BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wolf Fever

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    Worth Reading Again and Again

    Who ever heard of biological warfare against werewolves actually succeeding? This is another great story from the mind of Ms. Spear sure to amaze and intrigue readers of her wonderful series; and even garner new fans.

    Carol Wood isn't a pushover. The story revolves around a young woman who had dreams and goals and finds herself now a werewolf. She doesn't want to give anything up but being a werewolf has certainly derailed the plans she made for her life. It's all about compromise, yet Carol won't budge an inch. She has this ability that confounds her alpha and pack and sometimes makes her the odd one out. This talent of which she tried to exercise great control over comes at a cost and it plays into the plot quite effectively. She also has some inner pain that gets dealt with.

    And isn't it romantic that Ryan wants to help? Not that his help is wanted initially. That made for some interesting reading. I liked Carol's character. When things get nasty, her strengths shine - she's smart, has a clever brain process, is dedicated and goes after what she wants. She's feminine enough to feel insecure at times when confronted with what she sees are perfect werewolf females, until Ryan has her believing what he sees in her. I found that quite romantic. She's also woman enough to fight for her man, even when he tells her to 'stay put'. I really liked that about her.

    Ryan is the hero. On top of that, he's a yummy Scotsman as well as an alpha. I like that he did his own thing and is his own man but still respected the local alpha. Although he's visiting and states that he's tying up a loose end, he's determined to keep Carol safe and he's not quite sure why. I really enjoyed his slow fall into love. He actually got hit with Cupid's arrow early on but he didn't recognize the fact and that made me smile. He's such a guy. He's also a great protector and he's tenacious, all good traits.

    A lot of the secondary characters are familiar to readers of previous books but for first time readers, if they jump into the series with this story, they'll feel like they're getting a complete picture. It stands alone just fine because this story is carried by Carol and Ryan. The intrigue started in a previous book but this one blows it right open so instead of being teased, a reader gets the whole enchilada. There is terrific suspense, action and even comedic moments to keep a reader fascinated and interested. When Carol and Ryan get together and they explore the physical aspect of their budding relationship, it's sensual, passionate and very well written. There are some bittersweet moments among the secondary characters as well. Everyone had a job in this story for good or ill, and they're all very well fleshed out and I believe accomplished whatever the author needed them to do. Another reason I enjoyed this book is that it gave me a sense of community which provided more shocking power to the maniacal plot.

    Wolf Fever is another winner of a story that kept me on the edge with its unique master storytelling and plot. There are villains of different flavors and degrees that prevented me from guessing which way Ms. Spear was going to go. I enjoyed the brisk dialogue and the insights it gave me as I read. The quality of writing is as strong as ever and a must read for paranormal wolf fans who enjoy a romance laced with humor along with great suspense.

    Originally posted at The Long And Short of It Romance Reviews

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Love it

    I love this series. This is another great one to the series :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    The best so far of this series...

    I loved this book...it is the best of this series so far. I kind of was pulling for Jake in this book a little bit but the author's website states that I will not have to wait too long for him to find love. I will definitely will be waiting on the next installment of this series to be released.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Great series!

    Carol Woods sees the future - and she's a werewolf. She's not a natural born werewolf - she was attacked 5 months ago and turned. Since then, she's been fighting the change (successfully so far) and Darien, her pack leader, is concerned. She's fighting the change because she's been having visions of some of the men in her pack shifting into wolves and not being able to shift back. In addition to trying to convince her to shift, Darien is also trying to convince her to take a mate, as females are a precious commodity and he doesn't want her attacked and/or stolen.

    Ryan McKinley is a former cop, now a PI, who assisted Darien's pack a few months ago with a problem they were having. Since then he hasn't been able to get Carol off his mind - he doesn't believe her visions are real. So he's back on Darien's turf to figure out how Carol figured out the clues to his case.

    When Carol is almost kidnapped, she hires Ryan to be her bodyguard. He agrees, and that's where things start to really heat up. The attraction is definitely there, but Carol can't be with someone who doesn't believe in her "talent", and Ryan needs a mate who can embrace her wolf. Then, Carol's visions come true and the wolves can't shift back and the pack looks to her to find a cure.

    My thoughts: I really enjoy reading Terry Spear's wolves; she is very good at making the wolf come across in their human counterparts. I love her Alpha males, and even though she was a new wolf, Carol was such a stubborn Alpha female, it was fun to see the Beta males trying (unsuccessfully) to win her affections. The social hiearchy of the packs was also well-done; although not the hero of this story, Darien was a great Alpha leader who was willing to work with another Alpha to resolve his problems. The sickness plot was interesting - biological warfare within werewolf packs is a novel storyline and it worked here, providing a dose of urgency to the story.

    I'm looking forward to the next book in this series - Heart of the Highland Wolf.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    Emh

    Great read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Im a werewolf are u

    I feel lonley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    I found this book stupid

    I will not read another in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    I love this entire series!

    I can't get enough of Terry Spear and her wolf series. I'll take any of the Gorgeous men any day of the week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Excellent

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Werewolf/psychic drama

    Interesting plot to the story and lots of action, romance and drama. Didn't realize this was part of a series didn't see the book was numbered in any way. The plot was great in this book, with multiple packs - some working togethers while others plotted revenge and to take over. The main characters has a ability to see glimpses of future events that have not yet come to pass. She's a very agressive character and independent which makes her a prime target for an alpha male leader. Enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Psychic Shapeshifter + Alpha wolf PI = Good reading!

    My Synopsis: Carol is a recently turned lupus garou - who has another ability. She has visions of the future - usually signifying trouble. These visions have enabled her to keep from shifting for five months. She is troubled because one of her visions has shown her members of her new wolf family as wolves - unable to shift back. She is afraid that if she shifts, she will not be able to shift back again.

    Since she is newly turned and unmated AND has not shifted - Darien, the pack leader - has moved her into his house in order to keep an eye on her. He wants her to learn their ways and doesn't want her shifting unexpectedly. He knows it will happen, it is just a matter of time. He also feels it is his responsibility to find her a mate.

    Ryan McKinley is leader of a pack from a neigboring town and a P.I. Carol's visions had helped him to solve a murder, but he has been unable to get her out of his head. He says it is because he doesn't believe she is psychic and wants to get to the bottom of how she came upon her information. The harder he tries to prove she is a fraud, the more he starts to believe her, all the while neither one of them can seem to fight the growing attraction between them.

    A mysterious flu sweeps through the community and before anyone can stop it, some of the wolves have shifted and cannot change back. It is up to Carol and Ryan to figure out what is going on and if they are going to be able to stop it in time.

    My Thoughts: I did like this book - but I had a hard time picturing Carol. I don't think it had so much to do with her description, but the fact that I know too many Carols. My mom is Karol, my MIL is Carol and my next door neighbor is Carol. None of these women are young, sexy, wolf-like, (lol) so it took some time for me to erase my Carols and embrace this Carol. Once I really got into the story though, it got easier. This book was a little slower moving than previous books by Ms. Spear that I had read. It seemed to take longer to get to the "mystery" that needed to be solved. And while I grew to like Carol and Ryan together, I didn't instantly feel their chemistry - and maybe that was how it was supposed to be as neither one of them really wanted to be mated either.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    Wolf Fever

    To begin with this series is amazing. It's fun, entertaining, good for any type of reader, keeps you interested, and has fantastic characters. I loved that we got to see a glimpse into Lelandi & Darien's life along with the pack favorites. Carol & Ryan's story was very romantic. The action was weaved in to perfection as Terry Spear always manages to do.

    Carol Wood is an amazing character. She's sweet, caring, apprehensive, selfless, and well loved by everyone. Ryan McKinley is like your typical alpha male protective, scared to show his feelings, but always manages to show the softer wilder side. I don't want to give anything away because you should read it for yourself how great the book is along with the whole series. It's very well developed.
    And in Wolf Fever we maybe get a possible glimpse into Rosalind's life?? Could be interesting!! Read for yourself to see what I mean.

    So yes absolutely READ READ THE BOOK!!!
    Enjoy!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    I love werewolves and I love Terry Spear. Need I say more? Her books are always fun and never disappoint. The plot was intense and the virus had me on the edge of my seat. Carol and Ryan's characters made the story even better. Four stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5