Customer Reviews for

The Woman Upstairs

Average Rating 3
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

This is a book that made me ponder about the things that are imp

This is a book that made me ponder about the things that are important. Nora is a character that you can relate to (even if you don't have a budding artist inside you). 
The themes are contemporary, but not cliched. The writing is amazing. Not sure what the one reviewer...
This is a book that made me ponder about the things that are important. Nora is a character that you can relate to (even if you don't have a budding artist inside you). 
The themes are contemporary, but not cliched. The writing is amazing. Not sure what the one reviewer meant about pedantic--because it is exactly the opposite of that. 
So sad to see this book with a 3 stars because of it. I'm a librarian and I know what I'm talking about. 

posted by Mamma_Librarian on May 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

 This is a depressing tale of a disturbed middle aged woman who

 This is a depressing tale of a disturbed middle aged woman who whines.The  tempo is like wading through mud and as she slogs
along she brings up her mothers death in almost every chapter and you want to shake her out of her past.It is a tedious book that cries out
.&qu...
 This is a depressing tale of a disturbed middle aged woman who whines.The  tempo is like wading through mud and as she slogs
along she brings up her mothers death in almost every chapter and you want to shake her out of her past.It is a tedious book that cries out
."let it end".Forget it.
l

l

posted by 3274574 on May 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a book that made me ponder about the things that are imp

    This is a book that made me ponder about the things that are important. Nora is a character that you can relate to (even if you don't have a budding artist inside you). 
    The themes are contemporary, but not cliched. The writing is amazing. Not sure what the one reviewer meant about pedantic--because it is exactly the opposite of that. 
    So sad to see this book with a 3 stars because of it. I'm a librarian and I know what I'm talking about. 

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

     This is a depressing tale of a disturbed middle aged woman who

     This is a depressing tale of a disturbed middle aged woman who whines.The  tempo is like wading through mud and as she slogs
    along she brings up her mothers death in almost every chapter and you want to shake her out of her past.It is a tedious book that cries out
    ."let it end".Forget it.
    l

    l

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Very engaging

    Funny, angry, intense---riveting!
    And with a most natural-sounding writing style. The sentences flow like sweet water.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Thought provoking

    This book was not intended to be "entertaining". Those who thought so missed the point. It was a character study of the type of person we all know, funtioning moderately well on the outside but filed with regret and both saddness and anger on the inside. It is about relationships, hope, trust, betrayal and striving versus resignation. It may be adowner but is very powerful and may cause one to reexamine his/her own relationships and goals. For those who want to read something of substance about the human conditon, this an excellent read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    A good read but not as good as I had hoped

    I'm not sure if I would recommend this book to my friends or not. It is a book that will capture your attention with her anger in the beginning of the book. However the woman I met in the beginning of the book was not at all the woman who remained throughout the telling of her story. Her anger didn't strike a balance with the ending. I really did think we were reading about two very different people.

    Now that I'm sitting here thinking about a book that I read maybe a month ago I am finding some other things that didn't add up with the character the author introduced us to.

    It is not a bad read but it isn't a great read. I kept looking for that woman to return. Even as the book ended I waited for that woman. She was something special.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Why the great reviews?

    I want to feel--FEEL--when I am reading a novel. I am prepared to dislike a character (Olive Kitteridge, anyone?) and still love the book. The Woman Upstairs told me a great deal about what Nora was feeling, but never did I join her in that process of emotion. Funny, because I can totally relate to the love the character would have for all three of the Shahids. And betrayal? After attaching her "reason to live" to these people, Nora betrayed herself over and over again. Not a message inspiring the reader to live for herself, follow her own passion, be proud--at whatever age, stage in life we are.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Don't waste you time or money!

    This is most definitely the worst book I have ever read...and I read a lot! Boring, senseless, pointless, weird, the list could go on and on. Do yourself a favor and don't bother reading it! I would have given it "zero stars" had I been able to, but I had t ok give it at least one star to print this WARNING LABEL! ;)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Forget It

    I read a lot and it took so much control for me not to just throw this book away. I kept waiting for it to get better it never did. Waste of money

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Amazing psychological narrative!

    I thought this book captured so many emotions from disturbing to humorous. Rarely is an author able to probe the depths of a character's psyche in the way Massud accomplishes with Nora. A truly well told tale spun from the innermost thoughts of a middle-aged woman seeking to find meaning in her life. Excellent read. I cannot understand the negative reviews, as I was totally mesmerized!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    The most painfully irritating book I have ever read

    If annoying the reader is the goal of a good author, then this book should be elible for a Nobel prize. I have never reviewed a book, have never been so compelled to do so. The main character hates her past, hates herself, hates the world, has weird political views, hates America, hates her colleagues, hates her family, and on and on - she just hates and wants her hate to be exposed and heard. If reading about someone's hate and anger is entertaining to you, then by all means, read this book. For me, life is too short, and such ugliness and narcissism is frustrating. Who cares what this character thinks? I am happy for Mama Librarian that this was a literary work of art, but for those of us who like to be entertained when we read (and also know what we are talking about), and not engage in a psychological study of a mundane, yet hideous and narcissistic lunatic, then this book is a waste of time.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    This book was awful, plain and simple.  Boring, mundane, and abs

    This book was awful, plain and simple.  Boring, mundane, and absolutely mind numbing story that ultimately went absolutely nowhere.  You suffer through this long, tedious, overly drawn out story told in the first person by one of the single worst literary characters ever written.  You go through all of that knowing that this story must be going somewhere and it never does.  The so called climax comes in the very last chapter and is completely lackluster at best.  This book is definitely in the top five worst I have ever had the displeasure of reading .  My recommendation is to not waste the time or the money, it is not worth either.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Could be the worst book I've ever read

    If you have lived in a box your whole life and have never had contact with another human then maybe you might find.something interesting.in this book. The biggest waste of my time EVER! All the positive editorial reviews have me stumped. Did the author have something on all these people that could ruin their lives unless they gave this piece of crap a good review? Seems possible. Do not waste your time! Go stare at a wall for a day or two, it would be more interesting than reading The Woman Upstairs

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    I'd pass on this book

    Did not care for this book. Neither the characters or the storyline were interesting. Read this for my book club and I was glad when I was done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Ugh!!! Awful!!!

    80 pages in and nothing interesting happened to hold my interest What a waste of 80 pages AND my time :(

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    One of the worst books I ever (tried) to read. Awful.

    One of the worst books I ever (tried) to read. Awful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Didn'a pedantic writing style

    Didn'a pedantic writing style

    1 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Very disapointing

    No conclusion to a story with a main character who i disliked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    To kat

    So lets have sex you start....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Boring, depressing, and overwhelmingly deary, with a completely

    Boring, depressing, and overwhelmingly deary, with a completely unlikable main character. If this book were a color, it would be black. Do not bother with this one..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Not a book I would recommend

    Story is much different than I expected. Introspection was laborious and boring so lost interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3