Customer Reviews for

Wizards at War: The Eighth Book in the Young Wizards Series

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    I admit the character list can be a bit daunting at first glance but the seven books before it work to develop the characters so you get to know each one . By the 8th book you feel as though you know the characters and it is easy to tell who is who. I thought the book was amazing even though it raised as many questions as it answered. oh well that's just her style! =]

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    The best!

    My favorite book ever! I've read it twice and I'm willing to read it again. Though, I wanted to cry for Dairine at the end. It's totally awesome and a definite two thumbs up from me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    Not Disappointed!

    The latest installment in the Wizards series was as good or better than the previous stories. I loved the way the author brought back characters from many previous novels. It was like a big reunion! The plot is exciting, with humor, romance, and sadness sprinkled throughout. My personal favorite characters were Dairine and Roshaun, who get to know each other better in this book (wink). Fans of the series, like me, will love this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    Best Yet!

    I have been reading this series since the fourth grade- and i'm a sophmore now! I am impressed with Duane's ability to keep a series alive after all these books. She continues to offer quality books and i can't wait for the next one. One thing about this series is that its realy complicated if you don't read from the begining, but its definitly worth it. Alot of people think its a rip off of harry potter, but its the farthest thing from that. The biggest differance in the two series is that in Harry Potter magic is just something the characters can do, with practice. Just wave your wand and it happens. Duane's magic is much more mature. In this series all wizards have a responsibility to help preserve life, and all magic has a price. Duane's books give Rowling a run for her money. In this book i love Carmela. Ponch, however, is THE BEST. I won't give it away, but you get to learn about the dog's Choice. Also Ronan shows up and i think i'm in love with him! You get to catch up with alot of characters from previous books, and meet new ones, too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2005

    B-E-A-UTIFUL

    I am so getting this book for christmas. People told me this series were good has the harry potter series but not like harry potter books. GET THIS BOOK!!!!!! 'Its a Must Have'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2005

    Excellent

    This book is wonderful. My favorite part of the story is the way that the author brings back many of the characters from the other novels in the series. This book is just as good as the others in the series, and is a great read for anyone. I salute Ms. Duane!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Hi

    I absolutely love it!! This book is the best yet. I cry a lot, especially when I read about Dairine and the mobiles, and I am pretty sure I want to be a wizard myself!! I love all the characters, but I would say that the best overall is Ronan. The part near the end, which I won't give away, involving Ronan and the Spear, is brilliant!! Two thumbs up! (Or five ifyou are an alien!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Its a great read!

    If your into science in literature than this series is the perfect book for you ...It always talks about some form of astronomy mixed with lots of magic. A truly enjoy reading this book and will continue as the series progresses. As ive been reading this book since i was young and now am 22 yrs old.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2005

    GREAT!

    This book was awsome! but I recomend that people should read the other books in the series before they start to read this one because this book can be a little confusing at times.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Amazing

    I started reading this series in my sixth grafe year,couldnt find the sequel,and ditched it. Now that i have been reading them again, I realized what a mistake that was. Wizards at war was the best one of them all. It made me laugh,cry,and feel for the characters. We are lucky to have an author like duane in our midst

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    There's better out there. . .

    Nita (high-school-girl-like). Kit (high-school-boy-like). Ponch (Black Labrador Retriever). Dairine (annoying older sister, also humanoid, also high school). Carmela (annoying older sister to Kit, and hopelessly self-centered). Sker¿ret (centipede-like). Filif (evergreen tree-like). Roshaun (human like, but the king of another planet¿likes lollipops). Ronan (tall, dark, handsome human boy acting also as a shell for a greater power). If this seems like a lengthy cast of characters, you can imagine how twisted and difficult to follow this story is. When competing with such fantasy authors as J. K. Rowling, it can be tough going for authors trying to impress a spoiled audience. The crux of the plot is: nine fabulous life forms set out to save the galaxy from the malevolent Lone Power. It is the classic story of good and evil with a futuristic twist. In the end, most of the good guys get to go home, and those who have moved on, spiritually speaking, have the hope of returning in some form or another to rejoin the ones they love. The story alternates from mundane to some tension, reverting once again to the mundane in both dialogue and character development. This is the eighth book in the series, and I might have enjoyed this book more if I had read some of the others. The chapters are extremely long (an average of 36 pages each), so unless a reader has a lot of time to commit to the book, (s)he must stop midchapter and try to pick up the thread of the story later. While reading the book didn¿t kill me, I wouldn¿t place it in the category of a thriller that I couldn¿t put down. In the final analysis, if you have students who enjoy fantasy and science fiction, this book would be a good one to include¿unless you were on a strict budget, in which case, I would keep shopping.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2005

    another good one DD

    I've been waiting for this installment for months and was not dissapointed. Its a good fantasy book that gets you wrapped up in the story. Carmela is hilarious!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2