BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wolf Hall

Average Rating 3.5
( 504 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(203)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(67)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating. Want more.

I almost put this book aside after the first chapter. It was just too confusing. Then I got my aged mind to accept that "he" always refers to Cromwell and it became a page-turner. It is a fascinating look into the minds of Thomas Cromwell, Henry VIII, and various oth...
I almost put this book aside after the first chapter. It was just too confusing. Then I got my aged mind to accept that "he" always refers to Cromwell and it became a page-turner. It is a fascinating look into the minds of Thomas Cromwell, Henry VIII, and various other players in the life of Henry VIII, the birth of the Anglican Church, the Protestant reformation, and the Renaissance in general.

If you read carefully, Wolf Hall also gives a lot of neat little tidbits about life in the sixteenth century; for instance, the convent washed their bed linens once a year.

I hope there will be a sequel that takes the life of Cromwell to its inevitable conclusion.

posted by BillR on April 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

53 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the effort

I agree with the reviewers who say the writing style is difficult. I'll go one further and say its just atrocious. I consider myself a serious reader, but I'm on my second time trying to read it and just can't get into the story. Its difficult to figure out who the vari...
I agree with the reviewers who say the writing style is difficult. I'll go one further and say its just atrocious. I consider myself a serious reader, but I'm on my second time trying to read it and just can't get into the story. Its difficult to figure out who the various 'he's' are. Half the time I can't figure out who is talking during a conversation. If I wasn't aware of the history and plot line, it would just be impossible. I'm sure there are other books that cover this material that are much better written and much more enjoyable to read. If it was a new plot line, it might be worth the effort. I'm glad I checked it out of the library.

posted by Eadie on May 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    terrible

    do not waste your time or money. don't even get this at the library. its horrible. i want my money back.

    i can't tell if there is a plot. so far it seems like just random thoughts that sometimes turn into an actual conversation. its like the writer has a head injury and isn't making a whole lot of sense. is this some sort of new or creative writing style, if so i hate it. i can't tell who is saying what, is it the narrator? is there a narrator? and why so many paragraphs full of info that i have no idea how or why it relates to the rest of the book.

    16 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Boring with a capital "B"

    I love almost every book that I read... however this was the most boring book I've picked up in years: Little or no plot, with dull characters. Don't waste your money on this one.
    If you want to read about the time of Henry the VIII, go to Phillipa Gregory's books.

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Historical fiction gone bad

    What could have been a fascinating look at Thomas Cromwell, Henry VIII and a critical time in English history became unbearable. There are few books that I give up on but, after reading 2/3 of it, I just couldn't finish. The characters were a jumble that I didn't care about and couldn't keep straight, the plot seemed to wander and weave every which way. On top of that the author's style of dialog with no quotations marks helped to make it a book unnecessarily difficult read. Maybe it is just my lack of knowledge of these historical events that was the problem but usually I can make sense of a historical piece and come away having learned something. That was not the case here. I know it has gotten excellent reviews and won The Mann Booker award but I would recommend this only to someone who is a real history buff and can keep all the myriad characters straight.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    I've never seen anything like it in such a highly rated book. I

    I've never seen anything like it in such a highly rated book. I'm not sure why it won the awards it did. The flow of the book was erratic at best. So many sentences with no subject or verb, and run on sentences that made no sense.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Thid book This book ducks This book i This book sucks; not sure about all the great revieed This book sucks

    The publisher must have written the glowing reviews. I love historicsl fiction, but this was a real waste of time and money.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    I consider myself a serious reader.  I devour 2-3 books a week a

    I consider myself a serious reader.  I devour 2-3 books a week and find that some of them can be a struggle to finish.  This book, however, is a struggle to even begin.  The writing style is terrible and characters have no personality or voice.  I almost made a game out of how many times I read the words "he says" without any following descriptions. Not one to ever toss a book to the side, I valiantly muddled through 55 pages of the rubbish before finally, and for the first time, just quitting.  I have ready college history books with far more flair.  This is one author that will never again grace my library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Very tedious!

    The writing style is confusing and the plot hard to follow - even though I have read many books about this time period and know how the "story" is going to end. I would not recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Truly horrible.  Terrible writing style, boring information, dif

    Truly horrible.  Terrible writing style, boring information, difficult to comprehend, weird language...I just can't imagine how this book can be so widely talked about..  It's garbage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Awful!

    What a torturous read! The author managed to take a fascinating historical story and write a novel that was unrelentingly verbose, boring, and at times utterly confusing. Save your money and hours of your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Storm to all

    I'm quiting this rp. If you want me I will be at Pack United result 1. I have to quit some rps. Bye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Painful read

    I purcased this book because I was interested in a historical fiction on the Tudors. I found the writing to be hard to follow and the story boring. It ws also difficult to connect with characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    I couldn't even complete this book. The way it is written is ve

    I couldn't even complete this book. The way it is written is very disjointed and very hard to follow what character is talking, and about whom. I love historical fiction, but this was way to laborous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Jy

    B

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    HARD TO FOLLOW

    Similiar to a review I read prior to reading this, I will say book was very hard to follow. It was very difficult to know who was speaking and therefore frustrating to read. The only reason that I did not just stop reading is that I like the subject/time frame so found content interesting if not annoying to read. I would not recommend this book. Maybe it's the style for British writers? Sorry Hillary (author).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    A Jumble of Flat Characters

    This novel starts out well and then rapidly goes downhill. The reason for its rapid descent? A new character clambers on board every third page, adding their weight to the accelerating baggage of this overly hefty tome.
    By the middle of the book, as new characters were introduced, I would just skip ahead 5 pages, knowing that this latest character would never be fleshed out and would add nothing to the plot.
    If this seems like a tedious way to plow through a novel, you would be right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Pronouns and quotation marks

    She uses he and I am not really sure when he is speaking to him if they are refering to him, her or him. If you understood who I was writing about in the first sentence you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Should have read the customer reviews before buying

    I have probably only quit a book once or twice in my life, but I am considering quitting this one. I should have read the customer reviews first, but purchased it after reading a magazine article about it. I like books from this era in history, but this one is just too hard to get into. I'm about 100 pages in and am forcing myself to keep reading hoping it will get better. It is just boring and the story and characterers are not exciting. Like others, I love the Anne Bolelyn story but it is still only the edges of what is being written about. I think I might give up on this one. I'm disappointed to have wasted my money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Sorry

    I know that most of the reviews on this book were glowing but i could not get into it. The 'cast of charachter' scared me and I did not even give it a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    I doooooo not like this book at all.

    I doooooo not like this book at all i ddonr even know why i read it i dont even like werewolfs sorry fr those qho do like it but i wouldnt recomend this to any one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    An extremely tedious read - much inconsequential detail that doe

    An extremely tedious read - much inconsequential detail that does nothing to further the story nor the characters. Written like a high school report.
    The positive reviews must have been at the hands of family members.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3