Customer Reviews for

Wolfsbane

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Best of the series (so far)

    COULD NOT STOP reading this one. I have really enjoyed all the Discarded Heroes books but this one was "wicked good". Seriously wounded main characters who overcome so much to come into their faith and find peace.

    Ms. Kendig stretches herself and her writing. Not a "typical" Christian fiction read. Easily fits in with mainstream romantic suspense in my opionin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I literally could not put Wolfsbane down!  That is until my husb

    I literally could not put Wolfsbane down!  That is until my husband forced me to go to bed, and then I couldn’t fall asleep because I kept thinking about it and dying to know what was going to happen next.  The characters are so real I feel like I know them.  If you haven’t read any of the Quiet Professionals Series you’ll want to get them all!  In Wolfsbane we learn a lot more about Canyon aka Midas.  This book is so full of twists, turns, and action.  God’s love and forgiveness show through out the story, and the characters aren’t perfect, which is refreshing.  A complete must read!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Brave_Warrior

    Loving it!!!! You are so talented. Don't forget about Ashlyn Ella!!! Daughter of Cinderella. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Diana

    Wow. And I consider myself athletic. (Though compared to the goons in my school, I can run at light speed) Wonderful, as always! Please continue! Part… I don't know what part it is is out at pol! Read it!
    (Did you give up on your TD fanfics?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    GRIMM chapter 10 part 2

    ...Do not associate yourself with anyone from the wizarding army, they are the enemy. Association is punishable by death." <br> I stared at her stricken: Death? <br> Registering my horrified look, she laughed. It was high and sweet like tinkling bells, though it didn't match her personality. "I'm only joking, death is never a punishment, we only kill if our lives hang in the balance. Speaking of lives," she turned back to the chest, "you need to learn how to defend yours." <br> Without further ado, she beckoned Rapunzel and the cat over to her side. The contents of the chest were revealed as she passed a sword to the cat and a deadly looking knife to the young girl. Brandisging a bow and a quiver of arrows for herself she turned to me and spoke a single word. "Watch". <br> She then drew an arrow and shot it into the sky. It curved gracefully in a perfect arc and impaled a frostbitten flower clearly though the center. Without hesitation, she let loose another projectile, which found its mark in the shaft of the other. Her eyes sparkling, she performed feat after feat, each more impressive then the last. She could hit any target, regardless of the distance. <br> When she finally ceased her shooting, Rapunzel took the floor. Thougg seemingly innocent, the young girl was deadly with her weapon. She too could hit any targed that dared get in her way. A whirlwind of ferocity, she performed a dance of throwing and stabbing unil I was amazed beyond belief. <br> As her time came to an end, the cat began. <br> Even with my missing memory, I can honestly say that I had never seen anything like it before. <br> He brandished the sword like an addition to his arm. So fluent and smooth were his motions that I almost believed it was an extra limb. His swordwork was flawless, each thrust and swing perfect. I was breathless with awe when he stopped. <br> "You expect me," I glanced at the weapons, "to be able to do that?" I trained my gaze on Robin, "you're kidding me right?" <br> "Not immediatly," she said, "no one can learn something like that in a few days," she pulled an arrow from the ground, "it took me three weeks to be able to do this." <br> My mouth hung open; I couldn't do that if I had three years. <br> She produced another bow from the chest and handed it to me, "let's get started." <p> End of chapter 10. As you all know (or not) I prewrite the story beford I type it on here. That's why no characters apps have appeared. However, I have been able to work two into the storyline later on and am trying to incorporate more. However, no promises. Merry Christmas! -Frozen_Over

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    S

    Silverstreak pads in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Jake

    Im ere....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Sasha

    How bout lez

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Better than the first two

    Ronie keeps getting better and better with each story. If they decide to make a movie out of the series this is the book they will use. Best one so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    Action packed suspense and romance all rolled into one. This is a wonderful series. Don't miss a one! Ronie is a wonderful writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    I loved this book. Maybe some situations were a bit beyond beli

    I loved this book. Maybe some situations were a bit beyond believable, but it's fiction. I wanted to keep reading to find out exactly how things were going to work out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    This book. This book! Sweet mercy! This book!

    So, I've known since book #1 in the Discarded Heroes series that I had a soft spot for Canyon. There were a couple of scenes in Nightshade where I just really connected with him, so I've been looking forward to Wolfsbane most. And, dude! I thought I loved Ronie's other books. I mean, I DID! But I need a new vocabulary for how much I love this one!!! Wolfsbane just might make it onto my "most favorite books ever" list. It's the best book of the series by far, which is crazy since they're ALL so incredible.

    I totally wanted to flip back and start from the beginning immediately after finishing it. This is the degree to which it rocked my face off. In writing courses, they always say the secret of a good suspense/thriller is asking yourself what the worst possible scenario is and then trying to make THAT worse. Well, Ronie Kendig is the QUEEN of making it worse--I have never read a novel that did a better job of that than Wolfsbane. I was literally screaming "you have got to be kidding me!" Once I was even reading in the waiting room while getting my car fixed, and people were staring at me because I could not stop gasping and cringing.

    Ridiculous! In all the good ways! Stop reading this review and buy this book immediately!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Recommend the entire series.

    Have read the entire series and loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    That one word describes the whole book: AWESOME. Phew, what a gr

    That one word describes the whole book: AWESOME.
    Phew, what a great read! What an action, suspense, adrenaline filled read!
    Everytime I read another book by Ronie Kendig I'm convinced it was her best yet.

    Canyon Metcalfe is a guy I could easily love. Maybe because he's a bit like my husband. :) None of his problems are related to my husband, but the way he handles things is alike, so that tells a lot about Ronie's excellent imagination!

    Danielle Roark was captured, tormented and raped in Venezuela. She escaped with shocking proof that the cruel general that kept her for six months has nuclear weapons, but at home the American government doesn't believe her. She has to go back to that awful place to come up with more proof.

    Canyon's brother rescued Danielle out of the ocean when she escaped Venezuela. He falls in love with Dani, but she's not interested in men... until she meets Canyon. Canyon likes her too, but because of a promise he made to his brother he can't pursue her. Things get complicated when Nightshade is the team that escort Danielle back to Venezuela. Can Canyon live up to that promise?
    Is Nightshade capable to find the proof and keep Danielle save?

    This book is so fast paced that you hardly have time to take a calming breath before the next action.
    Action, adventure, military, suspense and romance lovers - this book is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Keeps you reading!

    I was pleasantly surprised by this whole Discarded Heroes series. Each book is action-packed, suspenseful, exciting. I didn't want to put them down! My only criticism would be that while the action story line was great, the romances were a little too syrupy for me. I'm all for romance mixed with suspense, but at times the love story part was too repetitive. The Christian perspective of the characters was refreshing. Oh that it were so in the real world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Important

    This was set as "next in series" in the discover section of book 1. This is actually book 3. Could someone change this?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Horrifide Expectanxcy

    Great read. Spectacularly exciting. Waiting on the edge of my seat for the third book. Slightly disappointed in the hero & heroine, since they were not examples to follow. Noone is perfect, but they did not act like christians. God was just an afterthought. Notable diversion in hero behavior exhibited in the first two books that made me pause and question my life. Ms. Kendig still has a masterful talent, but I hope it does not get lost in the shuffle of just trying to sell books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Book to be Experienced!

    I was thankful for the review copy of this realistic, thought-provoking, fast-paced novel. It had me look at war in a way I hadn't before.

    It's a gift to be able to write such a compelling, death-defying drama that stirs a reader's emotions deep to the depth of their soul. Ronnie Kendig has this gift and talent. This author had me laugh, cry and glued to the page anticipating the enemies next move. I was instantly wrapped up into her characters and there horrific situation. If this book were a movie I would have covered my eyes in several parts because I was afraid of what would happen next and what I might see. Yes, I'm a chicken! Grin! But since I've read several of Ronnie's books already I knew things wouldn't get too graphic. That was reassuring.

    Ronie Kendig pens an honest portrayal of how disturbing it is to be a female POW. Women face unique challenges to survive. A person never knows what they'll be willing to do to escape. Fear. Hatred. Guilt. Hope. Finally--Peace are all felt. Ronnie takes the reader through a wide range of emotions with her larger than life characters. The rhythm and flow of this suspenseful story-line took the reader from extreme riveting highs, to heart-wrenching moments you'll never forget. This is a book you'll want to experience.

    This author has written a powerful and moving book that transported me to the front lines of war like I've never experienced before. I could feel the intense humidity, hear the explosion of gunfire, see through their night goggles, and hear the intense quiet sounds of the enemy slivering near; it's nothing like you've ever seen or heard before. There is a depth and intensity in the characters that touched me. This is a page-turning action story, with vivid imagery, engaging characters, and a lot of heart. I highly recommend Wolfsbane, It's brilliantly written and an emotionally compelling a book you shouldn't miss!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    God's grace and a roller coaster ride!

    Ah, yes. All is right with the world because Ronie Kendig has another book in her Discarded Heroes Series out! Her style of writing with strong characters, tight plots filled with suspense and danger and lots of drama from the past all rolled into one is so intense that I can hardly put her books down. Wolfsbane doesn't disappoint and all I could think the whole time I am reading it is - how much longer until the next one comes out!!! If you haven't read Ronie Kendig yet then you must dive in now, but start with the first book so you can enjoy the development of her characters as you go!


    I'm going to add a comment regarding some of the controversy around one of the plot lines in this book. Christians aren't perfect. Most of us would like to think we are, but sadly we aren't and we wouldn't need God's grace if we were. This is shown clearly in this particular book and I loved that Ronie stuck her neck out and showed this so well. God's grace will cover a multitude of sins, consequences must still be dealt with but God forgives. I believe this particular storyline will allow some Christians dealing with condemnation to believe this and receive forgiveness for themselves. Kudos to Ronie for her bravery in that area as a writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    A Must READ!!

    This book is amazing!!!!! I would recommend this book and all of her other books to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2