Customer Reviews for

A Wolf at the Table: A Memoir of My Father

Average Rating 4
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Emotional Abuse

A Wolf At The Table is the follow-up Memoir to Running with Scissors. A Wolf At The Table tells the story of another type of child abuse. It tells the story of emotional abuse and the effects of it on the adult child and is a great example why a parent should not stay i...
A Wolf At The Table is the follow-up Memoir to Running with Scissors. A Wolf At The Table tells the story of another type of child abuse. It tells the story of emotional abuse and the effects of it on the adult child and is a great example why a parent should not stay in an abusive relationship for the sake of the children. A Wolf At The Table is a must read!

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Long Path To Nowhere

I did not care for this book very much. I thought Running With Scissors was much better in terms of writing and overall entertainment.
This story sort of rambled on through the rather terrible childhood of the author. At the end of it all, I felt pretty depressed and...
I did not care for this book very much. I thought Running With Scissors was much better in terms of writing and overall entertainment.
This story sort of rambled on through the rather terrible childhood of the author. At the end of it all, I felt pretty depressed and confused about the overall message of the work... if there was one.
It took me quite some time to get through this book, as it did not read comfortably. Looking back, the story was rather repetitive and anticlimactic.
It's hard to write a negative review considering the author is relating the very personal tale of his unfortunate childhood... but I just didn't care for it.

posted by jmepitt on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Excellent - but don't expect the usual Burroughs

    Having read all of Augusten Burroughs' books, I was hesitant to read 'Wolf at the Table' after I saw some of the negative reviews. But I stand corrected. I think readers who didn't like this book were expecting more 'Scissors' and funny-disturbing stuff, and 'Wolf at the Table' is simply disturbing - and heart-felt at once. I loved this book. He is stunningly honest, and his detailing of events through the lens of his child self is poignant and gripping. It really makes you realize the importance of being a good parent and how much influence, good and bad, you can have on your child.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    So very sad

    I almost stopped reading your book, I wish that I could have raised you. I am 48 years old,and your story touched my heart. I only wish I could take away your pain. Your parents were so messed up. As a mother I would have held you as much as you needed. As for your father... crazy bastard, Good luck to you, much love, Connie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Where are the jokes?

    Well, they sure aren't here.

    In his latest memoir, Burroughs shows us what it was like to have a father in his life who was not a father.

    Sad, thought provoking, touching.

    And not many jokes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    A Wolf at the Table

    Very good book - very suspenseful - kept me on the edge of my seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Memorable

    Not too great, but memorable, easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    Another Side of Burroughs

    A Wolf at the Table is one of Burroughs's most recent works and it was a nice change of pace after having previously read Dry, another book of his. While Dry is completely different from Burroughs's debut, Running with Scissors, A Wolf at the Table is rather similar in that it is about Burroughs's childhood, which really is the time of his life that is most interesting to read about. This time, however, Burroughs doesn't chronicle his childhood in the comical way that he had done in .Scissors. Instead, he gets in touch with his serious side and tells of his father's unpleasantness. It was kind of refreshing to read this memoir because not only did Burroughs show another side of himself, but also, a lot of the vulgarity found in his previous two memoirs that I read is lacking. In this book, Burroughs shows his wide range as a writer. Four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    I totally recommend- intense and insightful lots of emotions!

    A Wolf at the Table by Augusten Burroughs is a memoir about a boy growing up with the father he didn't exactly dream of. Augusten's sociopathic father doesn't show him the same loving and caring emotions that he tries to give him everyday. He grows up trying to understand why his mom always says that at times they couldn't be at their own home because his father was "dangerous." He talks you through story after story teaching you of his father's not-right personality. He grows up with a rough childhood and suffers serious issues just because his father wasn't like other fathers. A main theme in this book is a physical or emotional "emptiness" created by his father and he relates it to several things throughout the book with really good personification. Another constant reminded theme in this book is the love/hate relationship of the father and son. I liked this book because the writer is such a strong writer and his emotions really hit you hard; making his villain your villain. Augusten has amazing imagery and word choice that inspires you to have a wider vocabulary and use more figurative language. It shows you how much little kids can be affected by certain actions, and how some families have it a lot harder than others. I also had some dislikes to this book because there were some parts that were heartbreakingly sad and it was hard to have hope for him because it only kept getting worse with no real happy endings or anything. This could not exactly have been avoided seeing as it iss his life and all, it's just not usually my typical choice of book. I think people should read this book because you get to first hand experience the hardships of growing up with a parent that is not suitable to live with. Most of us just have normal parents so to meet those who aren't as fortunate it is eye opening to just how hard it is by reading Burroughs touching stories. A Wolf at the Table is a prequel to the bestseller Running with Scissors so I would recommend it if you have been interested or even read Running with Scissors because it's kind of the truth behind his life; the story behind the story. I would also recommend books like To Own a Dragon which is about the struggles of a man growing up without a father, or even a book like Same Kind of different as me which is about a man and his struggles as a slave, because it shows the same idea of how growing up in their unique way made them much different people. Overall, I am glad I picked this book and it has made me realize a lot about families and not all of them are perfect. It was touching and sad, but his detailed recreation of his childhood is vivid and intense with a great writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I can relate to this book very much which could be why i love the book so much however it is a fabulous book in its self. I would definitely recomend reading this book in a heartbeat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    i couldn't imagine...

    ...life if my father were in any way similar to augusten's father. beautifully written book. i never laughed, i cried twice. i was mostly just numb, and by the last page i was changed, i was thankful, i was stronger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3