Customer Reviews for

Woman Power: Transform Your Man, Your Marriage, Your Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    Woman Power: Transform Your Man, Your Marriage, Your Life

    If you are drawn to this book, then you must be interested in ways to improve your marriage or your life. One message that Dr. Laura makes loud and clear is that personal choices have a powerful effect on your daily life. So, why not buy the book and read it with your spouse. You can decide together which areas apply to your situation. You can also use this book to discuss why some of the ideas make you angry while other ideas make sense for YOUR marriage. Accepting another reader's opinion of this book is like asking a neighbor to decide if your marriage is a success or failure.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great companion book.

    After reading The Proper Care and Feeding of Husbands I really wanted to read more Dr. Laura books. It has helped me put on paper my insecurities and areas of future growth.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    Giving up your Woman Power...

    ...would have been a more appropriate title for this book. This companion book to 'Proper Care and Feeding of Husbands' doesn't do well as a stand-alone since one must be familiar with the PCFH in order to grasp the concepts of 'Woman Power'. Briefly, PCFH preaches that women are a lesser being. Without husband and children they are insignificant with nothing to contribute and nothing to gain in the world. Schlessinger does not believe that men and women are equal. She believes men are BETTER. Period. It's okay for a father to hold a full-time job outside of the home and take lengthy trips from home to be with his friends ('guy time') However, it is NOT okay for a wife to do the same. Schlessinger believes that women should focus 150% of their energy and effort toward husband, home and children. She should not have any personal goals until the kids are grown and out of the house. She should not form friendships with other women and she should keep her problems to herself. She should not communicate with her husband since this confuses him so, it's best for her to internalize her frustrations and grit her teeth. As for sex, well, sex is a privilege to be demanded and enjoyed by the husband only. Doesn't matter if the wife wants sex or not. If hubby wants it, he should get it..no matter what. To refuse him, for any reason, is to reject him. And, the male ego being as fragile as Schlessinger says it is, would completely crumble under the weight of said rejection. 'Woman Power' is, by Schlessinger's own description, a companion workbook to PCFH. So, if women aren't sure how to go about being a doormat, 'Woman Power' will work as a hands-on training manual. It's weak, though. Schlessinger leaves plenty of space for the reader to write her own thoughts, but the book provides no guidance toward the objective or desired outcomes. On the plus side, this book does ask women to be more sensitive to the media's treatment of men over the last few decades and such sensitivity, in this humble reader's opinion, is certainly warranted. However, on the negative side, Schlessinger doesn't really honor woman 'power'. In fact, her solution is that all marriages would be happier if women would give up their God given talents and 'power' and just shut up and do as they're told! The rewards for such abdication of power is that hubby might be nice to her. Maybe he won't talk her down to his friends (although it's always been socially acceptable for a man to trash his wife to his friends no matter how wonderful she really is ) Maybe he'll remember an anniversary or birthday (although wifey shouldn't get upset if he doesn't because he shows his love in so many other ways such as keeping a job or mowing the lawn). 'Woman Power' enforces a notion that a woman's power lies in abdicating her dreams, goals, ideas and opinions in deferrence to her husband. Treat him like he's a king and he'll treat her like she is a ...uh, good subject to rule over. If you, as a woman, want to take total responsibility for the happiness of both people in your marriage ( be warned that, statistically, the odds for success are against you), then PCFH and Woman Power are definitely for you. If, on the other hand, you are a woman who believes that, as a fully functioning human being, you are valuable, intelligent, capable and entitled to the same chance at self-fulfillment and happiness as your male counterpart, you may want to pass on both of these reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    Woman Power: Transform Your Man, Your Marriage, Your Life

    My wife and I have always treated each other with the kind of love and respect that Dr. Laura describes in this book and I can definitely say that I am happily married. We have read the book together and agree that we know other couples who have become trapped in a competitive, no win game of one-upmanship. The suggestions especially made a difference when I was downsized from my job. My wife handled the financial burdens and always offered a smile, a kiss and words of encouragement while I rediscovered my skills, went on countless interviews and found a new job that I enjoy. I can't tell you how good it makes me feel and how glad I am to have a wife who is strong enough and independent enough to own her power. This isn't a book about men versus women; it's a guide to make both partners happier. Who can argue with that?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    As a 52 year old masters degree educated executive I am buying D

    As a 52 year old masters degree educated executive I am buying Dr Laura’s the Care and Feeding of Marriage, Husbands and Women Power for my niece’s wedding gift. These books teach you to treat your husband as a man and not your girlfriend, and to use your feminine wiles instead of male directness to get along with him better. Typically men marry women because they are attracted to femininity. If he wanted a guy he’d be at the game, gym or a gay bar. Femininity works. Even at age 50 and 244 pounds, or dirty from the dog park or gym, men love me! In rebuke to those reviews that complain of women being exploited by being married to egotistical pigs, Dr Laura said that these books only apply to good husbands that women want to get along better with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1