Customer Reviews for

A Wolf at the Table: A Memoir of My Father

Average Rating 4
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Emotional Abuse

A Wolf At The Table is the follow-up Memoir to Running with Scissors. A Wolf At The Table tells the story of another type of child abuse. It tells the story of emotional abuse and the effects of it on the adult child and is a great example why a parent should not stay i...
A Wolf At The Table is the follow-up Memoir to Running with Scissors. A Wolf At The Table tells the story of another type of child abuse. It tells the story of emotional abuse and the effects of it on the adult child and is a great example why a parent should not stay in an abusive relationship for the sake of the children. A Wolf At The Table is a must read!

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Long Path To Nowhere

I did not care for this book very much. I thought Running With Scissors was much better in terms of writing and overall entertainment.
This story sort of rambled on through the rather terrible childhood of the author. At the end of it all, I felt pretty depressed and...
I did not care for this book very much. I thought Running With Scissors was much better in terms of writing and overall entertainment.
This story sort of rambled on through the rather terrible childhood of the author. At the end of it all, I felt pretty depressed and confused about the overall message of the work... if there was one.
It took me quite some time to get through this book, as it did not read comfortably. Looking back, the story was rather repetitive and anticlimactic.
It's hard to write a negative review considering the author is relating the very personal tale of his unfortunate childhood... but I just didn't care for it.

posted by jmepitt on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Emotional Abuse

    A Wolf At The Table is the follow-up Memoir to Running with Scissors. A Wolf At The Table tells the story of another type of child abuse. It tells the story of emotional abuse and the effects of it on the adult child and is a great example why a parent should not stay in an abusive relationship for the sake of the children. A Wolf At The Table is a must read!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Haunting and completely engaging

    I decided to read this book because I was pulled in by Running with Scissors by this author. I cannot say that I loved the other book but I could not put it down. I considered it to be like a train wreck. You know you should stop looking but you just can¿t help yourself. So, here I am again¿becoming completely engaged with Augusten and his life.<BR/><BR/>Whereas Running with Scissors was like a train wreck, this book pulls at your heartstrings. This book is written with the innocence of childhood. Full of complete love and adoration for a man who refuses even the slightest glance for his poor son who only wanted to be held. Augusten would fight ¿the arms¿ and try to get past them to get to his father. He would ask questions and do everything he could for his father. His father however, refused to reciprocate this love. The most Augusten ever received from his father was an automatic ¿very much I love you too¿ at bedtime. <BR/><BR/>Though childhood innocence can protect a boy from many hurts in life, this innocence does not last forever. Unfortunately, Augusten learned too soon that something was wrong or ¿missing¿ from his father. Innocence was replaced by fear, fear replaced by terror, and terror replaced by desperation. All he ever wanted was love, compassion, approval. <BR/><BR/>Though Augusten¿s father had his own share of childhood pain and torture, the cycle must be broken at some point. This man was not strong enough to do so. The ¿games¿ repeat themselves and become more sadistic.<BR/><BR/>Finishing this book I could not help but stare at the picture of Augusten Burroughs on the back cover. His eyes seemed to pierce through me and I marveled at how this man, who survived so much, could have made something so wonderful of himself. There is something in this man that helped him survive. Could it have truly been a half loaf of bread, five slices of bologna, and a can of fruit punch that pushed him to make something of himself? Was it the love he lifted from a complete stranger that was the catalyst? Either way, Augusten Burroughs has a way with words. He pulls you in and forces you to run, terrified, through the woods with him. His sadness for the ¿outside¿ dog transcends the pages and becomes your sadness. His fears of becoming his father become your fears. This is a man who grabs hold of your spirit, emotions, your soul and he refuses to let you go. You are with him and he is with you¿always.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Long Path To Nowhere

    I did not care for this book very much. I thought Running With Scissors was much better in terms of writing and overall entertainment.
    This story sort of rambled on through the rather terrible childhood of the author. At the end of it all, I felt pretty depressed and confused about the overall message of the work... if there was one.
    It took me quite some time to get through this book, as it did not read comfortably. Looking back, the story was rather repetitive and anticlimactic.
    It's hard to write a negative review considering the author is relating the very personal tale of his unfortunate childhood... but I just didn't care for it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Excellent - but don't expect the usual Burroughs

    Having read all of Augusten Burroughs' books, I was hesitant to read 'Wolf at the Table' after I saw some of the negative reviews. But I stand corrected. I think readers who didn't like this book were expecting more 'Scissors' and funny-disturbing stuff, and 'Wolf at the Table' is simply disturbing - and heart-felt at once. I loved this book. He is stunningly honest, and his detailing of events through the lens of his child self is poignant and gripping. It really makes you realize the importance of being a good parent and how much influence, good and bad, you can have on your child.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    absolutley amazing!

    This book is absolutley flawless. It's the first Burroughs book I've ever read and I cannot wait to read more. The ending (don't worry, I won't say exactly what happened) had me crying until 20 minutes after I had finished reading it.
    The imagery in the book is amazing; it's as if I was actually there with him, experiencing everything.
    Overall, this book was fantastic and I suggest everyone should read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Good Read

    Whether these events truly happened or not (and I don't have any reason to doubt it), Burroughs writes in his raw, smack-slap, way. More believable than Running with Scissors. Burroughs does not strike me as a likeable fellow but I can relate with his pathos.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    So very sad

    I almost stopped reading your book, I wish that I could have raised you. I am 48 years old,and your story touched my heart. I only wish I could take away your pain. Your parents were so messed up. As a mother I would have held you as much as you needed. As for your father... crazy bastard, Good luck to you, much love, Connie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unnerving

    A friend recommended this book before I was familiar with Burroughs' other work. While I truly enjoy his stories, vaguely similar to David Sedaris, I would rarely consider placing one in my 'favorites' category. This memoir, however, is brilliant and disturbing on a level I find difficult to describe. I can think of very few books I've read that truly alter my emotions in such a horrible way. Don't get me wrong, this is the goal of any great horror story, but this one is set in actual events. I highly recommend, along with 'Running with Scissors.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Where are the jokes?

    Well, they sure aren't here.

    In his latest memoir, Burroughs shows us what it was like to have a father in his life who was not a father.

    Sad, thought provoking, touching.

    And not many jokes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Possibly the best yet!

    I really enjoy Burroughs writing, but this has been one of my favorite by far. He's younger in this book than the others that I've read and as usual, it's touching, frightening and still he finds a way to make you laugh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wolf At the Table is heartbreaking.

    A Wolf At the Table is an autobiography written by Augusten Burroughs. Burroughs writes about his experiences with his father that chill the reader to the bone. I felt like I was running away from an unseen stranger throughout the entire novel. I give it five stars, because most books cannot achieve to be real, terrifying, and heartbreaking at the same time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    Disappointing

    This book wasn't at all good as what I was lead to believe. Was not written all that well and therefore hard to read at times. Felt like more of a chore to read than a choice.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    Another gem from Augusten!

    I am a huge fan and loved the book - read it in just a few hours. After reading the book it's clear why the author struggled with drugs & alchohol in his personal life. I'm sure this was a very difficult book for him to write and I know it took a lot of courage. Now I hope he's FREE. And I thought MY family was dysfunctional!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    I just finished reading A Wolf at the Table. The emotion level o

    I just finished reading A Wolf at the Table. The emotion level of this book is like nothing I have ever read before, to the extent that all I want to do is go find Augustin Burroughs and give him a big hug. The book was so well written, and so rich with raw emotion, that I felt like I saw everything as it was happening. This man is truly a phenomenal writer, and you would never suspect his lack of formal education while reading his work. He is just an extremely gifted writer. I strongly recommend this book, and all of Augusten's books.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    INSPIRING BOOK!

    WOW! You really did it this time Augusten! This IS the greatest memoir I have EVER read. NO JOKE. I could relate to some of his story, so I didnt feel alone. This made me cry.... like REALLY cry, like sobbing. I wish I could have been there to be his older sister, and protect him. *God Bless!*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Great book!

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    A Wolf at the Table

    Very good book - very suspenseful - kept me on the edge of my seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Memorable

    Not too great, but memorable, easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    Good read

    entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Page Turner!!

    In true Augusten Burroughs fashion, the story was captivating despite the difficult content and subject matter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8