Customer Reviews for

The Wolf of Wall Street

Average Rating 4
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

So Outrageous I Had To Read It Twice

Jordan Belfort takes the reader on an astonishing, wild ride through one of the most outrageous scandals in recent Wall Street history.

He reveals the life of international jet-setting glamour, power, and dangerous excess.

This is a story of a man who was an almos...
Jordan Belfort takes the reader on an astonishing, wild ride through one of the most outrageous scandals in recent Wall Street history.

He reveals the life of international jet-setting glamour, power, and dangerous excess.

This is a story of a man who was an almost instant millionaire. Unfortunately for the protagonist, everthing begins to unravel just as quickly, from his business life to his friendships and marriage. Jordan barely survived to tell these stories.

Part cautionary tale, part insider exclusive, this memoir is a rather frank examination of power and greed. Some of the detailed excesses are lessons for all readers to take note of.

posted by ToddR on May 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Interesting story if you can get past the self admiration

I will begin this review by saying that the story line is very intriguing. With that being said, Belfort may have been better served to cut this book down to about 300 pages instead of the 519 and perhaps have a real author write it. While I do recoginize that he is a ...
I will begin this review by saying that the story line is very intriguing. With that being said, Belfort may have been better served to cut this book down to about 300 pages instead of the 519 and perhaps have a real author write it. While I do recoginize that he is a great salesman (albeit a scam artist), having to read on every page about how this much cost or how that much costs gets old very quickly. Jordan, we get it, you made ALOT of money. Obscene amounts of money. One can easily ascertain this early on in the book. No need to extend the book by another 200 pages just so that you can drive this point home over, and over, and over. Getting into all the 'business' aspects kept me reading. I will admit that I was impressed with the complexity of his dealings. He truly did have a great mind and used it to his advantage. The one disturbing occurence that continually played out was the fact that he was an absolute horrible husband and father and had the audacity to laugh about it. All in all it was a good read. Despite the unecessary ranting, it was hard to put down. I recommend it but a Pulitzer Prize winner it is not.

posted by Anonymous on March 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    So Outrageous I Had To Read It Twice

    Jordan Belfort takes the reader on an astonishing, wild ride through one of the most outrageous scandals in recent Wall Street history.

    He reveals the life of international jet-setting glamour, power, and dangerous excess.

    This is a story of a man who was an almost instant millionaire. Unfortunately for the protagonist, everthing begins to unravel just as quickly, from his business life to his friendships and marriage. Jordan barely survived to tell these stories.

    Part cautionary tale, part insider exclusive, this memoir is a rather frank examination of power and greed. Some of the detailed excesses are lessons for all readers to take note of.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    As a Sales Assistant at Stratton for 6 years, I really enjoyed Jordan's Book. I couldn't put it down and read it in 2 days. There were some gross exaggerations about the Sales Assistants (not all were young blonde, bosomy, sex fiends who dressed in short skirts or made $100K a year) but for the most part everything else that happened in the board room was true.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Over the top, but interesting...

    Let me start by saying, the first line I read in this book was Jordan stating that this is his story "based on his best recollection of the events". Now, anyone that knows anything about this man, knows that he has an ability to talk quick - he's a salesman and it was his job to get this book to sell and get people talking about it, and him again. Someone that stated that he did as many drugs as he says, would NOT remember 3/4 of what he put in this book. That being said, I took it all with a grain of salt and enjoyed it for what it was - bragging and story telling.

    All in all, it kept my interest as an easy read. It gave you a bit of an inside look into what money and greed can do to people and make them think that they are above it all. I knew going into this book that it was most likely exaggerated, so I didn't take it too seriously. I suppose I could best compare it to one of the most ridiculous tabloid stories you would ever read - just a REALLY long one. He could have cut this book down by a couple hundred pages if he didn't talk about his wife's luscious loins every other paragraph.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    Been there, seen that!!

    As a former employee of Stratton Oakmont, I can tell you that it is dead on! Anyone who ever worked there or heard of us would love a sneak peek behind the scenes. Those that didn't, will just be...unable to put it down!! Jordan, as always, a master salesman, has the golden touch!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing that that someone actually lived this life This book re

    Amazing that that someone actually lived this life

    This book revolves around “The Wolf” (Jordan Belfort): An ordinary guy turned manipulative millionaire stockbroker who can take tons upon tons of drugs, spend obscene amounts of money that enable him to do some of the most outrageous things, one of which was the sinking of his 170 foot yacht. He is at the top of his game, having the time of his life, but ultimately his life unravels and comes crashing down. One prevalent theme within this book is his drug abuse, however he uses this addiction and changes it for the better towards the end of the book. This book is very fascinating and makes you want to keep reading. Belfort is very descriptive in his work, but sometimes is a little too descriptive and it is very prolonging to the story. This book is not for every one and it is certainly not for someone who is prude and cant stand countless profanities and sexual content. This book is recommended for someone who is looking for a good read and wants to learn more about the man who succeeded to become “The Wolf of Wall Street” and managed to spend $700,000 on a hotel bill for a few nights. “The Wolf” now has me hooked, so I am going to pick up his sequel: “Catching The Wolf of Wall Street”. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    mina.bulaya@gmail.com

    Add meee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Obscene Excess!

    Loved this book! It's almost unbelievable that any one human being could live such a life of extreme excess. The book flowed so well that I couldn't seem to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Movie

    Looking forward to the movie.. I thought he did a great job writeing the book. It seams he was telling the truth. And he had a wonderful time why it last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    Astonishing Lifestyle

    Original story about the excesses of American Life and Greed on Wall Street Informative book giving insight into the High Life on Wallstreet. Part of the reason the Market crashed like it did. Not for the squeamish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Good read

    Good book well written cant wait to see the movie to compare

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Hilarious. Entertaining.

    If you take this book at face value, it is very entertaining. It dragged at the end but it was worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Dr gonzo of wall street

    Insane story of inside sales tactics rolled into gonzo like biography. I just wish he wrote less about his qualude days an d more about his recovery.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    totally amazing!

    This makes me want to do all sorts of illegal things. Pretty awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!

    I really enjoyed the book. If this guy got away with half the stuff he claims to have gotten away with then it goes to show you what power money can bring. It also shows you that power corrupts just as easily. This guy lost practically everything but was able to survive it all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2