Customer Reviews for

Wizard's First Rule (Sword of Truth Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1049 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(838)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Wizard's First Rule: People are stupid....

That is if they don't read this novel. I must admit that I first got into this because of the show Legend of the Seeker. Which got me hooked on from the very first second of the opening. As the show progressed I found out that it was based on novels and I quickly search...
That is if they don't read this novel. I must admit that I first got into this because of the show Legend of the Seeker. Which got me hooked on from the very first second of the opening. As the show progressed I found out that it was based on novels and I quickly searched for them and added them to my list of books to buy. I finally bought all of the books and finished Wizard's First Rule and Holy Mother Confessor it is one of the best books I have ever read in my life. Each character is so unique but so connected to each other that you would think they were real people. The way they are written and how they interact and how they react to each other, everything just makes them believable. I feel as if I know them in real life. But it's not only the characters that are just WOW! It's the plot, the story, the lands. EVERYTHING! I don't want to give anything away, but watching the show I kind of knew how things ended. I mean, I know that the show and the books are totally different but I knew what happened to the characters. But at times when they were in danger I still held my breath and grew worried that they would be gone. Not only from the novel but from my life. Terry Goodkind is an amazing writer who created an amazing world full of loveable characters. This is one book I say you HAVE to read. That is if you want to know what great literature is. I did find a few grammar mistakes and such but they were very minor like a letter missing or a word was repeated. But put that aside, and you have a masterpeice in your hands. I will definatly have to re-read this book again in the very near future. Watch the show and read the books.

posted by Ravenclaww on December 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't get past the graphic torturing of young boys.

I really thought this book was good until about a third of the way through it. I was appalled by the grown man who likes to rape little boys and likes to "feel them squirm", but I couldn't read past the part where Darken Rahl murders a young boy, then proceeds to (in g...
I really thought this book was good until about a third of the way through it. I was appalled by the grown man who likes to rape little boys and likes to "feel them squirm", but I couldn't read past the part where Darken Rahl murders a young boy, then proceeds to (in graphic written detail) cut him open and remove every organ in his little body from his brain down to his testicals.

I get that the villains in books are going to preform abhorrent atrocities, but I can't stomach them being written in such graphic detail. This is definitely an author and series that I'll avoid with great berth in the future.

posted by LeslieWA on January 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1051 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 53
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Wizard's First Rule is thus......

    For those of you who are looking for a companion to the tv series stop. The Sword of Truth series has to be taken of its own accord. While the main characters are the same and some events do occur in the show, the books are not the tv series, they're better. Terry Goodkind takes you through even more detail as to why and how the barriers between the worlds work, how Darken Rahl has gained and maintains power, and why Richard is the way he is. The only thing the show does justice to is Kahlan.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    this book stinks!!!

    I think that it is a sadistic book that goes over and over the same text about torture and stuff. There were at least 4 chapters about him getting turned into a wimpering lump in the basement of the castle. It is one of the worst fantasy books I have ever read.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Yes!

    This is the beginning of an epic journey. I love all of the main characters. Read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great read! Takes one away from reality!!

    From beginning to end, this is one of the most entertaining books I have ever read. A page turner!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Already reading the next book. What a thrilling page turner.

    I absolutely loved this book. I was immediately enthralled by this story. The way the characters and story developed left me wanting more and more. I was constantly held at the edge of my seat, curious to know what would happen next. I highly recommend this book. You won't be disappointed....well maybe with your social life when you refuse to put it down but trust me its worth it and you won't regret missing anything to read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    In school they punish you for plagiarism, the only ones punished

    In school they punish you for plagiarism, the only ones punished for Goodkind's plagiarism are the readers of his series. I found the series to be a waste of time. At least I was smart enough not to waste my money by using the public library. I kept hoping that a New York Times "Best Seller" would actually write a novel worth reading...NOPE! From the positive reader feedback, I assumed that this would be a work of art, not a work to read. Not only did I find Goodkind's work to plagiaristic, it was also very reptitive, and predictable.

    Here is the jist of the who;le series: good versus evil. Evil's claim to fame was torture, rape, and murder. Guess what? Good wins in a very anti-climatic ending that was completely rushed in an attempt to tie all of the loose threads Goodkind wove while writting this series.

    The worst part about the series is the fact that we the readers made this guy lots of money for writting such dribble!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Watched the tv show

    Then i got into the books, they are great. Wanna chat about the books anyone?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    I love this book!!!!!!

    If you like romance or action you will love this book it has both with a suprising end you will never belive to be true and feel your self wanting to read more every day. when i get home from school i find myself reading all day till I have to go to bed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    I was recommended to this series by several friends who love it,

    I was recommended to this series by several friends who love it, fanatically. I'll never read anything by Terry Goodkind as long as there are other books. Anybody who thinks this is true literature doesn't read much, and anybody who thinks the author is creative hasn't read Lord of the Rings. Nearly every thought in this book is a rip-off of something else. FOR INSTANCE: in the beginning of the story the hero is given a magical item by a powerful wizard. He needs to use it to destroy an evil that is preparing to destroy his world. During his adventure, he is attacked by a decrepit, hunched-over creature that says little more than "mine" (in reference to the magical item that was his before it was given to the hero).
    My suggestion is to not waste your money on a culmination of stories you have likely already heard or read. If you really like fantasy stories, read something by R.A. Salvatore.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Wonderful fantasy story. be sure to quit reading them before th

    Wonderful fantasy story. be sure to quit reading them before they start going poorly downhill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    I recommend this to everyone who loves fantasies.

    This book was awesome. I can't believe how the characters got under my skin. I finished the book days ago, and I'm still haunted by it. The only reason that I didn't give it the last star was because of the number of misprints and typos in the e-book version. Some times a page actually disappeared making a gap in the storyline. This needs to be looked into. It definitely made for a frustrating reading experience at times.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    READ THIS SERIES!

    This one of the best series I have ever read in my life. I don't quite understand some of the comments that some people have made, but I feel that anyone who gives this series a chance with an open mind will end up loving it. I'm a regular reader of fantasy and this whole series is easily in my top 10.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Yawn.

    My grandfather suggested this series to me and I struggled to finish it. I'm torn; there were some things I enjoyed about this book. Generally, I enjoyed the world the author created. The idea of the Confessors, the Wizards and the idea of magic being walled off was interesting. I found the main character boring and two dimensional. Richard is every hero ever - tall, handsome, perfect. Sometimes he gets angry but it's always on behalf of some innocent being harmed. Kahlan didn't hold my interest any better - she just felt like some damsel in distress. I didn't find their relationship compelling at all. Richard decides right away he is in love with her and it's discussed CONSTANTLY as his motivation for saving the world.
    My verdict: Not the hugest waste of my time, but boring and formulaic. Nothing really happened besides Richard wanting to get in his companion's pants the whole book. I can't believe there are so many books in this series, I can't imagine what would go on in them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    A long book.

    Hm this book was to long, to complicated, and not the quality i expected for such a popular writer. however i liked it myself. not a book i would recomend for others to read though unless you got too much free time.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good story and pacing, but could use some better editing.

    Ok, so, by the end of the book I was really tired of Terry Goodkind's endless OCD need to circle around his paragraphs. He'd start out a paragraph and basically end it, or the second paragraph below, just repeating the same sentence almost word for word. Despite that I still enjoyed the book enough to decide to continue on with the series.

    Richard started off as a blank slate to me, generic hero material, but really grew on me after half way into the book. Kahlan was mostly the same way. The stand out characters were Zedd and Darken Rahl. Zedd was a blast to read about and Darken was one of the better villains I've read. So in that respect it was worth the read and I hope he gets his writing kinks out in the next books of the series. And, of course, being a Ayn Rand fan, I'm interested in seeing how he uses her philosophy in the books to come.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Top 5 best series ever written

    I passed this book over at least ten times at my local library deciding to read books with shiny new covers when I finally did pick it up I immediately regretted postponing reading this book I finished the rest of the series within two months and the books only get better as you go

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Intriguing

    I first started reading this book when I was home sick (at the request of a friend), and it turned out to be the beginning to my favorite series of all time. This novel is intimidatingly long, yet the chapters seem to fly by. <BR/><BR/>While it is obscenely close (plotwise) to Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series, I enjoy Goodkind's characters and storytelling much more. I find myself caring about all of Goodkind's characters. <BR/><BR/>The story follows Richard Cypher and his journey to the other side of the barrier, where magic lies. Richard is faced with many obstacles, and endures the ultimate test of loyalty and love near the end of the novel.<BR/><BR/>This is definately one of the better Sword of Truth novels, and I would recommend it to anybody.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2006

    The John Grisham of Fantasy

    I have many, many pet peeves, but this series hits on almost every one. The rape, the sex, the obscene murders, the slow and thick--yet too simple--magic system, the repitition of ideas (which he admittedly remedied in Chainfire), the cheesy, slap-on-paper approach to everything plotwise that he writes about burns my blood. However, I will say this: the romance is incredible, the scenery makes me sigh with its realism, the head-scratching prophecies make me question my own intelligence, the writing itself, though episodic is flowing, and very rarely comes a time where I put this series down. They weigh out to a three. Goodkind is a good writer, but he isn't in Haydon's league or even remotely in Jordan's presence-Leavaros Dapple

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    Do NOT give to young people

    I very much enjoyed reading this book, but I could not recommend to my grandchildren. There are several chapters that deal with, child abuse, S&M, homosexuality and torture. Please read through before passing it on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2001

    Good humor/fantasy, but too heavy handed

    I like Terry's style, it's very humorous when it needs to be, esp Zedd, for example. However, he's a bit heavy handed with the melodrama (does Kahlan ever stop crying ?), and, Terry, we are convinced that Darken Rahl is evil, trully, we're very very sure of it. Please no more eating little boys' cooked brain-testicle-heart. Really was that necessary ?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1051 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 53