Customer Reviews for

Wolves in Chic Clothing

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    As Delicious as a Banana Split Oozing w/ Hot Fudge, Caramel & Butterscotch!

    Wolves in Chic Clothing is as delicious as a banana split oozing w/ hot fudge, caramel & butterscotch!

    Forget Chick Lit, I'm talking juicy Gossip Lit. Yum! Dig in!

    Set against the glittering backdrop of New York City, Karasyov & Kargman co-author a tale dripping w/ wicked goodness.

    Welcome to the lush, decadent society sphere that few live but many dream of making it their own.

    Ahhh, the glitz & glamour of the beautiful people, wrapped in ravishing clothes, dining @ extravagant restaurants, shopping @ posh boutiques & living the moneyed life. *Sigh*.

    Wolves in Chic Clothing's irresistible Julia goes from ingénue to trendsetting sweetheart unexpectedly.

    Genteel Lell Pelham, heiress of Pelham's, leader of the highbred hyenas is about to stroll down the aisle.

    Psst! WHATEVER YOU DO, PLEASE, DO NOT PICTURE PARIS HILTON!

    Yes, polished Lell has landed the "perfect chap" in Willoughby Banks, a man w/wandering eyeballs, a passion for Lell's assets & the determination to ingratiate himself into the blue blood realm.

    The rest of the players have interesting stories that Karasyov & Kargman showcase smoothly.

    Subsequently, Julia realizes that the opulent life of the Big Apple's blooming aristocracy isn't as amazing as it appears.

    Karasyov & Kargman do such an outstanding job w/ narration, you will find yourself not only yearning to live the life of the well-heeled but living it as you turn each scrumptious page!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    I was disappointed

    I enjoy reading chicklit books, but I have to say, this was pretty disappointing. I felt like the authors forgot who the main character was and that the secondary characters were taking over the story. If they wanted to write about Lell and Polly and Hope, they should get their own story I think. I just felt like I didn't even know Julia that well, the "main character". Didn't really care for the way Julia acted towards Lell's husband either. She should have known that was a mistake waiting to happen. Would have preferred if Oscar had played a bigger role in the story. The only reason I gave this book two stars was because I didn't hate it enough to not finish it at all. I kept hoping it would get better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2006

    Give It A Chance

    If you can get past the absolutely ridiculous and cliche dialoge, this is actually a pretty good book. Yes, the plot is as old as they come but for some reason, I still got hooked. It's a great light read, a weekend or beach book when you're just looking for some mindless entertainment. I liken it to a silly movie on Lifetime...yeah, it's dumb and trite but we still watch, no? Give it a chance. These authors tell a great story, but need to show some creativity with dialoge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2006

    so fun!

    a great beach read. buy it today! its great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    To compare it to 'The Devil Wears Prada' is an insult.

    After reading 'The Devil Wears Prada' last summer, I discovered that while the characters in the book are the antithesis of who I am, it makes for some juicy, can't-put-it-down reading. I purchased this book under the pretenses that it was similar. While it made for an easy read, the plot was flimsy, the characters were over the top, there was no real plot resolution (it was sloppily tied up in the last 10 pages or so), and don't even get me started on the number of spelling, grammatical, and punctuation errors. Lines such as ¿`I agree¿, he agreed.¿ would almost fool me into thinking this book was written by a high school freshman. That notion is quickly quashed however when the vocabulary used by the (supposedly) 20-something characters includes ¿rockin robin¿ to describe a piece of jewelry that is cool, or hip. I mean seriously, has anyone used that phrase in the last 20 years? I eventually began to laugh out loud at the absurdity of the writing. An example being the ruggedly handsome Willoughby Banks staring longingly at what was supposed to be (but inevitably wasn¿t) the story¿s heroine, Julia Pearce. Trying to focus on his newspaper, ¿¿the Dow Jones Industrial wasn¿t the only thing that was rising¿¿ I mean COME ON! Normally, I would sum this up to just your average piece of entertainment, trying to piggyback off of the success of other shows, pieces of literature, etc. (i.e. Candace Bushnell and Lauren Weisberger). However I paid $17 for this poorly written copycat, and I would recommend that no one else do the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    Chicklit Comedy

    For all those dreams of the how others live, here is an answer you can live with. Not only do the 'ordinary' survive, they can triumph as well. Enjoyable,quick and a good change of pace from more serious fare. If you are not sure what 'chicklit' is or if you care for it, try this one. It is just the right about of glitz, glamour, snobishness and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    Great light read

    I didn't know what to expect from this book since I hated The Right Address. But this book was great, very entertaining, and a light, quick read. It had the right mix of plot and designer labels, unlike Right Address which was no plot, just designer labels. I highly recommend Wolves....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    GREAT READ!!!!

    This book was a really great, quick read. very funny and entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    Fun and a quick read!

    I loved this book! It was easy to get into and I couldn't put it down once I started! It was chock full of tongue-in-cheek humor (such as the 'absurd causes' mentioned by another reviewer -- they were supposed to be silly!) and jokes at the expense of the selfish, spoiled and completely self-absorbed people the book targets in it's title. Anyone who has experienced the 'Mean Girl' phenomenon exhibited by so many women and cliques in today's society will understand the ring of truth behind the fiction. Plus, the ending is quite rewarding! I would definatly reccomend this book for a beach read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2005

    Chick Lit Ride

    Smart. quick and funny. Just the escape from the bleak headlines of the papers and TV. Pure fun with a good and bad side to choose between. The story is crisp,but has been told before. It is just the tonic for a Spring weekend with dreary skies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2005

    rediculisly boring

    This book was by far PAINFULLY boring!! i am so disappontied..after 167 pages out of 264 I had to put it down..i have never done that..it was completly pointless..i cannot believe it was published!I usually find good in most books but this was so dumb..no point but descriptions of rich clothes and vavatcions and BORING charity functions...(not that i am agaginst charity) but they were ubsurd causes...please don't waste you time or hard earned money on this book..i have piles i wanna read and i wasted so much time on this foolish book. i was skimming it by 120pages b/c it was SO boring.. enough said...people mag picked this as a great summer read..you are better off watching the waves roll in...much more intresting...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1