Customer Reviews for

The Woman Who Rides Like a Man (Song of the Lioness Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(171)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 279 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Woman who rides like a man

    In book three of the Song of the Lioness series, Alanna has just received her Knight's shield and is anxious to be off on an adventure of her own making. Accompanied by the steady Coram, who trained her as a young page, Alanna feels ready for any eventuality. Heading southward, Alanna and Coram are attacked by murderous desert dwellers and are eventually rescued by the equally enigmatic Bazhir people who offer her two options: fight one of their own warriors and join the tribe or be killed. Wisely, Alanna fights and awes group with her fighting skills and compassion - except for a notable few members of the Bloody Hawk tribe. Despite all the tradition and prejudice against women, Alanna is slowing welcomed by the group, eventually becoming the tribe's newest shaman and training three youngsters to carry on her in place.

    Even though she has escaped the confines of palace life, Alanna is confronted with the reality of determining her relationship with Prince Jonathan while the ever comforting presence of George, the King of the Thieves, silently keeps watch over her. All of Alanna's friends are wonderful but George has always been a standout for me. This book finally showed a little more personality in Jonathan and, for good or bad, made for a more interesting character.

    Wherever she goes, Alanna draws attention. It's probably the whole red hair, purple eyes, warrior maiden thing she has going on but it really works for her. I'd probably stop in my tracks if she crossed my way too. That said, I love how she is constantly faced with difficult challenges where there really is no easy answer. Alanna faces each situation with maturity and intelligence that I can't help but admire. But above all, she is loyal to her friends and to the vows she made as a knight and it shows in everything she does. I am so enjoying this series and I can't wait to see what is up next for Alanna in the concluding volume, Lioness Rampant.
    seemichelleread.blogspot.com

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    readaholic

    I absolutly LOVE this series!!! I'm totally buying every book that is related to the it!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Amazing!!!!!

    This series is my most favorite series EVER!!! Tamora Pierce is a awesome and creative author. this was the first series by her that i had ever read, and from the first page i was hooked and have been hooked on fantasy ever sence. i HIGHLY reccommend this series to anyone who wants a stay-up-to-midnight until you finish kind of book.!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2006

    This Book Rocked!

    Alanna is seekig adventure when she is unexpectedly captured by the Bazhir. Alanna's adventure continues. This book was so awesome, I recomend it to everyone who loves Tamora Pierce.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Why do haters gotta hate, i love these books

    These books are amazing and i highly recomend them but my only problem is that i read them too fast but that would also a be a reason to recomend it but it was exciting and great to be able to know what was on every characters minds every once and a while it was exciting and secretive so you get even more interested i highly advuse reading this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Reader

    Love the series and this book! Would recomend it to anyone who loves a kick but heroin that's easy to fall in love with

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Well, that was frustrating.

    I already have a dislike for such short books but to end it like THAT?! There's no ending! Nothing was resolved! Hopefully the next one makes up for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Awsome read

    THIS IS A GOOD BOOK P'S i want alana to go with George not jonathan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    A nice read BUT.........

    I don't think her morals were the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Awesome book

    Anonymous

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Loved in high school

    Favorite comming of age tale

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    GDFDGVJCHG

    Cyhujcedtvrxr maybe!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    Love this series

    I have loved this series ever since I was in jr. high. I borrowed them from a friend at the time, but I'm finally glad to have my own set. I don't like the new cover art, and that's what BAM only sells now. It's hard to find this cover anymore in stores, unless it's used. So I was very glad I was still able to get these online through B&N.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    To: the people who put the editoral reviews on here

    You know that some of us are actually READING the book, and hearing about how the person on tape/CD narrates SOOO well doesn't help us decide whether to buy the book, right?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Okay

    Okay

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    The woman who rides like a man

    Intersting exiting and roantic.This book the therd of the serise will make you want to raed it agin

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    I was a little disappointed that Jonathan and George weren't in this one more, but I still liked it the same as the others. I think because I'm listening to the audio of these (and therefor don't have a visual of when I'm nearing the end) I always feel like they end a little abruptly. This one in particular was a little less eventful than the other books in the series, but it also made sense for Alanna to have some down time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    GREAT

    Awesome this is the best series i've ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    outstanding.

    I love this book and the rest of the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    Rushed and Not Realistic

    The first book was a great piece to read but this just flunked. It felt like the book was rushing since about 2 years of her life was crowded into 1 chapter. Issues like sex, kissing, and mainly all the big events in a life in this book felt like it wasn't detailed enough. I know it's a teen novel but give a break! Most children know what sex is by the time they reach 3rd grade.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 279 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14