Customer Reviews for

Wolverine's Daughter

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    This delightful coming of age story is told with an understated

    This delightful coming of age story is told with an understated sense of humor and manages to turn many of the conventions of the traditional fantasy on their ear. It’s rare enough to find a strong, self-reliant female main character in fantasy. Durgin not only does a beautiful job of developing Kelyn, she finds humorous ways to show culture clash, and the issues surrounding someone who doesn’t quite fit other people’s expectations.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Not your ordinary Kick-Ass Heroine

    Kelyn is clumsy. Incredibly clumsy. Except when she's not - and when she's not, she's an incredible fighter. And she doesn't know the "why" of either state of being. Maybe she's cursed. Maybe it's the famous warrior father she never met, known only as The Wolverine. What's a girl to do? Go find out, of course.

    Kelyn's journey - quest, really - to find the man who sired her, and the adventures she has along the way is a great, fast, read (fast, because you won't be able to put it down). Durgin has a gift for creating richly layered characters who you can't help but love and root for, as they go over, under or through the many obstacles and trials the author throws their way. Lots of action, great characters, and prose that sparkles with wit and humor.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Classic sword & sorcery adventure!

    This story follows Kelyn, brave warrior of the Keturans as she attempts to find her father, the "Wolverine", and somehow break the curse of clumsiness that has been cast upon her. In order to accomplish this quest, she must leave the rugged mountains where she and her people live and venture to the Outlands and begin her search for her father, whom she's never met. If you're a fan of sword and sorcery stories, then you'll truly enjoy this book. Kelyn's character reminds me of Xena, from the old tv series. She's an excellent warrior who prefers solitude over civilization, yet her quest forces her to venture into several large cities where she experiences first hand the harsh reality that not everyone can be trusted. She is befriended by a group of Traders (reminds me of gypsies) and travels with them to continue her search. I'm not the sort of person who'll give away spoilers, so I won't say what happens next, but I will say that it's definitely worth checking out. A few things. I know one of the major plot points was the curse of clumsiness that has befallen Kelyn, and it was mentioned several times, but not really in that much detail. I would have liked to have seen a little more explanation into the curse, why it was cast upon her, etc. I would have also liked to have seen a little more explanation on how the "Needle" was created, how it was used, how it was used to track them, etc. All in all, a very satisfying story of high adventure. I very easily lost myself in it for a day. Good job, Ms. Durgin!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    Kelyn of Ketura, the daughter of the legendary warrior Wolverine

    Kelyn of Ketura, the daughter of the legendary warrior Wolverine, is on a quest to find her father, who left the mountains he called home, before she was born. After the death of her mother, the local wise-woman tells her to pursue  this search, and by doing so gives her the push to come of age by herself. Surviving all odds against the hostile Keturan mountains, and overcoming her own naïveté and clumsiness, we are allowed to follow and travel with her, to find her father, and ultimately to find her own true self. Although she is angered by the abandonment, the lure of adventure is stronger, and with swords and sorcery we are plunged into a magical fantasy world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Solid, Entertaining Sword and Sorcery

    Durgin's "Wolverine's Daughter" is a fun, exciting sword and sorcery fantasy. Think of it as Conan the Barbarian, but with a female lead. And switching the gender of her main character allows Durgin to undermine quite a few fantasy tropes eg Kelyn wears practical clothing, often goes barefoot, decides for herself when to have sex (rather than be an object of lust for the men around her), and so on. The witch hunt that Kelyn unwittingly stumbles into adds a second layer, allowing Durgin to explore the nature of women's power and how it is too easily distrusted and oppressed by men.

    Highly recommended to fans of Mercedes Lackey. -- lyradora

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Hey

    Is she The Wolvorines daughter? As in Hugh Jackman Wolvorine or not? I'm so confused.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Loved this book couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Must check it out!

    Can not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Great book for young adults and adults both.

    Enjoyable read with good story line. I hope the author continues to develop the characters in more depth and follows the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    NO 16 is right

    She isnt your regular heroine she definetly kicks ass and NO 11 OF COURSE YOU SAY SOMETHING LIKE THAT H8ERS GONNA H8 RIGHT

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    I loce wolverine

    It's an awesome movie and book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Jen

    I knew u were zack. Ellie just followed us to ho.ok up with u.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Woverine

    He ran in and healed her face. Because of me tony. Its all my fault.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Winter

    She looked away. It wasnt you either.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Tony

    Sighed

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Excellent read

    EXCELLENT READ

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Great read

    Will read more from this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Interesting Read

    Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2