Customer Reviews for

The Woman Who Walked into Doors

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Excellent

    This novel was written by a man but really gets into the heart of a woman. It tells the story of an alcoholic, poor battered Irish woman. It is told with sensitivity and heart. The stream of consciousness storyline only reinforced the chaos that characterised her life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Depiction of a Womans Battered Soul

    This is the first book I have ever read by Roddy Doyle. The story is told with both accuracy and sensitivity yet it took off on a few directions which made it drag a bit. The author really didn't get into Paula Spencer's battered soul until the last 50 pages or so. It took a lot of pre story to get to that point. I was hoping to get a bit more on life being a victim of domestic violence. I will say it was wel written and an acurate story told by a male author. He shows some sensitivity which was nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Simply Amazing

    I had to read this book for an advanced reading class and I have to say out of all the books we had to read, this one was my absolute favorite. I never read a book that implemented that writing style, the confusion and intermixing of past present and current timing really pulled me. I felt this woman's pain; I questioned her sanity, her choices and even her uncertain future. It was a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    the woman who couldn't stop reading

    I am a huge Roddy Doyle fan and this lives up to my expectations of him. I loved Paddy Clarke HA HA HA and look forward to reading Paula Spencer. This story was moving and gripping and ultimately very sad. You could feel the pain and the struggle against the bottle and her confusion of why she stayed married to the man who beat her. She freely admitted that she loved him too much to leave. The way she felt about her children was so honest. It is so hard to believe that this was written by a man and not an abused/ alchoholic woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2000

    Clumsiness

    Roddy Doyle¿s latest novel, The Woman Who Walked Into Doors, is not a book that I fell immediately in love with. Doyle speaks through the voice of Paula Spencer, a woman recovering from both alcoholism and an abusive marriage. His plot jumps around erratically; the chapters jolt from her husband¿s death to Paula¿s early relationship with him. Stylistically bare, The Woman Who Walked Into Doors is Doyle¿s assertion against domestic violence. However, despite the confusing plot and the Doyle¿s blatant solicitation of emotions, Paula Spencer has a realness and an honesty that caught me by surprise. The novel opens with a young, nervous Guard at Paula¿s door. She knows before he even tells her that her husband is dead. The next chapter is Paula¿s first encounter with Charlo Spencer¿her future husband. The rest of the novel jumps back and forth from Paula¿s struggle with alcoholism to her days in grade school and to her wedding night. Its erratic plot lends disorder to the story, a characteristic that does not necessarily detract. Instead, it adds to the sense that Paula is speaking to, almost chatting with, the reader. Reminiscent of a made-for-television movie on Lifetime, The Woman Who Walked Into Doors is obviously making a political statement¿Paula constantly cries for someone to notice her plight. ¿I¿d have told them everything, I swear to God I would have. If they¿d asked. I¿d have whispered it. If they¿d asked first¿ (202). Doyle is trying to provoke action about domestic violence, and chooses to use the voice of a woman struggling with it herself, rather than by making a generalized statement about abusive relationships. He finds a powerful means to get his point across with Paula Spencer¿s believable genuineness. Paula¿s character has an honesty and a dignity that make it hard to believe she is fictional. Roddy Doyle¿s voice has brilliantly disappeared, and Paula comes alive as a human being¿with both strengths and faults. She loses herself in her own lies, ¿Once, I heard a woman near me telling the nurse that she¿d walked into a door, and I believed her. I felt sorry for her¿ I never once thought that I wasn¿t the only one who¿d been put there by her husband¿ (200). Her sincerity is tragic and convincing at the same time. The Woman Who Walked Into Doors is not an easy novel to like¿nor is it easy to forget. Despite a confusing plot, and a cry for action against domestic violence, Roddy Doyle makes Paula Spencer a completely convincing character. He manages to tell her story through her eyes¿without an apology, and without self-pity. The Woman Who Walked Into Doors is a moving novel¿powerful and vulnerable at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1