Customer Reviews for

Wolf with Benefits (Pride Stories Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

¿Toni¿ Jean-Louis Parker is an extraordinary young lady with a h

“Toni” Jean-Louis Parker is an extraordinary young lady with a house hold of siblings that are prodigies (every last one of them). She has been helping to manage her siblings training and careers for as long as she can remember but now she is taking a step out on her ow...
“Toni” Jean-Louis Parker is an extraordinary young lady with a house hold of siblings that are prodigies (every last one of them). She has been helping to manage her siblings training and careers for as long as she can remember but now she is taking a step out on her own. She has been offered a job managing the travel and promotions of a highly chaotic ice hockey team. One of her assignments sends her into the heart of bear shifter territory in Siberia and her boss higher Ricky Lee to travel as her security. Did I mention that Toni is a she-jackal and bears hate anything 1/8 dog…

Ricky Lee Reed isn’t looking for anything serious but when he runs into the intriguing little she-jackal during his brother’s hockey practice, his world is about to change. Where that little she-jackal goes, crazy and entertaining things always follow. Ricky just happens to be there most of the time to watch it happens. When Toni suffers from separation anxiety, the slow building friendship becomes something much more. This sexy wolf may have bitten off more than he can chew with this hot little she-jackal but it sure is going to be fun to watch.

This is another hilariously funny story from Shelly Laurenston. I can’t help but laugh out loud at the outrageous antics of these amazing characters from Laurenston imagination. Sometimes I wonder, how does she make this stuff up...but I’m still blown away time and time again. You want a fun, exciting, action packed, crazy shifter story don’t miss Wolf with Benefits. 

This ARC copy of Wolf with Benefits was given to me by Kensington Publishing Group in exchange for a honest review. Publish Date March 26, 2013.

posted by Sailon on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

2 Stars¿An Unexpected Letdown Wolf with Benefits is the eighth

2 Stars…An Unexpected Letdown

Wolf with Benefits is the eighth book in Shelly Laurenston’s hilarious and sexy Pride series. The female and male shifters – sometimes human mates – battle wits, pour on the charm, karaoke, race cars, display peculiar traits (love the bear...
2 Stars…An Unexpected Letdown

Wolf with Benefits is the eighth book in Shelly Laurenston’s hilarious and sexy Pride series. The female and male shifters – sometimes human mates – battle wits, pour on the charm, karaoke, race cars, display peculiar traits (love the bears!), and enjoy rigorous love lives. Set in modern times, the focus is primarily on the romance with an ongoing mystery-suspense involving human/shifter violence. This paranormal romance book has some of the ingredients Laurenston usually uses, but they are very weak. It was not what I expected…at all!

The match-up is between Toni Jean-Louis Parker, a jackal shifter, and Ricky Lee Reed, a wolf shifter and relative of the Smith Pack. In a family of prodigies, Toni is the only sibling of average intelligence. She deftly manages her demanding family’s hectic schedules. Appreciation for her services is rarely given. For the most part, the story focuses on Toni cutting the ‘umbilical cord’ and finding her place in the world. Ricky Lee tags along.

The romance was missing, although there are a few love scenes. The reason for Ricky’s attraction is basic. The simplest conclusion I can make of Toni’s attraction to Ricky Lee is physical proximity. He’s there plus she’s cute pretty much sums up their romance. Their sexy times did not scorch the pages for me; I didn’t find the couple engaging nor did I feel emotionally invested, which I’ve felt toward previous main characters.

Wolf with Benefits is listed as having four hundred pages. It was a struggle at the halfway mark when I realized it wasn’t getting any better. The pacing is slow. The plot is unfocused. Previous characters appear and readers are given their status, mates’ names, Packs’ names, and humorous quotes here and there. The parade of characters felt like filler. Toni’s siblings and secondary characters had little adventures that distracted me from the storylines I tried to follow.

I seem to be in the minority regarding my feelings for this book. I have read and loved other Pride books. I thought this would be a ‘sure thing.’ I was wrong. Maybe you won’t feel that way. Read other reviews! I’ll definitely read the next Shelly Laurenston book with the hope it will be much better and back on track to what I’m used to from this talented author.


ARC courtesy of Kensington via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

posted by AnnaNanner on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    2 Stars¿An Unexpected Letdown Wolf with Benefits is the eighth

    2 Stars…An Unexpected Letdown

    Wolf with Benefits is the eighth book in Shelly Laurenston’s hilarious and sexy Pride series. The female and male shifters – sometimes human mates – battle wits, pour on the charm, karaoke, race cars, display peculiar traits (love the bears!), and enjoy rigorous love lives. Set in modern times, the focus is primarily on the romance with an ongoing mystery-suspense involving human/shifter violence. This paranormal romance book has some of the ingredients Laurenston usually uses, but they are very weak. It was not what I expected…at all!

    The match-up is between Toni Jean-Louis Parker, a jackal shifter, and Ricky Lee Reed, a wolf shifter and relative of the Smith Pack. In a family of prodigies, Toni is the only sibling of average intelligence. She deftly manages her demanding family’s hectic schedules. Appreciation for her services is rarely given. For the most part, the story focuses on Toni cutting the ‘umbilical cord’ and finding her place in the world. Ricky Lee tags along.

    The romance was missing, although there are a few love scenes. The reason for Ricky’s attraction is basic. The simplest conclusion I can make of Toni’s attraction to Ricky Lee is physical proximity. He’s there plus she’s cute pretty much sums up their romance. Their sexy times did not scorch the pages for me; I didn’t find the couple engaging nor did I feel emotionally invested, which I’ve felt toward previous main characters.

    Wolf with Benefits is listed as having four hundred pages. It was a struggle at the halfway mark when I realized it wasn’t getting any better. The pacing is slow. The plot is unfocused. Previous characters appear and readers are given their status, mates’ names, Packs’ names, and humorous quotes here and there. The parade of characters felt like filler. Toni’s siblings and secondary characters had little adventures that distracted me from the storylines I tried to follow.

    I seem to be in the minority regarding my feelings for this book. I have read and loved other Pride books. I thought this would be a ‘sure thing.’ I was wrong. Maybe you won’t feel that way. Read other reviews! I’ll definitely read the next Shelly Laurenston book with the hope it will be much better and back on track to what I’m used to from this talented author.


    ARC courtesy of Kensington via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿Toni¿ Jean-Louis Parker is an extraordinary young lady with a h

    “Toni” Jean-Louis Parker is an extraordinary young lady with a house hold of siblings that are prodigies (every last one of them). She has been helping to manage her siblings training and careers for as long as she can remember but now she is taking a step out on her own. She has been offered a job managing the travel and promotions of a highly chaotic ice hockey team. One of her assignments sends her into the heart of bear shifter territory in Siberia and her boss higher Ricky Lee to travel as her security. Did I mention that Toni is a she-jackal and bears hate anything 1/8 dog…

    Ricky Lee Reed isn’t looking for anything serious but when he runs into the intriguing little she-jackal during his brother’s hockey practice, his world is about to change. Where that little she-jackal goes, crazy and entertaining things always follow. Ricky just happens to be there most of the time to watch it happens. When Toni suffers from separation anxiety, the slow building friendship becomes something much more. This sexy wolf may have bitten off more than he can chew with this hot little she-jackal but it sure is going to be fun to watch.

    This is another hilariously funny story from Shelly Laurenston. I can’t help but laugh out loud at the outrageous antics of these amazing characters from Laurenston imagination. Sometimes I wonder, how does she make this stuff up...but I’m still blown away time and time again. You want a fun, exciting, action packed, crazy shifter story don’t miss Wolf with Benefits. 

    This ARC copy of Wolf with Benefits was given to me by Kensington Publishing Group in exchange for a honest review. Publish Date March 26, 2013.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    I enjoyed this book, the narrative, the witty dialogue, the humo

    I enjoyed this book, the narrative, the witty dialogue, the humor!!!!
    It has everything you love in a good book; great characters and a creative story line.
    This book was laugh out loud funny.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    AWESOME!!!

    How can you not love this book and the whole series?!?!?? The whole Jean-Louise Parker clan is what helps make Toni Toni, add in Ricky Lee Reed and you have yourself one GREAT read from start to finish. You have characters from previous books and the story gets even better because you know more laughter is coming and you do not want to put this book down. I most definitely did not want to(even though I started to fall asleep at 12 am still reading) but it is such a great purchase to make because you will laugh and laugh and if you haven't read any of the previous books in the series you should do so now. Totally AWESOME!!!!! I can't wait for the next pride story to come out. Hopefully it will be about Livy and Vic. A Must Buy!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Disappointing --- I've read all Laurenston books and am always e

    Disappointing --- I've read all Laurenston books and am always excited when a new one comes out. This one was a struggle for me.the plot was weak, it had little to no romance, and I get the feeling Laurenston was trying to beat some record for character count. The entire book was highly unfocused. I will continue to read future books, but before warned, this one is not to her standard.  

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Great

    This book was great. 358 pages of non stop entertainment. You won't be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Another great read.

    I love Shelly Laurenston books. This one doesn't disappoint. Lots of laugh out loud moments and very entertaining. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes stories about shifters. I really liked this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    I think all the Shelly Laurenston books are great, the character

    I think all the Shelly Laurenston books are great, the characters are funny and have individual personalities all their own. I enjoy how all the stories tie together and the plots are not canned to where I know what is going to happen next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    Seemed a tad more laid back than some of the rest of the books i

    Seemed a tad more laid back than some of the rest of the books in the series but was very humorous and loved the jackal family! Would recommend to anyone to read it. Such a great author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    Laurenston is one of the very few authors I will even consider p

    Laurenston is one of the very few authors I will even consider paying more than $5 for an ebook. They're sexy without being pornographic, have great character development and characters you love to love and the repartee between them keeps me laughing out loud throughout. With this book I've read everything she's written and am already feeling the withdrawal waiting for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    Wow I loved this book, (Jackie's and Paul's children all eleven

    Wow I loved this book, (Jackie's and Paul's children all eleven of them).  I loved the visiting old friends, Sara, Angelina
    Miki and Irene and too many to name.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    pride: stormstar i would suggest you not spy on thoses evil cats

    pride: stormstar i would suggest you not spy on thoses evil cats they dont like it and will mess with you and trust me as you body gaurd they are bad news they will impersonate and creat fake cats and then betray you so please for the safety for oyu and my cats DO NOT SPY ON THEM

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    What to say about a Shelly Laurenston book except hyperventilate

    What to say about a Shelly Laurenston book except hyperventilate with laughter, cough up multiple organs and severely dent you spleen hilariousness! Ms. Laurenston shape shifters are unique, kooky, have not families but Prides, Packs and clans of troublemaking, loves a tremendous amount of "PULL THE FIRE ALARM" and have fire extinguishers ready and primed sex! Toni is the only semi-normal kid in her unmarried parents horde of 11 jackals. All are prodigal talents of math, dance, music, art and languages. Toni keeps them on schedule, deals with all problems and is the only person in the family, who can keep the kids from killing one another. Ricky Lee Reed is a calm, laid back and easy going wolf and the exact opposite of Toni. Ricky clings, follows, and is massively entertained by her horde of a family. Toni actually takes a job with the shape shifters NYC hockey team and Ricky becomes her security. Ms. Laurenston has such a talent with one liners like, "birthing cow" and "Are you my daddy?" and her crazy and original cast of animals/characters. Her style of writing and humor are why I keep coming back for the giggles, grins and strange merrymaking stories! I must warn anyone who reads this hilarious book to drink or eat and gather all fire extinguishers around you (to put your book or Kindle's flames out) before you open this kooky, unique and sexy adventure! I give this book my top score of 5 fingers up and 10 toes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    Toni comes from a big family of Jackal shifters. She is the only

    Toni comes from a big family of Jackal shifters. She is the only one of the children who really doesn't have a gift. She is the oldest and tries to keep her siblings in lone and in order. Never really having a chance to be on her own she welcomes the chance to be director of travel for a hockey team. She only has to deal with Ricky Lee the wolf shifter hire to protect her. Ricky Lee is always down for a good time and he would love to have a good time with Toni. They have much to deal with from bear shifting hockey players to humans after Toni's family. The more he is around Toni the more Ricky Lee wants more than just fun with her.




    I have read a few books in this series and enjoyed them all. This one is a great one not really for the romance in it as that just didn't click for me. It was more about all the amazing characters. I liked Ricky Lee and his charm and how he seemed kinda laid back. He has so much more going on than what you see and believe at first. Toni always seemed to feel left out in the gifted department but she is so great at trying to keep everything together. I loved her siblings and anyone who reads this book as well. From the start you see just what a handful they are. Get ready to laugh from the start with them. This book is packed full of laughter and danger at times. All these shifters play a great part in this book. I also like the fact that the shifters don't stick to just being with there kind. Who would think a jackal and a wolf. The author does a good job pairing them. I just didn't connect with them as a couple. I look forward to more in this series and all these characters. If you like a paranormal series that has romance, laughter, danger and so much more give this one a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Book

    Another Great Book Contemporary, Paranormal, New York City & Russia


    Toni Jean-Louis Parker is the responsible oldest sister to a crazy-brilliant clan of jackal siblings. When her family is assigned a slow-talking swift moving predator to keep them safe he has her thinking of cutting loose with some no-commitment, hot and sweaty fun. Though he is starting to get obsessive wolf on her every time he looks at her which is causing its own set of problems for her.

    Ricky Lee Reed had no plans to get serious about anyone. Of course he doesn’t really have any plans at all other than catching whoever is threatening Toni and her family, who is dangerously brilliant. Ricky is finding though the more he sees of Toni the more he wants her and he is one wily wolf that is more than able to handle a sizzling chase. He knows what he has with Toni is worth everything and now he just has to convince Toni of that.


    This is another book in a series that is wonderfully funny with all the interesting characters that populate this world of shape shifters that keep things moving at a fast pace especially with the wonderful sarcasm that abounds throughout the series. With all the crazy characters readers will undoubtedly find at least one that will prove to be a favorite. This is one book that will have readers laughing out loud with the antics that the characters get up to and it will prove to be one book that is extremely difficult to put down once you start it. It is also fun to get updates on past characters and see what is happen in their worlds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    Shelly Laurenston/G.A. Aiken is very talented...issues hot sex a

    Shelly Laurenston/G.A. Aiken is very talented...issues hot sex and multi-pee-in-your-panties humor...but, this book does not do that. I was very disappointed. A weak heroine, whinny brats, irresponsible parents and only 2 sex scenes. All that for 8 bucks. That was 6 dollars too much. I hope the next book in this series is not a disappointment, but more like the others that have been the Laurenston/Aiken trademark. This book was not up to standards...I would suggest skipping this book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Did not like

    Needs more work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    Toni is the oldest of eleven children.  Ten of these children ar

    Toni is the oldest of eleven children.  Ten of these children are prodigies.  They also happen to be shifters. Jackals to be exact.  Toni was responsible for seeing to the schedules of her brothers and sisters. Her parents, also prodigies, were busy with their careers.  Toni meets Ricky Lee Reed, a shifter, a wolf shifter.  He's from Tennessee and as laid back and calm as he can be.  He meets Toni at the Sports Center and his life will never be the same again.  Their introduction comes after Toni's youngest brother, seven, asks Ricky Lee if he's the boys father. Ricky Lee has no idea this is Toni's way of putting men off.  Soon, he'll learn a lot more about this family.  Maybe enough to stay.




         A wonderfully written book with blunt, colorful characters awaits in this one.  Ms Laurenston included humor, southern charm and even some basic fears to make this book a real joy to read.  The family is devoted to each other and you don't see that much in books like this.  I enjoyed how well this book flowed.  Made me wonder how we would react if there were shifters among us now. Could we be accepting or would they be the next minority group given the cold shoulder?  I really did laugh out loud at parts of this book.  To be honest, it could have been my mother's family she wrote about. *grin* I for one can't wait for the next book by Ms Laurenston I get the chance to read.  This is a keeper.




         I found no issues with this one for me.  Some, however, may have problems with some of the blunt language.  Don't let it stop you from reading this one.




          I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because I howled at many parts of this book! *smile*   ~Copy of book provided by author in exchange for a fair review~ 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    Funny story, great characters. I loved it.

    Funny story, great characters. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    Love it!  The Pride Series is one of my go to happy places. I j

    Love it! 

    The Pride Series is one of my go to happy places. I just reread this book this week.  If you have read the series, you should adore this book as many of our favorites waltz through the story but its a lovely little book on its own terms. 




    The romance is between a very laid back wolf shifter and the oldest sibling of the a jackal  shifter family who is very clever.  It is a very naturally evolving love story that showcases a couple who completely accepts each other and is charming. 




    The side plots involve a pile of childern prodigies, a sociopath, and the really fun mystery of just want kind of shifter Toni (the heroine's) best friend is. 




    Laurenston does kids in romances wonderfully because they are really just people with all the quirks. 




    The book is funny, charming, and sexy.  Can't wait to reread it again which I will do as soon as Livvy's story Bite Me is out! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8