storyline. This needs to be looked into. It definitely made for a frustrating reading experience at times.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    A long book.

    Hm this book was to long, to complicated, and not the quality i expected for such a popular writer. however i liked it myself. not a book i would recomend for others to read though unless you got too much free time.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    Do NOT give to young people

    I very much enjoyed reading this book, but I could not recommend to my grandchildren. There are several chapters that deal with, child abuse, S&M, homosexuality and torture. Please read through before passing it on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2001

    Good humor/fantasy, but too heavy handed

    I like Terry's style, it's very humorous when it needs to be, esp Zedd, for example. However, he's a bit heavy handed with the melodrama (does Kahlan ever stop crying ?), and, Terry, we are convinced that Darken Rahl is evil, trully, we're very very sure of it. Please no more eating little boys' cooked brain-testicle-heart. Really was that necessary ?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2014

    Most of the reviews I've encountered for this book lambast Goodk

    Most of the reviews I've encountered for this book lambast Goodkind's poor writing and long-winded unnecessary prose. But then again, there was something about the clichéd plot that was just so enthralling that this book became more of a guilty pleasure than a literary text worth reading. Honestly, this book wouldn't impress the critical, but for me at least it was a rather fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    Good book, I prefer the tv show but, still very good

    Good book, I prefer the tv show but, still very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Overall Good Book For Genre

    The plot, characters, and story I both really liked. I did think though that while sometimes Mr. Goodkind went into great detail, other times it was completely lacking. But overall a good book for the genre. I can't wait to read the next ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Great Read

    Very much enjoyed this book. I love the character interactions and the definite human emotions that they display at times. Quite pleased with this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Great read

    Like Harry Potter in 10 years Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Worth reading

    Although it may seem a daunting task to read such a long book, I highly recommend this book. The plot development was great. I brought this book on a two week trip with me to read in those moments on the plane where I couldn't use my Nook. I liked this book so much I ended up not using my Nook until I was done with this book. It doesn't blast you right out the gate with excitement, but it intrigued me enough to keep reading and I am very glad I did.

    THe character development was great as well. You really get to know the character without too much being revealed where you don't have any surprises later.

    I will definitely read the rest of the books in the series and more by Terry Goodkind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    awsome!!

    i loved it the first time i read it! The whole series is just captures you, and you never want to put them down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    wont recommend

    overall the story was great but was too long and too much doom and gloom. as for the nook formatting, the text is full of typos and errors. if the group that had scanned the book would have look at even a few pages they would have realized how bad the import went. i read that all of the sword of truth books on nook have major format errors. kids are hurt in this book, that is the why i couldnt recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Good book

    This book was amazing.Once I picked up this book I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great read!!

    First book in the series, and it catches you right away. Richard and Kahlan capture you and make you want to read their whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    My face hates ur face

    Loved this whole series! Read it all more than once. Really fell in love with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Spellbound!

    There were times when i wanted to leave this book unread but i had this urge to finish this book (i mean a friend sent it to me and i felt obliged to actually finish it for her), but thats not the case. I have to admit you really have to fight the urges of leaving because things get pretty interesting in later chapters.
    I devoured the book when i reached the later chapters because they were that amazing. Terry Goodkind has done a good job because you can actually feel the characters' emotions; from Richard's love for Kahlan, worry for his friends and loved ones, betrayal he recieves from his brother, then Kahlan's trouble with accepting feelings for Richard, her trying to control her power and feeling lonely at times. It was definately a rollercoaster.and i felt the most pain when Richard suffered the agiel.that was when i really hated the Mord-Sith.
    Overall good book. Definately a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Absolutely great, highly recommend to fantasy and non-fantasy fans

    As any good bibliophile, after watching the first episode of the TV series Legend of the Seeker, I googled the title to find out whether or not it was based on any books. To my delight, I discovered eleven books in the Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind. The first book is Wizard's First Rule and as the name suggests, it is a 101-type exposition that sets up the next book in the series quite nicely, albeit a bit sluggishly. The first half of the book plunges (quite literally with the death of his father) Richard Cypher into a world of magic where he learns he is the Seeker of Truth. The real soul of the book is Richard, rather Richard's heart. Just as a child is pure when introduced to the ways of the world, Richard is pure since his entire world is magic free until he meets a confessor, Kaylan Amnell, from across the boundary (the magical divide between Richard's world of Westland and the magical world of the Midlands). Wizard's First Rule introduces readers to a world of fantasy where a wizard of the first order destroys his enemies with wizard's fire, a confessor rules the Midlands to ensure justice is upheld, and a woods guide realizes his world is much larger and much more complex than he ever dreamed.

    Richard Cypher's pureness, his naiveté is some aspects, is what made me fall in love with the story. A man after my own heart, he learns by questioning and acts through an inability to not do good, to not stand by while people are in danger or hurt. This is both a positive and a negative when he's captured and tortured by the mord-sith Denna during the second half of the book. The story takes on a much darker, deeper, and what can only be described as S&M-like nature, during the time Richard spends at his nemesis', Darken Rahl's, palace with Denna. This is where I realized the book is definitely not intended for kids. Like the Harry Potter series, Wizard's First Rule has magic and wizards, but it delves into the repressed psychological pain of both the victim and the torturer which manifests itself into the attachment the former develops for the latter and the pleasure the latter derives from torturing the former in order to validate the pain both are experiencing. As with any good story, love wins in the end; though there is no simple happy ending for Richard and Kaylan. Whether you want to read a fantasy story with an overarching romantic theme or a romance story with a fantasy element, I highly suggest Wizard's First Rule. I have convinced three people to begin reading the series so far, and they are as hooked as I am.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Absolutely great, highly recommend for fantasy and non-fantasy fans

    As any good bibliophile, after watching the first episode of the TV series Legend of the Seeker, I googled the title to find out whether or not it was based on any books. To my delight, I discovered eleven books in the Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind. The first book is Wizard's First Rule and as the name suggests, it is a 101-type exposition that sets up the next book in the series quite nicely, albeit a bit sluggishly. The first half of the book plunges (quite literally with the death of his father) Richard Cypher into a world of magic where he learns he is the Seeker of Truth. The real soul of the book is Richard, rather Richard's heart. Just as a child is pure when introduced to the ways of the world, Richard is pure since his entire world is magic free until he meets a confessor, Kaylan Amnell, from across the boundary (the magical divide between Richard's world of Westland and the magical world of the Midlands). Wizard's First Rule introduces readers to a world of fantasy where a wizard of the first order destroys his enemies with wizard's fire, a confessor rules the Midlands to ensure justice is upheld, and a woods guide realizes his world is much larger and much more complex than he ever dreamed.

    Richard Cypher's pureness, his naiveté is some aspects, is what made me fall in love with the story. A man after my own heart, he learns by questioning and acts through an inability to not do good, to not stand by while people are in danger or hurt. This is both a positive and a negative when he's captured and tortured by the mord-sith Denna during the second half of the book. The story takes on a much darker, deeper, and what can only be described as S&M-like nature, during the time Richard spends at his nemesis', Darken Rahl's, palace with Denna. This is where I realized the book is definitely not intended for kids. Like the Harry Potter series, Wizard's First Rule has magic and wizards, but it delves into the repressed psychological pain of both the victim and the torturer which manifests itself into the attachment the former develops for the latter and the pleasure the latter derives from torturing the former in order to validate the pain both are experiencing. As with any good story, love wins in the end; though there is no simple happy ending for Richard and Kaylan. Whether you want to read a fantasy story with an overarching romantic theme or a romance story with a fantasy element, I highly suggest Wizard's First Rule. I have convinced three people to begin reading the series so far, and they are as hooked as I am.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Absolutely great, highly recommend to fantasy and non-fantasy fans

    As any good bibliophile, after watching the first episode of the TV series Legend of the Seeker, I googled the title to find out whether or not it was based on any books. To my delight, I discovered eleven books in the Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind. The first book is Wizard's First Rule and as the name suggests, it is a 101-type exposition that sets up the next book in the series quite nicely, albeit a bit sluggishly. The first half of the book plunges (quite literally with the death of his father) Richard Cypher into a world of magic where he learns he is the Seeker of Truth. The real soul of the book is Richard, rather Richard's heart. Just as a child is pure when introduced to the ways of the world, Richard is pure since his entire world is magic free until he meets a confessor, Kaylan Amnell, from across the boundary (the magical divide between Richard's world of Westland and the magical world of the Midlands). Wizard's First Rule introduces readers to a world of fantasy where a wizard of the first order destroys his enemies with wizard's fire, a confessor rules the Midlands to ensure justice is upheld, and a woods guide realizes his world is much larger and much more complex than he ever dreamed.

    Richard Cypher's pureness, his naiveté is some aspects, is what made me fall in love with the story. A man after my own heart, he learns by questioning and acts through an inability to not do good, to not stand by while people are in danger or hurt. This is both a positive and a negative when he's captured and tortured by the mord-sith Denna during the second half of the book. The story takes on a much darker, deeper, and what can only be described as S&M-like nature, during the time Richard spends at his nemesis', Darken Rahl's, palace with Denna. This is where I realized the book is definitely not intended for kids. Like the Harry Potter series, Wizard's First Rule has magic and wizards, but it delves into the repressed psychological pain of both the victim and the torturer which manifests itself into the attachment the former develops for the latter and the pleasure the latter derives from torturing the former in order to validate the pain both are experiencing. As with any good story, love wins in the end; though there is no simple happy ending for Richard and Kaylan. Whether you want to read a fantasy story with an overarching romantic theme or a romance story with a fantasy element, I highly suggest Wizard's First Rule. I have convinced three people to begin reading the series so far, and they are as hooked as I am.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7