Customer Reviews for

The Wolf and the Dove

Average Rating 4.5
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This started it all!

This was the first historical romance novel I read and I couldnt put it down! This book is why I started to read historical romance and I almost didnt read it because of reviews commenting about a rape scene which of course was common thing during that time period but s...
This was the first historical romance novel I read and I couldnt put it down! This book is why I started to read historical romance and I almost didnt read it because of reviews commenting about a rape scene which of course was common thing during that time period but something I didnt approve of. I started to read it and the rape scene that people were commenting about isnt what you think it is and people should read the whole book to see the plot play out because then they would know what really happened. All in all, this is one of my favorite historical romances and would recommend any Kathleen E. Woodiwiss books.

posted by mahala057 on May 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Rape your way to a woman's heart

If you believe rape and brutalization are the way to a woman's heart, this book is for you. Rape, rape, and more rape. Just the thing to make a woman fall in love with you. And of course, it's such a pleasant experience that she DOES fall for her rapist. Beyond that, th...
If you believe rape and brutalization are the way to a woman's heart, this book is for you. Rape, rape, and more rape. Just the thing to make a woman fall in love with you. And of course, it's such a pleasant experience that she DOES fall for her rapist. Beyond that, the catty sniping between Aislann and Gwyneth is disgusting. If I had to listen to that nonsense all the time, I'd hate women, too.

posted by Anonymous on July 27, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Always A Fan

    I love Kathleen Woodisiss' historical romances, I've read almost all of her books, but had been putting this one to the side for a while, unsure if it would capture my attention as her others have. I must say that as always her characters and storyline completely enraptured me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An old favorite from my romance stage in life

    This was one of the first real romance novels I have every read---and I did it when I was in the 5th grade(hope my mother does not see this). But yes, my mother's friend gave her a bunch of books that she did not know what to do with anymore(they belonged to her mother who just died). Knowing that I was a serious books worm, my mother passed them to me.<BR/><BR/>Amoung them was this book, which was so old you could crush the pages into dust jusy by touching them. But I started reading it and loved it! I loved Aslinn who was very strong and fought back against the people who hurt her family, and Wulfgur, what can I say, he was very facinating. I loved how the two characters slowly came together....despite thier rather rocky beginning(frankly...I would have hated Wulfgur for life if that were me...but this is fantasy afterall). I especially loved Wulfgur's warming up due to Aislinn's influence. Despite their fantastic story..it was still enjoyable..and believeable.<BR/><BR/>While I was reading this book..I lost it some time, and I looked for it for years until HS, when I found it in a bag way in the back of my closet in worse shape than I got it(if that's imagineable). But I finally got a chance to read it all the way though..and I enjoyed it even more..since I was older and more able to appreciate it's contents. lol I loved this book..I can't say that enough. I highly reccomend it. The day I finally had to throw it away because it was turing into a pile of dust, was a sad day indead. Maybe I'll by the new release and read it again(the last 2 pages or so fell out the last time I was reading it..so I kind of forgot the ending...I just made it up. LOL)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2015

    One of my favorite rainy day books

    I've read this book several times. It is an absolutely joyful romantic read. I highly recommend it to readers who want to travel back in time for an adventurous love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Dark Ages Romance

    Anyone who buys a Dark Ages/Viking/Conquerer romance novel knows there are going to be some dark scenes. It was the reality of the time. If all you want is romantic love and courting, buy a Regency! I thought this was a great book. I loved the fact that the heroine didn't immediately fall in love with the hero. She made him work for it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Woodiwiss is one of my favorite romance authors because her stor

    Woodiwiss is one of my favorite romance authors because her stories are always original and her writing style is such that dialogue between characters and flow of events are realistic and plausible. I'm deducting a star on the W&amp;D because 1) I find it annoying when a heroine can't just be stunning, but has to have every single man that sees her literally loose all grip on reality...one or two okay, but every man is just stupid; 2) Wulfgars sudden conversion to being a willing bridegroom is confusing since it is poorly explained. I do like Wulfgar's personality. He is a what-you-see-is-what-you-get kinda of guy, and seems normal (aside from his undefeated-in-battle, extraordinary good looks, blah, blah, blah characteristics). Normal in the sense that he seems to have a humanistic sense of respect for others, thinks like a businessman, and his judicious leadership style isn't just foreplay for leaping into battle and leaving all of the other weakling men dead in his wake (ok that does happen once or twice but it is not over the top).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Sandra

    A friend gave me this book to read years ago, I liked it so much I had to fine a copy of my own. To date I have read this four times and will again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Love this book!

    This is one of my favorite books. Cannot count the number of times I've read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Great romance!

    I read this book long ago, but I just had to purchase it for my nook. Its a wonderful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2