Customer Reviews for

Wolf Brother (Chronicles of Ancient Darkness Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    Great Book/Series!!!!

    My 9 year old son LOVED Wolf Brother, Spirit Walker, Soul Eater and Outsider. He could not wait to read each book!!! Prior to these books, he refused to do independent reading. I caught him reading under his comforter after lights out. How WONDERFUL!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ABSOLUTELY GREAT READ!

    I loved this book.
    I wasn't familiarized with the series or the author but now I'm hooked.
    Great story. Exciting read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    The best books ever!

    This book Wolf Brother is the best books ever! I read all of the books . I am still reading OUTCAST. I am like the only girl reading these books. My favorite animal is a wolf. I have had a wolf in my past life. But I still have wolves with me. They are wild wolves they attack everybody but me! Every body calls me The Wolfwoman! I can talk wolf and run like a wolf. I am 11 years old and I am writing my own story about me becoming The Wolfwoman. I am going back to the books. My favorite porsen in the books are Renn. You have to read to read these books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    OUTSTANDING, SIMPLY OUTSTANDING

    This is one of those novels that won´t let you sleep until you finish it. Michelle Paver has the ability to transport you to the prehistoric ages, live the traditions, costumes, and believes. She will make you feel like Torak, a simple 12 years old boy of the Wolf Clan that only has a wolf cub. You will feel the woods walking, the fight in the Crow Clan, and the challenges you must endure and pass with Renn to collect the 3 charms you need to defeat the Terrible Bear. If you love the adventures and the nature, this book will hook you until the last page, enjoying it until the last phrase of this book, one of the best I have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER

    OMG. I have read this book two times and it is still exciting. If anyone hasn't read it, READ IT NOW (except my sister). I have always dreamed of living out in the forest just like Torak does. Except for the demon bear and the soul eaters. I am so crazy about this book I went on wikapedia and looked it up. I HAVE GOT TO READ THE NEXT ONE NOW!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    Chronicles of Ancient Darkness

    This book was great! If you like action books set in a more primitive world, then this is the book for you. Torak, his wolf cub, whom he named Wolf, and a girl named Renn are out to destroy a man eating bear that killed Torack's father.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    I loved this book, in fact I couldn't believe when I had finishe

    I loved this book, in fact I couldn't believe when I had finished it. It is well written and keeps you on your toes. There is imagination put into every page. I keep buggint my mom to get me the next book in the series. It is just an incredible book. I highly recommend for any teen or anybody who likes creative, suspense stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful story of the past!

    I honestly love these series. It is seriously one of the most amazing books i've ever read! It can be a little confusing, what with how it is all set thousands of years in the past, but the plot is fantastic! The characters are brilliant and the wolf is just absolutely adorable. And the way Paver has been able to write through the wolves eyes at times is genius. I would recommend this book to anyone who like reading about the past and their legends. Or, to anyone really! It's just amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    its great for elmentary like 4th through 6th grade

    its a great book specially for the animal lover type a little sad at the begining but overall good. before i had a nook the lady at the libary told me i couldnt check it out any more cause i had checked it out so much. i really love this book.but i hate this because i cannot find it on my nook .hey write a comment if you do plz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    The Best Book I Ever Read!

    I just LOVE this book! As soon as i was dine with the first book in the series all i wanted was more! So full of adventure! The only reason i registerd to this site is so i could buy the books at a cheaper price! Hope you read the book! Thanks for reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Survival Adventure Series

    Title/Series: Chronicles of Ancient Darkness - #1 Wolf Brother Author: Michelle Paver Pages: 320 pages Copyright Date: 2004 Reading Level: 5th grade Interest Level: 6th - 8th grade Summary: Six thousand years ago, twelve year old Torak is suddenly alone when his father dies. Torak is now on his own with an impossible mission to complete. He must find the Mountain of the World Spirit to stop the evil demon bear from destroying the world. Torak bonds with a wolf cub who will be his guide to the Mountain or death. Educational: Good - well researched information on the lives of people 6,000 years ago. Content: Good - the action makes the reader want to keep reading, theme of being respectful to nature Message: Average- courage and resourcefulness are useful throughout life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Wolf Brother

    Wolf Brother is one of the best books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book and an excellent reading!

    I'm not much of an audiobook listener and probably never would have picked this up if it hadn't been for a school assignment. And while it did take me some time to get used to listening to my book rather than reading it, before too long I was completely sucked into the story. Wolf Brother is, itself, an action-packed adventure embellished with primeval history, mysticism, and mystery, and Ian McKellan's reading effortlessly captures the moments of suspense, Torak's mourning and strength, and the wolf cub's playful fearlessness and animal enthusiasm. After finishing the book in this format, I can't imagine not experiencing the sequels the same way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Book To Excite Reading for Boys and Girls

    This entire series is excellent in getting the not so interested youth reader into not wanting to put the book down and moving right through the entire series. Also a great book for parents to read with or after their kids read to share stories, life lessons, etc. There are six books in the series and they are published in the U.K. first then come to the states. All excellent. Also check out www.torak.net

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME BOOK

    Toark was a unforgetable charcter. This book was intersting and fun to read. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a great read and wolves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Emotional Roller coaster!!

    These books describe a boy and his guardian of a quest, you could say. The boy discovers many new things and people he has never encountered before, for his Fa and him have lived apart from the clans forever. On the boys journey he makes enemies that turn out to be friends and friends who turn out to be enemies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wolf Brother

    It all happened when the bear killed Tork's dad. That is when Tork began his journey to the mountain of world spirit. But then Tork is taken by a nearby clan. But will he escape the mean clan with his new friends, a wolf and a baby cub? Will he or will not be a sacrifice for intruding the raven's territory? If he does escape, he must cross the ice river before the first full moon or he will not be able to kill the bear because it will be invincible! Last, I must tell you that I loved it very much!!! That's why you should read this book!!!!!
    Reviewed by. Scott

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    this book is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this book is so cool if you like adventure . torak may be a scared kid but he has to have some guts to do what he did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    I love This BOOK

    I loved this book i couldnt put it down i got it one friday read saturday and sunday and i finshed it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    One of the greatest books of all time.

    Wolf brother was a great adventure story. It has drama, fantasy, and is action-packed. As soon as you pick it up, you will be drawn to it. If you are a fantasy-adventure lover, this is certainly the book for you. The characters in wolf brother are life like and full of realism. They have great and realistic dialogue which makes the events in this book easier to visualize in your head. If you are a fan of the lord of the rings books, this book is for you. This book is a must have. I certainly would guarantee it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4