Customer Reviews for

The Wolf of Wall Street

Average Rating 4
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

So Outrageous I Had To Read It Twice

Jordan Belfort takes the reader on an astonishing, wild ride through one of the most outrageous scandals in recent Wall Street history.

He reveals the life of international jet-setting glamour, power, and dangerous excess.

This is a story of a man who was an almos...
Jordan Belfort takes the reader on an astonishing, wild ride through one of the most outrageous scandals in recent Wall Street history.

He reveals the life of international jet-setting glamour, power, and dangerous excess.

This is a story of a man who was an almost instant millionaire. Unfortunately for the protagonist, everthing begins to unravel just as quickly, from his business life to his friendships and marriage. Jordan barely survived to tell these stories.

Part cautionary tale, part insider exclusive, this memoir is a rather frank examination of power and greed. Some of the detailed excesses are lessons for all readers to take note of.

posted by ToddR on May 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Interesting story if you can get past the self admiration

I will begin this review by saying that the story line is very intriguing. With that being said, Belfort may have been better served to cut this book down to about 300 pages instead of the 519 and perhaps have a real author write it. While I do recoginize that he is a ...
I will begin this review by saying that the story line is very intriguing. With that being said, Belfort may have been better served to cut this book down to about 300 pages instead of the 519 and perhaps have a real author write it. While I do recoginize that he is a great salesman (albeit a scam artist), having to read on every page about how this much cost or how that much costs gets old very quickly. Jordan, we get it, you made ALOT of money. Obscene amounts of money. One can easily ascertain this early on in the book. No need to extend the book by another 200 pages just so that you can drive this point home over, and over, and over. Getting into all the 'business' aspects kept me reading. I will admit that I was impressed with the complexity of his dealings. He truly did have a great mind and used it to his advantage. The one disturbing occurence that continually played out was the fact that he was an absolute horrible husband and father and had the audacity to laugh about it. All in all it was a good read. Despite the unecessary ranting, it was hard to put down. I recommend it but a Pulitzer Prize winner it is not.

posted by Anonymous on March 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    Interesting story if you can get past the self admiration

    I will begin this review by saying that the story line is very intriguing. With that being said, Belfort may have been better served to cut this book down to about 300 pages instead of the 519 and perhaps have a real author write it. While I do recoginize that he is a great salesman (albeit a scam artist), having to read on every page about how this much cost or how that much costs gets old very quickly. Jordan, we get it, you made ALOT of money. Obscene amounts of money. One can easily ascertain this early on in the book. No need to extend the book by another 200 pages just so that you can drive this point home over, and over, and over. Getting into all the 'business' aspects kept me reading. I will admit that I was impressed with the complexity of his dealings. He truly did have a great mind and used it to his advantage. The one disturbing occurence that continually played out was the fact that he was an absolute horrible husband and father and had the audacity to laugh about it. All in all it was a good read. Despite the unecessary ranting, it was hard to put down. I recommend it but a Pulitzer Prize winner it is not.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2007

    i worked there t oo

    the book totally downplayed the rold of jordan's partner danny who ran the firm while jordan was wacked out. businesses are run by functioning people, I worked ther for three years and never met jordan but dealt with danny every day. he was the real wolf...........

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Both the book and the movie were too long. You can only read/see

    Both the book and the movie were too long. You can only read/see so many sexcapades, drug binges, and illegal business dealings before it all starts to sound the same. Overall though, very interesting. I asked on more than one occasion if people really did live like this. Gave a glimpse of a different world that I will never know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Too much B S

    If I never hear the word qualudes again i will be happy . Fun ride but about as believable as the tooth fairy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    M Jerry

    Ho the book is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Repetitive!

    I loved the book through the first half and then found it repetitive in it's story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Gghhwjjbsvckva

    Jghhgjgvmckkv mj

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    AWWWWOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO I must

    AWWWWOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO



    I must confess that “The Wolf of Wall Street” was offensive, opprobrious, deeply deplorable, ham-fisted, tin-eared, climatic, anti-climatic and undeniably FANTASTIC AT EVERY TURN. What a character this Jordan Belfort is. So realistic, so tautly conceived is he, that I’d half-believe he’s as real as the author himself! 

    As the titular character, Mr. Belfort takes the world of stocks and bonds by storm, only to become the subject of a vicious, litigious witch-hunt by the fédéràlés of the US government. 

    I recall that I had a similar run-in with the law back when I wintered in the mystical port of Miami. Having invested a considerable fortune into a small Columbian import business, I was accosted by federal agents whilst en route to Cuba. We were transporting a rare and expensive herbal remedy made from the powdered bones of aboriginals called “cocaine.” The powers that be threw a very real book at me, and that was the last time I invested in anything but reading lights and high-density sluice gates. But that’s neither here nor there. My apologies, fellow Amazonians, I digress.

    If you seek a sweeping tale about the evils of greed, lust and ‘ludes, “The Wolf of Wall Street” more than fills the ticket. After, you might wish to experience mine own take on power and corruption, boldly titled “The Spoils of Babylon,” airing this January in its epic mini-series glory on IFC. Set against the backdrop of every major event in American history (some yet unwritten), “The Spoils of Babylon” is one part tearjerker, two parts jaw-dropper, and all parts mind-blower. Just imagine if “The Wolf of Wall Street” took place in reality and starred the likes of Dirk Snowfield, Lauroeighiya Samcake and the legendary Sir Richard Driftwood. Yes, that Sir Richard Driftwood.


    With great admiration,

    Eric Jonrosh, author of “The Spoils of Babylon,” set to air on IFC this January 9th, 2014

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1