Customer Reviews for

The Woman Warrior: Memoirs of a Girlhood Among Ghosts

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2005

    Disturbingly Touching

    No matter the individual this account of women stuck between a male dominated society that was China in the 19-20th centuries and its antithesis, the United States, this book will draw tears from your eyes. Being a male who is not trapped between two worlds I still was inclined to mourn for the events of this book. The segment with the Drowning Woman is especially difficult to get through. Read and learn.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    Great book

    I was required to read this book for my AP English Course. This book caught my attention right away when I read the synopsis, however the book exceeded my expectations. I love the author's fusion of Traditional Chinese culture with that of American culture. The different expectations of her family, teachers, and classmates make it easy for anybody to relate to the experiences in the book. I would recommend this book to ANYONE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Hawk

    Gen 1- Firestar Gen 2- Brambleclaw Gen 3- Jayfeather Gen 4- Dovewing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Lily

    Mine are...
    Firestar :)
    Brambleclaw
    Honeyfern
    Foxleap

    Which are your top seven favorite Warriors books? Mine are...
    SkyClan's Destiny
    Crookedstar's Promise
    Sunset
    The Sight
    Bluestar's Prophecy
    Dawn
    The Darkest Hour

    Least favorite seven?? (least favorite at the bottom) Mine are...
    Long Shadows
    The Last Hope
    The Forgotten Warrior
    Sunrise
    Night Whispers
    Sign of the Moon

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I read this book for my summer reading AP English course, and I loved it. I read it in the first two days. It is very well written. I love how the details make you feel like you were there. Amazing book. It is a Must read, I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book! A must read!

    Woman Warrior is an inspiring memoir of Maxine Kingston's life in America. This memoir is about women in Kingston's life that have impacted her significantly. Kingston shows some Chinese culture and mixes it with today's American society. Females in this society are looked down upon and are a disgrace to parents,but The women in this story show how strong and successful women can be. Kingston's determination to be a strong, brave, and independent woman warrior is inspiring and incredible. The fictional parts in this memoir almost make you forget that Woman Warrior is an autobiography. Woman Warrior has really helped me appreciate my culture and also given me a new respect for all the things that my mom has done to stay in touch with her heritage. I used to get annoyed with my mother because she always told me that I needed to learn more about my Chinese heritage, but after reading this book I have an understanding of some of the things she has been through. The hardships that these women go through to gain self-confidence and respect is incredibly inspiring. Something I dislike about Woman warrior was the way Kingston transitioned from the story of Fa Mu Lan to her life in America, but I loved the story of Fa Mu Lan. The adventure in "White Tiger" is phenomenal and makes you feel like you are there with Fa Mu Lan. I strongly recommend this book to women everywhere especially Chinese-American women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    Feminism and Rebellion Electrifies All Readers!

    Packed with disgrace, rebellion, corruption, and hope, this novel converts a reader's soul into an understanding one. The fight for feminism and a clear vision of the world is discernible. The fear of being haunted by abandonment transforms into a phase of independence and empowerment. By incorporating both fiction and nonfiction into this marvelous piece, Kingston contrasts life in the older society of China with life as a maturing Chinese-American woman. Her tone of "irreconcilable" sends a tingle down spines. It is arduous to confront tradition, while accepting the concept of change. Men are hardly mentioned throughout the entire novel, since Kingston explicates that restrictions were made under the roof of a husband. Isolation may not have been the best thing, but independence was the only way to explore the depths of wisdom. Being family-orientated, brave, and persistent are few of the characteristics Kingston, her mother, and Fa Mu Lan obtain(ed). The auspiciousness of the novel teaches many women to not suppress any feelings or thoughts. Kingston's writing style was infinitely passionate, though is not meant to be given as a Christmas gift. The theme of silence, potency, and role of women in the Chinese culture is obviously present. For anyone looking for inspiration and/or encouragement, read Maxine Hong Kingston's "The Woman Warrior -Memoirs of a Girlhood Among Ghosts".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2000

    I devoured this book

    if you liked 'The Joy Luck Club' you'll love this book. I devoured this book. The minute I got it I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    Crossing the Line

    The Woman Warrior, by Maxine Hong Kingston, captures readers with her own interpretation of what it was like to grow up as a female Chinese American. As a little girl, she came to America with her family. Despite being in a new country, she had to deal with the old traditions from her homeland. Kingston hears different legends which she pieces together to create her woman warrior. It becomes her source of strength in a society that rejected both her sex as well as her race. The book, divided into five interwoven stories, is at times confusing as it jumps around. Nevertheless she does a great job explaining her life while growing up. The first story, called 'No Name Woman,' tells of her paternal aunt who bears a child out of wedlock and is harried by the villagers and by her family into drowning herself. The family now punishes this taboo-breaker by never speaking about her and by denying her name. However, Kingston breaks the family silence by writing about this rebel whom she calls 'my forebear.' The next story is called 'White Tigers.' It is a myth about a heroine named Fa Mu Lan, who fights in place of her father and saves her village. This story became the Disney movie, Mulan. 'Sharman' is a story of Kingston's mother. It explores what it was like to study as a woman to become a doctor in China. 'At the Western Palace' is about Kingston's aunt who comes to America and discovers that her husband has remarried in America. Finally, the last story, 'A Song for a Barbarian Reed Pipe' is about Kingston's own experience in America when she first arrived. She explains what it was like to be a newcomer in a strange culture. Kingston constantly mentions that her friends and she are ghosts because they are American. All of the people who surround her family are ghosts, except for the Chinese people who live on the Gold Mountain, a section of Chinatown in San Francisco. Kingston feels like a ghost herself, ' ¿. We had been born among ghosts, were taught by ghosts, and were ourselves ghost-like. The Americans call us a kind of ghosts' (p.183). The interpretation of what ghosts mean in this book is difficult to figure out. It could show how some people view a person from a different culture with ignorance as if she doesn't exist. Kingston's The Woman Warrior has some similarities with The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan. First of all, both stories are written by Chinese American authors about their cultural heritage. Both novels deal with major concerns faced by Chinese American women. Living with their traditional culture in American society, Chinese-American women suffer problems of cultural conflicts. However, there are differences that make each work distinct. The Joy Luck Club is fiction and is not personal. It is also more likely to be read for pleasure. The Woman Warrior portrays a first hand view of the cultural differences between the United States and China. Also, Kingston succeeds in combining her emotions with her experiences. The Woman Warrior is a fascinating book. One of the most amazing aspects of this book is Kingston's ability to show how silence is a form of communication and how it shaped her being. Her mother tells her to be silent, yet she goes against her cultural standards by talking about her aunt. This act of will on Kingston's part offers the readers her ancestry. The expectation of silence can be simplified into a symbol of oppression. As a Korean-American, I felt the emotions and understood how Kingston felt for being a stranger to a new culture. Her internal struggle to fit into two different societies is difficult. I personally recommend this book to anyone interested in reading about the experience of one Chinese-American woman. It is not the definitive story of Chinese-American women's experience, but it is a very vivid and well-written account of one woman's life. Pg. 209. Published in the United States by Random House, Inc., New York

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1