BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Woman Who Rides Like a Man

Average Rating 4.5
( 279 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Well, that was frustrating.

    I already have a dislike for such short books but to end it like THAT?! There's no ending! Nothing was resolved! Hopefully the next one makes up for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    A nice read BUT.........

    I don't think her morals were the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Okay

    Okay

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    I was a little disappointed that Jonathan and George weren't in this one more, but I still liked it the same as the others. I think because I'm listening to the audio of these (and therefor don't have a visual of when I'm nearing the end) I always feel like they end a little abruptly. This one in particular was a little less eventful than the other books in the series, but it also made sense for Alanna to have some down time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    An OK Book

    Not as good as I thought it would be. Kind of boring. You should still read it though, because you might have different tastes than I do. Also read the rest of the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2002

    Ummm...

    I dont know what to say except that it was plain boring. Some people may have liked it but doesnt it seem kind of weird? After alll the stuff she did? And I hated George from the beginning. Dont ask me why. Everyone likes him and the Prince sounds more honest and stuff.And I thought Alanna was going to do great deeds-I see nothing great about being a shaman. I thought unlike most authers T. Pierce would stick to her real story but nooo...Oh Well... Read only the first 2 books if youre going to read this serie thingie. This and the 4th one ruins the story if you are like me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2000

    It made me cry!

    I found this book very dissappointing! It was a little on the boring side, I wish it had taken place in Corus! Also, Alanna left Jon! I cried! Ok, I'm not that bad, but they better get back together, or it will no longer be good movie material!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2000

    Writer's block perhaps?

    As a vived fan of Tamora I couldn't wait to read TWWRLAM (The Woman Who Rides Like a Man) But as I got into it I found it a tad bit boring. One word......... Bazhir. It didn't really interest me to find out about the tribe and I wished she would have left and gone back to Corus sooner, I might have enjoyed the book more. Even though I will give her some credit, I was VERY happy to find Alanna leaving Jon for George. If it wasn't for that i might not have read the book more than once. Still I think Tamora can do better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 1999

    Oh NO!

    Don't get me wrong, I LOVE this series, but in my opinion this book was not one of Ms. Pierce's triumph's. Though the characters were pretty much the same and many important events took place, the story itself in this book was lacking, it also made Alanna into somewhat of a weak-minded tramp at some parts. I fear it cut into the story and would have caused it to bomb if the next book had not been as wonderful as the first two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2