Customer Reviews for

The Wolf and the Dove

Average Rating 4.5
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This started it all!

This was the first historical romance novel I read and I couldnt put it down! This book is why I started to read historical romance and I almost didnt read it because of reviews commenting about a rape scene which of course was common thing during that time period but s...
This was the first historical romance novel I read and I couldnt put it down! This book is why I started to read historical romance and I almost didnt read it because of reviews commenting about a rape scene which of course was common thing during that time period but something I didnt approve of. I started to read it and the rape scene that people were commenting about isnt what you think it is and people should read the whole book to see the plot play out because then they would know what really happened. All in all, this is one of my favorite historical romances and would recommend any Kathleen E. Woodiwiss books.

posted by mahala057 on May 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

WAY too much rape

The concept of the book, conquerer and his victim falling in love was this books saving grace. The fact that he raped her uncountable times before he even felt a hint of affection for her strongly outweights any redeeming qualities the book might have.

posted by Anonymous on April 22, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    This started it all!

    This was the first historical romance novel I read and I couldnt put it down! This book is why I started to read historical romance and I almost didnt read it because of reviews commenting about a rape scene which of course was common thing during that time period but something I didnt approve of. I started to read it and the rape scene that people were commenting about isnt what you think it is and people should read the whole book to see the plot play out because then they would know what really happened. All in all, this is one of my favorite historical romances and would recommend any Kathleen E. Woodiwiss books.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    All Time Favorite

    I was never really one to read and many years ago, a friend told me to read this book. I did and absolutely fell in love with this book and Katherine Woodwiss. I've read all of her books and this particular one and The Flame and The Flower are my favorite books ever. If it wasn't for this book, I probably wouldn't be reading anything more than a magazine! Thanks Katherine!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    wonderful

    this is the first book I've read by this author and I thought it was a wonderful book. Can't wait to start another.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    More than 15 years later...

    I had to reread it to see if I'd enjoy it as much now as I did then. I did, maybe even more. It has all of the historical details, full cast, conflicted emotions, sweeping romance and twisting plot any reader of this genre could possibly ask for. Yes, the heroine is "too" perfect and yes there is (very) dubious consent. If these issues for you, pass this one up. Myself, I know the difference between fantasy and reality and what I'm looking for in a romance. These characters and their stories are larger than life, as they should be. Thank you Kathleen and may you R.I.P.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Loved it again after 30+ years I read so many K.W. books i

    Loved it again after 30+ years
    I read so many K.W. books in the 70's and decided to re-read since I got my eReader. This one took place in the 11th century so you received an understanding of life in those times. I loved the growing love story and the spirit and devotion of Aislinn as a strong willed woman. So glad I read this again, along with Shanna,A Rose in Winter, Ashes in the Wind, The Flame and the Flower. I loved them all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Excellent!

    I read this in high school and about halfway through my mom confiscated it! A few weeks later she returned it and let me finish it...saying she loved it! We have many catch phrases and jokes from the book and of all the 100s of romance books ive read, this is one i can honestly say i always remember the title and plot/characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2004

    Woodiwiss' Best Hands Down!

    I've read The Wolf and The Dove four times and each time I love it more and more. It is a timeless tale of the 1066 Norman conquest of England. Woodiwiss is a true to history and gives a realistic account of what life and death was like for the people of that time as the small fief of Darkenwald is laid to waste by the invading army and claimed in the name of the Duke of Normandy. The writing is wonderful, the characters well rounded. The stories of Aislinn and Wulfgar are believable. This is not your typical knight in shining armor story. I found myself drawn into there world...I laughed, I cried and in the end...well, you will just have to read this great book for yourself to find out. I HIGHLY recommend it. I promise you wont be sorry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    In 1975 I started my first Kathleen Woodwiss book and couldn't p

    In 1975 I started my first Kathleen Woodwiss book and couldn't put it down.  I found myself visiting the bookstore regularly waiting for her next book
    Now almost forty years later I am purchasing all of them for my nook.  I have the hardcopies in storage still.  All of her books are definitely written to be read over and over again through the years.
    I highly recommend this author and she is missed dearly by this fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    love this book.

    when i was a kid i hated to read,,bedridden, my sister gave me this book to read... i was hooked and this is still my fav book..after 30 years i still love to read it and i hope it enspires more people to love books the way it did me..u

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Wonderful lovestory!

    I read this book about a year after it first came out. I have since read it over and over again. I think it is the best book on romance and the best one of her books. She is a great author but this book--it really sets the romantic mode. I wish there were more pictures of the characters especially Aislinn and Wulfgar. I wouldn't mind seeing what Ragnor and his cousin looked like too. I have envisioned them for so long, I can almost see their charactoers. It is worth the reading.
    Babbsie

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    phenominal!!!

    I read this in high school and have read it about 15 times since! My favorite romance novel!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    Loved then and still love it now

    I read this when I was a teenager and romance was big, I read it again, and will still read it again. Pure, hot romance ! Takes you back in time !

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    Loved it!

    One of my HEA books now..... a keeper

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    So Romantic!

    This is one of the most wonderful books I have ever read! I am going to continue reading all of Kathleen E. Woodiwiss's books. I read this over a year ago and still catch myself thinking about it. I was in love with Wulfgar, and Aislinn is the kind of heroine I would want to be. I was only in the 9th grade when my Mimi got me to read The Flame and The Flower and I couldn't put it down. She read it when it had first came out so I don't think she knew what she had me reading, but there is no stopping me now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book ever

    I love this book I have re-read this book so many times. I love Wulfgar his character is strong and forceful and yet he's kind and Ainslin is another strong female character that holds her own against Wulfgar and the other Norman invaders and she doesn't feel sorry for herself and I like how she takes charge of the situation they are in. I don't agree with other reviews that they say there is too much rape references in this book, Ainslin doesn't get raped by Wulfgar or Ragnor and when Wulfgar makes love to Ainslin it was the point when she realised she loved him and she doesn't want to give herself willingly until he gives into love and commits to her and I love that about her. This book is one of the best book KW has written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    I have read this book probably 10 times in the last 10 years. I never get tired of it. It is an excellent book. I have to order a new one as my old book is losing pages and the cover tore off years ago.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    Beautiful

    Wow! What a beautiful story. This is the best romance novel I have read so far. It leaves me with a wonderful feeling inside. I would encourage everyone to buy this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read fifteen or twenty books a month. This is my very favorite romance. I can smell the fragrances and see the scenes. This book isn't about rape or abuse like some of the reviews said. It's about life during Norman/Saxon times. It's real and so is the love story. I read it over and over again. It will always be my favorite.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2007

    Wow....

    I read this book many, many years ago and still keep fond memories of the characters. It's wonderful to see that it is still out there for the younger generations...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    More than just another Romance Novel

    The Wolf and The Dove is much better than the average romance novel-it actually has a well-developed and intricate plot behind it. This book is perfect if you enjoy captivating language and a relatively realistic love story, but don't want to have to sit through NC-17 descriptions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7