Customer Reviews for

Wolf with Benefits (Pride Stories Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

¿Toni¿ Jean-Louis Parker is an extraordinary young lady with a h

“Toni” Jean-Louis Parker is an extraordinary young lady with a house hold of siblings that are prodigies (every last one of them). She has been helping to manage her siblings training and careers for as long as she can remember but now she is taking a step out on her ow...
“Toni” Jean-Louis Parker is an extraordinary young lady with a house hold of siblings that are prodigies (every last one of them). She has been helping to manage her siblings training and careers for as long as she can remember but now she is taking a step out on her own. She has been offered a job managing the travel and promotions of a highly chaotic ice hockey team. One of her assignments sends her into the heart of bear shifter territory in Siberia and her boss higher Ricky Lee to travel as her security. Did I mention that Toni is a she-jackal and bears hate anything 1/8 dog…

Ricky Lee Reed isn’t looking for anything serious but when he runs into the intriguing little she-jackal during his brother’s hockey practice, his world is about to change. Where that little she-jackal goes, crazy and entertaining things always follow. Ricky just happens to be there most of the time to watch it happens. When Toni suffers from separation anxiety, the slow building friendship becomes something much more. This sexy wolf may have bitten off more than he can chew with this hot little she-jackal but it sure is going to be fun to watch.

This is another hilariously funny story from Shelly Laurenston. I can’t help but laugh out loud at the outrageous antics of these amazing characters from Laurenston imagination. Sometimes I wonder, how does she make this stuff up...but I’m still blown away time and time again. You want a fun, exciting, action packed, crazy shifter story don’t miss Wolf with Benefits. 

This ARC copy of Wolf with Benefits was given to me by Kensington Publishing Group in exchange for a honest review. Publish Date March 26, 2013.

posted by Sailon on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

2 Stars¿An Unexpected Letdown Wolf with Benefits is the eighth

2 Stars…An Unexpected Letdown

Wolf with Benefits is the eighth book in Shelly Laurenston’s hilarious and sexy Pride series. The female and male shifters – sometimes human mates – battle wits, pour on the charm, karaoke, race cars, display peculiar traits (love the bear...
2 Stars…An Unexpected Letdown

Wolf with Benefits is the eighth book in Shelly Laurenston’s hilarious and sexy Pride series. The female and male shifters – sometimes human mates – battle wits, pour on the charm, karaoke, race cars, display peculiar traits (love the bears!), and enjoy rigorous love lives. Set in modern times, the focus is primarily on the romance with an ongoing mystery-suspense involving human/shifter violence. This paranormal romance book has some of the ingredients Laurenston usually uses, but they are very weak. It was not what I expected…at all!

The match-up is between Toni Jean-Louis Parker, a jackal shifter, and Ricky Lee Reed, a wolf shifter and relative of the Smith Pack. In a family of prodigies, Toni is the only sibling of average intelligence. She deftly manages her demanding family’s hectic schedules. Appreciation for her services is rarely given. For the most part, the story focuses on Toni cutting the ‘umbilical cord’ and finding her place in the world. Ricky Lee tags along.

The romance was missing, although there are a few love scenes. The reason for Ricky’s attraction is basic. The simplest conclusion I can make of Toni’s attraction to Ricky Lee is physical proximity. He’s there plus she’s cute pretty much sums up their romance. Their sexy times did not scorch the pages for me; I didn’t find the couple engaging nor did I feel emotionally invested, which I’ve felt toward previous main characters.

Wolf with Benefits is listed as having four hundred pages. It was a struggle at the halfway mark when I realized it wasn’t getting any better. The pacing is slow. The plot is unfocused. Previous characters appear and readers are given their status, mates’ names, Packs’ names, and humorous quotes here and there. The parade of characters felt like filler. Toni’s siblings and secondary characters had little adventures that distracted me from the storylines I tried to follow.

I seem to be in the minority regarding my feelings for this book. I have read and loved other Pride books. I thought this would be a ‘sure thing.’ I was wrong. Maybe you won’t feel that way. Read other reviews! I’ll definitely read the next Shelly Laurenston book with the hope it will be much better and back on track to what I’m used to from this talented author.


ARC courtesy of Kensington via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

posted by AnnaNanner on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    Seemed a tad more laid back than some of the rest of the books i

    Seemed a tad more laid back than some of the rest of the books in the series but was very humorous and loved the jackal family! Would recommend to anyone to read it. Such a great author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    Toni comes from a big family of Jackal shifters. She is the only

    Toni comes from a big family of Jackal shifters. She is the only one of the children who really doesn't have a gift. She is the oldest and tries to keep her siblings in lone and in order. Never really having a chance to be on her own she welcomes the chance to be director of travel for a hockey team. She only has to deal with Ricky Lee the wolf shifter hire to protect her. Ricky Lee is always down for a good time and he would love to have a good time with Toni. They have much to deal with from bear shifting hockey players to humans after Toni's family. The more he is around Toni the more Ricky Lee wants more than just fun with her.




    I have read a few books in this series and enjoyed them all. This one is a great one not really for the romance in it as that just didn't click for me. It was more about all the amazing characters. I liked Ricky Lee and his charm and how he seemed kinda laid back. He has so much more going on than what you see and believe at first. Toni always seemed to feel left out in the gifted department but she is so great at trying to keep everything together. I loved her siblings and anyone who reads this book as well. From the start you see just what a handful they are. Get ready to laugh from the start with them. This book is packed full of laughter and danger at times. All these shifters play a great part in this book. I also like the fact that the shifters don't stick to just being with there kind. Who would think a jackal and a wolf. The author does a good job pairing them. I just didn't connect with them as a couple. I look forward to more in this series and all these characters. If you like a paranormal series that has romance, laughter, danger and so much more give this one a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    Love it!  The Pride Series is one of my go to happy places. I j

    Love it! 

    The Pride Series is one of my go to happy places. I just reread this book this week.  If you have read the series, you should adore this book as many of our favorites waltz through the story but its a lovely little book on its own terms. 




    The romance is between a very laid back wolf shifter and the oldest sibling of the a jackal  shifter family who is very clever.  It is a very naturally evolving love story that showcases a couple who completely accepts each other and is charming. 




    The side plots involve a pile of childern prodigies, a sociopath, and the really fun mystery of just want kind of shifter Toni (the heroine's) best friend is. 




    Laurenston does kids in romances wonderfully because they are really just people with all the quirks. 




    The book is funny, charming, and sexy.  Can't wait to reread it again which I will do as soon as Livvy's story Bite Me is out! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Once again Shelly delivers a book with fun characters and lots of laugh out loud moments. Can't get enough of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Shelly Laurenston - Need I say more?

    I love all of Shelly Laurenston's PRIDE Stories Series so when this book finally became available, I bought it immediately. I loved Toni's wacky family and the love story almost took a back seat to everything else that was going on. The issues Toni had in Russia dragged out too long for my liking but in the end, I laughed at how she handled everything. Anyone who reads Shelly Laurenston will want to add this to their PRIDE collection, but don't expect it to be as great as some of the other stories in the series. It's not, but still not bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    I love shelly Laurenston's / A.G Akiens books .  I found the boo

    I love shelly Laurenston's / A.G Akiens books .  I found the book funny and fit nicely with Ricky Lee's personality
     that she set  up in past pride stories. I love that there were cameos from the magnus series and that she finally let us  
     know the sex of Miki and Conall's baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    I love every book in this series. Starting with the Magnus Pack

    I love every book in this series. Starting with the Magnus Pack and continuing into the Pride series. This was a great book and had a lot of what you'd expect for Laurenston. There was action, romance, humor, and more. Though that all being said this was not my favorite of the series. Yet if you are a following of this series it is a must read. Still a great story and hilarious, but I wish there would have been a bit more of the romance story between Toni and Ricky Lee. Of all the books I think this one had the least of the romance story between the main couple. Though I did still love this book though, just wished for a little more of the romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    as simple as i can say this .if you like the other books in this

    as simple as i can say this .if you like the other books in this series and know the characters get this book ,if you wont to laugh your head off get this book..it took me me 2days to read it because i couldnt stop laugh,but true it took away before toni and ricky got together but still it a goooooooooood book .and toni siblings omg to funny between the twins ,freddy and the other.can't wait for the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    True Laurenston!

    It was a great read about a Jackal who has major anxiety but can handle and organize 10 prodegy siblings like an army sergient and a Wolf shifter who is so laid back that he sits and waits for the excitement to come to him. It was so much fun to see all the characters return. I loved the interaction between them. It was histerical, true to Laurenston form. However, the only dissappointment is the romance and passion. I felt is was not enough heat. The characters were great together. He helped her calm down but I just didnt feel any heat. The secondary characters were soooo much more interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    LOL

    I read for entertainment and this book as well as all of her other books do just that! I love it when a line is so funny that I laugh out loud! Please keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blo

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “Wickedly hilarious!” ~Under the Covers

    Warning: Don’t read this book (or any book by Shelly Laurenston, for that matter) while consuming any liquids. The laugh out loud moments you are expected to read will have you choking and spitting said liquids all over yourself.

    I was very excited to read this book because I love the wolves…Remember Ronnie Lee, mate of Brendan Shaw, from book 1 in the series? Well this is finally one of the books of her brothers. Ricky Lee ended up being very different than I was expecting. He was very laid back and casual, in total avoidance of his family. But who could blame him? He’s in New York now hanging around the sports complex where now his brother plays. He also works on contract work with crazy cousin Dee Ann.

    Then we meet the heroine, Toni, and as much as I wanted to love her I can’t say she made much of an impression. She’s very smart and handles her whole family of prodigies, but outside of that I couldn’t really pinpoint her personality. She’s devoted her life to her family. She’s never pursued a career because she’s always been the caretaker of her siblings, and this is not due to her parents not being around, just that her parents are just as genius/scattered brained as her siblings. She’s basically the glue that holds them all together and the motor that keeps them all moving in the right direction. And I found that, at least for a huge part of this book, she couldn’t break out of that and find herself.

    The romance between her and Ricky Lee is slow and he approaches her with as much caution as any prey, without wanting to startle her. A lot less animal magnetism than I’m used to from the wolves in this series! I wanted some RAWRRRRRR!

    However, this book was extremely funny. Funnier than even some of the previous books in the series. If you are looking for comedic relief, you have to read this book! Wickedly hilarious!

    You would think by all my complaints that I didn’t enjoy this, but I did. I always enjoy being in this world and seeing these characters. And we do get to see some of our old and favorites. In general, though, I think the funny overpowered the book. It made the actual plot seem a bit scattered as I sometimes forgot what the main story was about and it overpowered the romance to some extent.

    Now I do have two shifters that I’m looking forward to…a lot…. a sexy syberian hybrid and Ricky Lee’s brother.

    Ohhhhh and …. Novikov rocks, handwritten schedules and everything!

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    As always, I am a fan. Really I am. Laurenston¿s novels have

    As always, I am a fan. Really I am. Laurenston’s novels have been first on my reading lists since I read the Magnus Pack series. However, it seems that there has been more of a shift in her novels. I would have characterized her first books as romantica, a merged genre where the sex is a little hotter than the norm but not in the “OMG he is doing what?!” stage of erotica. But her last books have been more romantic fiction than romance. Don’t think I am complaining ! As I said, I am a fan always. Her books make me laugh out loud at the jokes .. But really, over two hundred pages for the main characters to shed the clothes?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    kc5051

    349 pages. As usual of Shelly Laurenston books it was it was made me laugh. As always she had a lot of her charactors from her other Pride Stories in this book. I will definitely buy the next book she writes in this series..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    4.5 Stars First off.  I do not love this book because my name i

    4.5 Stars

    First off.  I do not love this book because my name is Toni….*smiles*…I love it because it is kick butt funny, has endearing crazy characters and a twisted new plot.  So why wouldn’t I love it!

    Toni may not be a progeny, but there is no one that can manage her family better.  With ten siblings, yes ten, she has her hands full.  As the oldest in this jackal family she tends to ensure the safety, security and all around wellbeing of each and every one of them.  She adores them all and is willing to give up her own happiness to make sure they are happy and well taken care of.  Well about her?  She needs to let go and find happiness, but it might be the hardest and scariest thing she has ever done.

    Ricky Lee is the epitome of laid back.  Don’t underestimate him, but with a rather serious older brother and a prankster younger brother, he tends to be in the middle in most things.  When he first sees Toni’s wild untamed curls all he wants to do is run his hands through them.  The problem is she has little linebackers guarding her and they don’t want his interference.  Ricky Lee is not deterred.  He loves a challenge and he may have just found one in this little she-jackal.

    Once Toni gets the boot out of her home to go find her own life, she is unexpectedly shackled to a persistent wolf.  He fires her up and is unsure what to do about it.  She has stubborn bears to negotiate with, siblings to fret over and danger everywhere she goes.  On second thought, he actually might just be the fix she needs to help calm her down.  Why isn’t it perfect that he is all ready to help her out?  What a prince!

    Toni was an unexpected pleasure.  She’s a character that I think most moms would be able to relate to.  She is the go to person for everything her family needs and is constantly being pulled in every direction.  I loved her.  Ricky Lee is her complete opposite, but exactly what she needs.  Ms. Laurenston did a great job uniting these two.  

    Ms. Laurenston is known for her scorching romance, but in Wolf with Benefits it was late in coming.  On one side I was disappointed, but on the other I enjoyed the journey that these two lovers endured.  My disappointment ended there and trust me, she more than makes up for it.  She brought back a few prior characters, wrote an intriguing plot and once they started burning up the sheets…whoa!  I will have to mention that she wrote some “monsters” that will have you cringing and laughing.  They are bunch of selfish little buggers you want to smack and hug in the same moment.  

    If you like Ms. Laurenston’s work you won’t be disappointed.  She has written a solid book.  From beginning to end, I had a blast.  Fair warning though, this is book #8 in the Pride series.  I think it could be read alone, but to get the full benefit of the humor, history and essence of the novel; I think you shouldn’t jump start with Wolf with Benefits.  I have yet to read one of her books that I couldn’t put down.  Laurenston is pure bliss for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    I really enjoy her stories. I very rarely re--read stories but

    I really enjoy her stories. I very rarely re--read stories but I have read Shelly Laurenston's books in series more than once. I liked that she manages to inter weave the previous characters for her other stories seemlessly . I can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    I enjoyed the book, but felt that not enough was done to show ho

    I enjoyed the book, but felt that not enough was done to show how Toni and Ricky fell for each other. One minute Ricky is infatuated with her while she seems to tolerate him, they sleep together and that's it, they are destined to mated to each other. While the romance kind of fizzled for me I LOVED the whole family thing. All of Toni's family takes advantage of her, but when she leaves you see just how much she loved them and didn't mind them taking advantage. She really is the only one who can keep a handle on them. 

    I was also thoroughly delighted and amused with the tie in to the Magnus pack. Poor Ms. Laurenston is inundated with people wanting her to revisit them, and when she does people don't like it. I loved seeing a snippet of all the past characters and how everyone comes together to help the children.

    I think my favorite new character is a toss up between Freddy and Kyle to be honest. Vic was good too, but come on there are a plethora of names out there, do we really need another that resembles someone else? As for one of the antagonists of the book, Delilah, we really didn't get to understand why she did what she did. Yes she is obviously a bad apple, but why? It seemed off considering how close jackals are supposed to be to their families, but que sera sera. I did not mind that Toni and Livy picked on Blayne a bit. She is a little annoying. Blayne takes it upon herself to try and change anyone that she thinks isn't living the way they should. She needs to back off a bit and learn to respect others (poor Cherise). This was by no means the best of the series (and I am hard pressed  to pick my absolute favorite), but it was a breath of fresh air. THe female while a bit Mary Sue was different from the other heroines and she ended up being a bit more memorable to me. It is also no the worst that she has written (the worst is in her dragon kin series which is a great series).

    The book is definitely one fans should read, and I am very impatient for her next installment. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    Laurenston has a great sense of humour and indeed I found myself

    Laurenston has a great sense of humour and indeed I found myself chuckling on more than one occasion whilst reading this.
    Now I have to mention something that really interrupted the flow of both the book and my reading. The names of the characters in the Reed family were so similar that I had to think about which character it was before completing each sentence.
    Ricky Lee, Rory Lee, Reece Lee and Ronnie Lee. It was really annoying. In fact at one point I felt as if I was being transported to Walton mountain for a nightly round of 'Goodnight John-Boy, Goodnight Mary Ellen' and that is without mentioning all the extensively hyphenated names or the use of first, middle and doublebarred names when referring to a character. Way over the top.
    The other thing I felt that took away from the story was the fact the author seemed to slip into teen conversation mode a lot. No thirty year old I know has a convo such as 'You're stupid. No, you're stupid. Well you're a stupid head.'
    I mean come on now, these are fully grown shifter adults with careers. They wouldn't and shouldn't be speaking to each other like an episode of ICarly.
    Aside from that this was a really entertaining supernatural story with plenty of wit, romance, snark, violence and a never ending supply of obnoxious kids.
    Oh and lest I forget I think Blayne needs to show Toni how gnarly she can be. I know I wouldn't put up with that kind of disrespect.
    I received a free copy of this book via NetGalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Anonymous

    Love this author. She never fails to make me laugh. This one is a little less raw sexually but still insanely funny, well written, and insightful--in an outrageous sort of way. I think if you're new to her work you'll like this book better if you read her earlier books first since it is full of recurring characters, it helps to know their back stories. Be warned once you get hooked you'll read every word she writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2