Customer Reviews for

A Woman Worth Ten Coppers (Shadowed Path Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Mediocre at best

    Too slow and no depth of character

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing opening for a planned trilogy

    What an incredible opening book for Mr. Howell's planned Shadowed Path trilogy! While the concept of a hero's quest is an old one, Mr. Howell's heroine is what makes this book fresh. I, like the character Honus, am in awe of Yim. I can't wait for the second book to see what further destiny awaits both Yim and Honus. Definitely a book worth keeping!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Extremely slow

    I really was excited to read this but am disappointed it is a slow read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    MUST READ!

    This is a wonder start to a great trilogy. Yim is a beautiful women chosen to follow the goddesses path. In this book it introduces her and shows the beginning of her trials. She meets Honus by becoming his slave. They travel through the land together to reach the goddesses temple. Through all their pain, courage, and more tender emotions they slowly come to trust one another. I am excited to read the next two of this trilogy but I must warn you that this first book doesn't have an ending, it is a smooth guide into the next book. I hope the next book is just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful Beginning

    I've read this trilogy through at least twice so far. I find it endearing and powerful. A great beginning to an amazing series. It takes off very well for me, slowly bringing in the reader to a rip-roaring adventure. The religion of the goddess Karm is one of beauty, life, love, and peace. Personally I like it very much. The following of the Devourer is it's inimical opposite: violent, blood-thirsty, filled with hatred and death. Yim is The Chosen of Karm. What the true meaning of this is unknown except that she will bring change. As you follow her footsteps into her destiny you're drawn into a world that is slowly turning towards the Devourer you wonder at the complexity of mortal emotions, the strength and the fragility. It's message is powerful. I highly recommend that, whoever is deciding whether or not to read this book, you read it - and definitely continue reading the series up to its amazing ending. It's more than worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Didn't live up to the hype

    I had a difficult time even finishing A Woman Worth Ten Coppers. I found the beginning extremely slow. The characters seemed flat and difficult to connect with on an emotional level. I certainly won't be continuing with the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Start

    Yet another great work by Morgan. I loved the first series and this book is a great start to another. Thanks for a great escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a superb quest fantasy

    The Wise Woman leaves young Yim with the the Seer who takes her South across the Highlands from her home near the Cloud Mountains of the Northern Reach so she can serve in the temple although he knows troubles are worse in the direction he leads them; he has no choice because the vision from the Goddess directs him. She asks if he is Theodus as that is the name of her guide as "whispered" to her; he says no insisting the Goddess Karn is her guide. Yim realizes ¿her father¿ as she is to call him in front of strangers is trying to hide his fear behind a veneer of calm. His fears prove right when they are attacked on the road; the Seer is murdered and Yim bound and raped by he who calls her scornfully ¿Ribbon Girl¿ before selling her to a slaver.<BR/><BR/>Honus, the Sarf warrior dedicated to Goddess Karm, is rudderless. He prefers to die for he has no purpose in life, but is unable to do so. His reason for living serving the holy Bearer ended when the followers of the evil God Devourer killed her. At the slave market, Honus for no reason he can discern decides to buy a back packer to carry his bags. Thus he travels to the village of Durkin where he buys the youthful Yim for ten coppers. He will soon know why the Goddess sent him to buy A WOMAN WORTH TEN COPPERS as their adventures just begin as nearby Lurwic Castle is burning down and its ducal family dead; Lord Bahl is on the deadly march..<BR/><BR/>Following up to the exciting Queen of Orcs trilogy, Morgan Howell starts a new saga with a superb quest fantasy starring two intriguing protagonists who both have emotional issues from recent traumas. The story line is fast-paced filled with plenty of action. However, as with Ms. Howell¿s Orc tales like KING'S PROPERTY the insight into the culture make for a dynamic tale; even the villains seem real. Fans will enjoy the opening gamut, which in many ways is a coming of age tale as the relationship between Yim and Honus change over the course of their escapades.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2