Customer Reviews for

The Woman in Black: A Ghost Story

Average Rating 4
( 291 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(142)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful!

The release of the movie made me search out the book. I dislike horror stories, but love a mystery and suspense story. This book met and exceded mt expectations! I highly recomend it! Great fast enjoyable read!

posted by 10538486 on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A bit slow....

This story is intriguing and has a lot of room for more scariness. The subsequently developed stage production was quite scary. The development of the level of terror felt by the main character never seemed to jump off the page.

posted by 8365752 on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 291 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Wonderful!

    The release of the movie made me search out the book. I dislike horror stories, but love a mystery and suspense story. This book met and exceded mt expectations! I highly recomend it! Great fast enjoyable read!

    33 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Ghost Story

    This was a good spooky ghost story not gory but psychologically suspenseful. Arthur Kripps is given the task of going through the papers of a woman he has never met her, but his firm is handling her affairs after her death. What Arthur finds in the town and house is something that will stay with him for the rest of his life.

    This book was written very well with just the right amount of suspense and trepidation, as events happen to Arthur I found myself with butterflies in my stomach and was glad no one came up behind me while I was reading. I liked that the author made you feel the darkness, smell the marshes, and hear the sounds and that's what's great about this book it has great atmosphere and does a good job at pulling you in.

    If you are a fan of Victorian ghost stories I highly recommend this book this will be a book I will recommend to anyone who likes ghost stories that are suspenseful without any blood & gore.

    This was my first book by Susan Hill and after her descriptive writing in this book I will try others by her.

    4 Stars

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Great Book. enjoyed it. I was very entertained

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I love horror. It was a Great Book with great story line.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Good Read

    I wanted to read this before the film was released and I'm happy I did. I would NOT reccomend this book if you're looking for the big "BOO" moment. However, in all honesty, no other novel has ever…unnerved…and chilled me more than "The Woman in Black". Susan Hill's precise descriptions leave you just as uncomfortable as you would be had there been a big surprise scare. Her careful suspense building peaks a certain discomfort in you that makes you almost nervous to turn the page, and the resulting, seemingly small reveal turns out to chill you more than you would have imagined. This novel is definitely one that will make you look over your shoulder should you read it in the dark! I'm very interested to follow more of Hill's work.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2000

    Spine chilling

    This book is very good it keeps you guessing until the very end. It is a bit old but it would be great if it was more modern. Worth reading!

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    Scary Stuff!

    This book is extremely well written with a well thought-out storyline. I found it very scary in some places and also frighteningly realistic. The theatre prodution which is showing in Covent Garden is also superb.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Omg

    Wondeerful book. Good movie to. Saw the movie with my friend and it was amazing! I recommend this to horror lovers! Amy 13 yrs old

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Better than the movie

    Although I invisioned Daniel R in the role, this book was very well done and just when you thought the character was out of harms way... well.... read and see!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Pretty good

    The descriptions of the town and house are superb. The plot is a little slow, but it's still creepy. A quick and enjoyable read!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    A bit slow....

    This story is intriguing and has a lot of room for more scariness. The subsequently developed stage production was quite scary. The development of the level of terror felt by the main character never seemed to jump off the page.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    :-) Good!

    This book was great, not all that scary, but a good read. And for people wondering, it is age appropiet. I'm only 13 and I wasn't scared during this book. The movie is very different from the book. The movie is exagerated. The book will keep you anxious, but not scared.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Packs a punch

    While the setting isn't modern, that is what makes this all the more wonderful. It's different from the modern day ghost story. You can never tell what's going to happen next. It may not be full-blown horror but it still delivers that creepy feeling causing you to glance around occasionally.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A very interesting book.

    Susan Hill's "The Woman In Black" is an excellent read. This was my first experience reading one of Hill's novels, but after reading the Woman In Black, I am excited to give her "Simon Serrailler" series a shot.

    My Overview:

    A young solicitor by the name of Arthur Kipps is sent to the small english town of Crythin Gifford to settle the affairs of Mrs. Alice Drablow. What Kipps doesn't know is the disturbing secret that lye on the other side of Nine Lives Causeway. Kipps experiences some quite frightening moments on and around Eel Marsh House, which includes the sight of the mysterious Woman in Black, a child's cry in the marsh, and a eerie nursery with a slow-moving rocking chair. Find out what happens in Susan Hill's "The Woman in Black."

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Amazing

    First book I bought on my new nook and I never put it down. Kept me wanting to know more buy it you wont regret it. I read it in less than 24 hours it was so good and everytime i guessed one thing would happen it didnt kept you wondering till the end! GREAT BOOK

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Spooky Good!

    Definately a book to keep you up in the night hours. Spooky enough to give you the creeps, old English style writing, a nice classic. I enjoyed this. Have read scarier but worth the time and money. If you are looking for a quick one nighter with creep factor I recommend this one. This was perfect for tonights stormy weather.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Boring

    If i had known this book was only just over 100 pages i meve would have bought it. I daresay the movie was actually better.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Scary!

    This is my first scary novel and I have to say that while I wasn't scared, I did become freaked out. I found myself noticing my heart beating faster and I did have to turn lights on at some points. The ending is the "scariest" part and I am excited to see the upcoming motion feature.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Best ghost story I have ever read! You will not be disappointed if you like gothic atmosphere.

    Very spooky. It gave me chills when I finished the last page.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    A terrifying, must-read ghost story.

    You know it's a good ghost story when you look over your shoulder constantly as you walk through dark rooms and jump at mysterious sounds in your house. This one will stay with you for a while. Great suspenseful read, and a well developed tale. It will keep you up at night but it thrills you as a good ghost story should.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 291 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15