Customer Reviews for

The Wolf's Hour

Average Rating 5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    My favorite!

    I bought this book when I was in high school to bring along on a hunting trip with my father. I wore my copy out. Twice in one week and several chapters over and over. I found another copy at a thrift store last year and bought it because it is so rare to find a hard copy anywhere. Look on ebay. They are going for anywhere up to several hundred hundred dollars. Now I have a digital copy to read any time.

    I have read other books by Robert McCammon. None have appealed to me like this one. However, the Matthew Corbett series is excellent. Speaks the Nightbird reads smoothly.

    McCammon has an amazing ability to paint images of his characters in the readers' minds. This trait makes character development a joy throughout the read. Read this one. Then move on to his other books. McCammon never fails to leave the reader hungry for more.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    James Bond meets the Werewolf.

    This book is so full of action, romance and intrigue, you won't want to put it down. The character that McCammon creates is so intriguing, you will never forget him. It tells how he becomes a werewolf and how he becomes a spy during WWII. The book leaves you begging for more of this character. I only wish that McCammon would write a series of books about Michael Gallatin.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Bonnie

    I read this many years ago as well all his books. But as much as i loved his other books , this one has stuck with me for years. And i just bought his sequel. Its out people!!!!!!!!! All his books are fantastic and its a crime his work isnt as available to get. Gotta read swan song again too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Prime example

    This novel is easily one of, if not the best werewolf story in literature. So attached to the characters, I hated for the book to end. Sequel released in 2011!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Great Read!

    Read the actual book, years ago and loved it. If you like Dean Koontz style books, you will most likely love Robert McCammom!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Loved this book

    If you love stories about werewolves, Nazi's, WWII, espionage and love, this is the book for you. It combines the story of how the character became a werewolf and his life with his pack and his life as an alli spy. I could not put the book down. The characters were fully developed and the story captivating. I even went back and reread the last several chapters of the book because it had so captured my imagination. I did not want the story to end. I want more of this character and hear that Rober R McCammon is working on a sequel of short stories. I will definitely buy that book when it comes out. I strongly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    A Very Memorable Book

    I've never read a book twice. I read so many books I often can't remember the title of some of them, and I can't always remember what they're about. I read this book a long time ago, and I've never forgotten who wrote it, or what it's about. I would definitely read this one again if I could put my hands on it. I must have borrowed this book because I keep every book I read, and I can't find it anywhere. If I could find it in any store I would definitely rebuy it. I've read a few of Robert McCammon's other books and it's a shame that he hasn't written anything for a long time. To sum it all up, I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading, regardless of the type of books they usually read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2003

    Another excellent McCammon experience

    In addition to Swan Song, this is another novel that represents McCammon's best work. A unique take on werewolf mythology, the plot revolves around a lycanthropic super-spy who uses his abilities to fight evil nazis and such. James Bond meets Lon Cheney. It also contains quite a few kinky moments some of which border on beastiality! A great summer read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2014

    Excellent writer, excellent story.

    This is my 3rd copy of The Wolf's Hour. I've worn out 2 paperbacks and finally bought the Nook book so that I won't have to worry about replacing it. Robert McCammon write exciting stories. Never a wasted word, never a boring passage. This story of a werewolf's vengeance during the war is a premier story and obviously one of my top ten favorite books. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    Good

    I have enjoyed R. McCammon for many years. I put off this warewolf story and now that I just finished reading am not sure why. McCammon did not disappoint. I would recommend this fantasy story. Good vs. Evil; werewolf vs. Natzi Germany. A bit gruesome sometimes, but to be expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    one of McCammons best

    FANTASTIC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Moonscar

    But she always says stuff like that. With how strict she is you would be surprised that i will be 18 next year.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Karma

    O.o

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Shadowstar

    Shadowstar}•{ Pads to result one.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Wolfscar

    Runs in and lays in her nest sobbing.... < Wolfscar

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Silverwolf

    She purred.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Tigergod

    He turned his face a bright red. He took the leaf and ran as fast as he could to the fith result. :)Tigergod(:

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Gingerwolf

    I looked in. 'I guess this must be where I stay, the Warriors Den,' I thought. I begin making my nest out of moss, and layed down my prize foxed pelt over the bed. I smile and lay down in it to test it. Perfect. 'Well, I guess I'm done here for now.' I padded out.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    WolfClan Territory - Warriors' Den

    ~Wolfstar

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3