Customer Reviews for

Wizard's First Rule (Sword of Truth Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1052 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(841)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Wizard's First Rule: People are stupid....

That is if they don't read this novel. I must admit that I first got into this because of the show Legend of the Seeker. Which got me hooked on from the very first second of the opening. As the show progressed I found out that it was based on novels and I quickly search...
That is if they don't read this novel. I must admit that I first got into this because of the show Legend of the Seeker. Which got me hooked on from the very first second of the opening. As the show progressed I found out that it was based on novels and I quickly searched for them and added them to my list of books to buy. I finally bought all of the books and finished Wizard's First Rule and Holy Mother Confessor it is one of the best books I have ever read in my life. Each character is so unique but so connected to each other that you would think they were real people. The way they are written and how they interact and how they react to each other, everything just makes them believable. I feel as if I know them in real life. But it's not only the characters that are just WOW! It's the plot, the story, the lands. EVERYTHING! I don't want to give anything away, but watching the show I kind of knew how things ended. I mean, I know that the show and the books are totally different but I knew what happened to the characters. But at times when they were in danger I still held my breath and grew worried that they would be gone. Not only from the novel but from my life. Terry Goodkind is an amazing writer who created an amazing world full of loveable characters. This is one book I say you HAVE to read. That is if you want to know what great literature is. I did find a few grammar mistakes and such but they were very minor like a letter missing or a word was repeated. But put that aside, and you have a masterpeice in your hands. I will definatly have to re-read this book again in the very near future. Watch the show and read the books.

posted by Ravenclaww on December 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't get past the graphic torturing of young boys.

I really thought this book was good until about a third of the way through it. I was appalled by the grown man who likes to rape little boys and likes to "feel them squirm", but I couldn't read past the part where Darken Rahl murders a young boy, then proceeds to (in g...
I really thought this book was good until about a third of the way through it. I was appalled by the grown man who likes to rape little boys and likes to "feel them squirm", but I couldn't read past the part where Darken Rahl murders a young boy, then proceeds to (in graphic written detail) cut him open and remove every organ in his little body from his brain down to his testicals.

I get that the villains in books are going to preform abhorrent atrocities, but I can't stomach them being written in such graphic detail. This is definitely an author and series that I'll avoid with great berth in the future.

posted by LeslieWA on January 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 841 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 43
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wizard's First Rule: People are stupid....

    That is if they don't read this novel. I must admit that I first got into this because of the show Legend of the Seeker. Which got me hooked on from the very first second of the opening. As the show progressed I found out that it was based on novels and I quickly searched for them and added them to my list of books to buy. I finally bought all of the books and finished Wizard's First Rule and Holy Mother Confessor it is one of the best books I have ever read in my life. Each character is so unique but so connected to each other that you would think they were real people. The way they are written and how they interact and how they react to each other, everything just makes them believable. I feel as if I know them in real life. But it's not only the characters that are just WOW! It's the plot, the story, the lands. EVERYTHING! I don't want to give anything away, but watching the show I kind of knew how things ended. I mean, I know that the show and the books are totally different but I knew what happened to the characters. But at times when they were in danger I still held my breath and grew worried that they would be gone. Not only from the novel but from my life. Terry Goodkind is an amazing writer who created an amazing world full of loveable characters. This is one book I say you HAVE to read. That is if you want to know what great literature is. I did find a few grammar mistakes and such but they were very minor like a letter missing or a word was repeated. But put that aside, and you have a masterpeice in your hands. I will definatly have to re-read this book again in the very near future. Watch the show and read the books.

    35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    Origin of "Legend of the Seeker"

    Let me begin by saying I'm not a professional critic. I loved this book as I loved the television series it spawned - "Legend of the Seeker". It's full of action, romance and is packed with lessons that the right thing to do is not always easy. If you are looking for a "feel good" book with a little fantasy action and romance you'll enjoy reading "Wizard's First Rule"

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    This book is the best. That's the truth!

    Richard Cypher encounters a mysterious girl, Kahlan, being attacked. After defeating them, she tells Richard that she is from across the boundary: a magical block that is meant to separate their lands. Kahlan has an important task-- to find the wizard so he will name a Seeker. She talks of an evil man, Darken Rahl, who wants to rule the world and the Seeker must stop him. After finding the wizard, Richard is proclaimed Seeker. He must find a way through the boundary, travel through foreign lands, and all before the first day of winter. Terry Goodkind makes his characters come to life and adds enough plot twists to keep any reader interested. He gets his message across by using flaws in his characters, making them easy to relate to. He also uses the antagonists as counter-examples to his themes which can be gruesome at times. Near the middle of the book it seems like the author goes off on random tangents that do not seem to fit in the book until near the end. Major themes in the book include power and truth. Darken Rahl seeks power over all the lands, but Kahlan and Richard do not want him to have power. They seek power to prevent him from getting power by getting people to trust them. Rahl does the same, except he lies to the people to get them to follow him. This leads to the next theme, truth. The Seeker seeks the truth. He finds the truth by all means necessary. A main part of the book is the wizard's first rule which can be summed up as people will believe almost anything. It is truly a clever book and a great book for anyone that is interested in reading about adventure, romance, or fantasy.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Magnificent...An Enchanting, and Magical Epic, The Sword of Truth.!!!

    "You may pass, boy. Our business is with the girl" The man's voice was deep, almost friendly. Nonetheless, the threat was as sharp as a blade.
    "keep between them, don't let them all come at me at once," She whispered, "And be sure you aren't touching me when they come"
    They charged in a frightening rush, the one with the short sword swung it high, coming at Richard, He could hear one of the men behind him grab the woman as the man with sword raced toward him.
    And then, just before the man reached him, there was a hard impact to the air,
    like a clap of thunder with no sound. The violence of it made every joint in his body cry out in sharp pain.
    Dust lifted around them, spreading outward in a ring.

    Terry Goodkind's "Wizard's First Rule" is Magnificent!!!
    In the first installment of the sword of thruth series, Goodkind takes readers into a magical tour through the Eyes of Richard Cypher And Khalan Amnel. A magical journey to the Westlands, Midlands and concluding in the Garden of Life at the People's Palace. D'HARA.
    In the aftermath of the brutal murder of his father, a mysterious woman, has crossed the boundary through the westlands seeking help, in search for the old wizard of the first order, "Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander" to stop the evil Darken Rahl.

    In a world surrounded by prophesies, legends, mystical beasts, wizards, witches, kings, queens, Mord-Siths, spirits, and the power of magic for those trying to dominate the world.

    Goodkind's "Wizard's first rule", has set the foundation for one the most beloved sci-fi stories of today. He touches on the most darkest subjects of human kind, very or too graphic at times, but neccessary. Describing a world not too far different from ours. But at the same time, he also gives readers one of the most unforgettable love story in any book franchise.

    In a race against time, The seeker, the mother confessor, the wizard of first order with the help of the sword of truth will fight " an ancient and danguerous magic of immense power. a magic spawned from the earth, from life itself. A magic held in three vessels called the three boxes of Orden" A power that will give Darken Rahl total dominance of the world.

    "Wizard's First Rule" is a well written epic, slow paced, but a page turner. With many twists and turns througout the entire book. Goodking has a magic touch in developing the main characters. Richard and Khalan's love for each other is genuine and magical, Goodking doesn't take or give their love for granted. He also does a wonderful job with all the characters in the novel, describing the cruelty and nobility in all, making them unforgettable.
    The author doesn't miss a chapter to remind readers, they are witnessing the beggining of a legend, the book is all about the "True Seeker, a person who answers to no one but himself, the sword of truth is his to wield as he wishes, to seek answers to help others, not just himself. The purpose of the seeker is to be free to quest on his own, find answers to what he wants to know, and if need be, do whatever it is the answers demand"
    As stated before, "Wizard's First Rule" is enchanting and magical. Goodkind has all the characters needed, the book is beautifully written, and Khalan and Richard's story is exceptional.
    For those fans of the Show "Legend Of The Seeker", the book has many great surprises, and doesn't add or diminish the show. In addition, the writing of the books makes the story of "The True Seeker" meaningful.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Goodkind Rocks with Wizard's First Rule

    Outstanding writing and continuing plot.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Nook Please!

    Please make this available for the nook. You'll make a lonely woman with too much time on her hands very happy.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great epic fantasy!

    This book, though an older title, is one of the best fantasy books that I have read. With 848 pages of thrilling adventure, who could resist? It has everything that any fantasy reader could ask for: dragons, wizards, sword fighting, magic creatures, even an evil overlord. Seriously folks, this one you shouldn't pass up!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    EPIC!!!

    Terry Goodkind's Sword of Truth series is a one of a kind masterpiece. The characters are realistic. The development of the characters is amazing; the story plot is intriguing, mystifying, and on a wide scale. The writing style is fast-paced and there is never too long of a dull moment. Once it gets your attention, the action doesn't stop. If you are out of books to read and looking for a good series, this is it. If you never read a book and is thinking of checking one out, start here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wizards First Rule

    I accidentally found Terry Goodkinds, Wizards First Rule about 3 weeks ago, and am now listening to Blood of the Fold, which is the third book in a series of Ten. I absolutely love this series, and it seems just as if you are attending a play, while listening to it. Wizards First Rule is about Richard, a woodsman, who spots a woman in white, who is being stalked by four men. Richard runs to warn Kahlann, who is the Mother Confessor and is the first man, who has ever treated her as an ordinary woman, which she is NOT!! Richard is also not an ordinary man, but he doesnt know it in the first part of the book.

    Wizards First Rule, introduces us to Richard, Kahlann, Zedd the WIzard, Darken Rahl (who has many secrets), the dragon and the mud people. The book describes the growing relationship between Richard and Kahlann,how they come to love and respect one another, and the many trials and tribulations they encounter. I was absolutely intrigued by the first three books but Wizards First Rule is my favorite, so far. If you are looking for a book you can sink your teeth into, you will love this one.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    Awesome!

    I could not put it down. It gripped me from the get go and did not release its hold. It still hasn't. I bought the second and third book and will be getting the rest of the series. The characters are real and the author pulls no punches as he raises the stakes, keeping me riveted page after page. Do get this book and its sequels. You will not be disappointed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Terry Goodkind is simply amazing. He is an artist. The character

    Terry Goodkind is simply amazing. He is an artist. The characters in his books are so human, so real. The depth of his writing is beautiful. There are messages to live by in these books." Focus on the solution and NOT the problem", "Accept truth. Don't be a blind follower" "By rejecting truth one embraces death"... They are highly philosophical. I can honestly say that I have come to appreciate life...to love life because of them. They opened my eyes to a whole different view of things. They have made me more confident in who I am. The power of oneself, once realized, can be one of the most powerful forces out there. "My life is my own."

    That being said, I can see why they are so hit and miss. I believe, to truly appreciate Goodkind's power of writing, you must hold both literature and philosophy highly. Where they are a great story, a true EPIC FANTASY, they have a depth to them that isn't grasped by a lot of people... These are not books you pick op and skim through, or read fast. If you are that kind of reader, I wouldn't expect much out of this series. You will lose the beauty of it, the underlying genius. More often than not, I hear that these books are "okay". My enthusiasm usually goes overboard at that point..."I LOVE THESE BOOKS!"

    I read some comments about the graphic nature of these books... Life is pretty graphic people. I don't believe in sheltering oneself from the truth. These novels are a little graphic, but for anyone that hasn't had a comfy life, or who realizes that what happens, happens to show you just how twisted certain characters are. It's supposed to set us on edge. Good writing has the capability of touching our deepest emotions. If a book doesn't make one feel, weather it's amazed or horrified. The writer has no talent. The fact that Goodkind knows how to touch ones emotions and isn't afraid of doing so, shows how talented he is as an author. Not many people have the guts to turn their nightmares into art, and if any of you have tried you know it isn't easy. I write poetry, among other things, and you HAVE to have tons of emotion in what you write if you want it to stick (especially in a poem, where you are given significantly less opportunity to do so) Writing things that scare us has a HUGE impact on readers. It doesn't make the writer evil or horrible (often times it scares us more, knowing it came from us) Just look at H.P. Lovecraft (only one example, but almost all thriller, suspense, science fiction, and horror writing is greatly influenced by his work.) If you can't handle it and aren't able to take it for what it is. Leave these books be.

    I highly recommend this series to anyone who doesn't just pick up books and read them, but LIVES the books AS they read them. For those who let what they read really sink in and not just regurgitate what they see to their brain...DON'T PASS THIS SERIES BY!! Mr. Goodkind has given us something beautiful, and I for one will treasure it always.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Yes!

    This is the beginning of an epic journey. I love all of the main characters. Read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great read! Takes one away from reality!!

    From beginning to end, this is one of the most entertaining books I have ever read. A page turner!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Already reading the next book. What a thrilling page turner.

    I absolutely loved this book. I was immediately enthralled by this story. The way the characters and story developed left me wanting more and more. I was constantly held at the edge of my seat, curious to know what would happen next. I highly recommend this book. You won't be disappointed....well maybe with your social life when you refuse to put it down but trust me its worth it and you won't regret missing anything to read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Watched the tv show

    Then i got into the books, they are great. Wanna chat about the books anyone?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    I love this book!!!!!!

    If you like romance or action you will love this book it has both with a suprising end you will never belive to be true and feel your self wanting to read more every day. when i get home from school i find myself reading all day till I have to go to bed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Wonderful fantasy story. be sure to quit reading them before th

    Wonderful fantasy story. be sure to quit reading them before they start going poorly downhill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    READ THIS SERIES!

    This one of the best series I have ever read in my life. I don't quite understand some of the comments that some people have made, but I feel that anyone who gives this series a chance with an open mind will end up loving it. I'm a regular reader of fantasy and this whole series is easily in my top 10.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Intriguing

    I first started reading this book when I was home sick (at the request of a friend), and it turned out to be the beginning to my favorite series of all time. This novel is intimidatingly long, yet the chapters seem to fly by. <BR/><BR/>While it is obscenely close (plotwise) to Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series, I enjoy Goodkind's characters and storytelling much more. I find myself caring about all of Goodkind's characters. <BR/><BR/>The story follows Richard Cypher and his journey to the other side of the barrier, where magic lies. Richard is faced with many obstacles, and endures the ultimate test of loyalty and love near the end of the novel.<BR/><BR/>This is definately one of the better Sword of Truth novels, and I would recommend it to anybody.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2000

    Goodkind is my new favorite author

    A fabulous book! I read for hours on end and had to force myself to stop.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 841 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 43