Customer Reviews for

A Woman of Substance (Emma Harte Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    True inspiration!

    This book is truly addictive, the language is brilliant and the storyline completely compelling. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys an inspiring story full of love, power, success and most of all an incredibly strong woman. Anything is attainable! Emma Harte came from miserable circumstances but refused to become victimized. This book's principles of perserverance and hard work is true inspiration to all who read it. Emma's triumph over adversity motivates all to never let any obstacles get in the way of one's dreams. If you loved this one you'll undoubtedly fall in love with EXPLOSION IN PARIS...Another AMAZING READ!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2000

    THE MOST INSPIRING BOOK I HAVE EVER READ!!

    A Woman of Substance is definately a 'book of substance'- the characters are so alive, and Emma is everything I would love to be such a fighter in life and never gives up on her dream. She is my hero! This book made me laugh and cry and really feel what Emma went through. I loved it. I haven't read a book as good since.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2000

    Still Substantial After 15 Years!

    I, too, first read this book 15 years ago, and it makes as big an impression now as it did then. The characters, so well described, begin to seem as though they really exist. Sometimes I feel like I am Emma! What makes this book remarkable is twofold: Seeing Emma Harte rise out of extreme poverty to become a woman of immense wealth and power, and the justice she achieves along the way. At times, however, you may wonder if revenge is worth the personal sacrifice, but then again, this is fiction, so ENJOY! If you like the book, rent the 3-part video. The cast, especially Jenny Seagrove, is wonderful. However, if you know the book well, there are some variations that you will notice. I agree with one of the other reviewers: I am still searching for another novel as rich as this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2000

    15 Years Later And I Still Consider This Book One of the Best!!!!!

    I was browsing the reviews of BTB's other books and noticed the overall rating of this one -- making me compelled to let readers know this: I read this book almost 15 years ago, yet still consider this book one of the best I have ever read!! These characters stayed with me for months and months! This book almost spoiled me for anything else I tried to read long after I closed the cover on the final page! I have not enjoyed any of her books as much as this one. Please give it a chance; you won't be sorry. If you are a woman you will be able to relate to all the situations and feelings written about. It will leave you with a wonderful feeling of fulfillment and hope!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    #1 Book on my shelves

    The first time I read this book it only took me about 2 days , then I read thru it again immediately, slower that time. This is THE best book I have ever read, Barbara Taylor-Bradford made Emma a real person, I laughed when she laughed and cried when she cried. I can't even begin to tell you how many times I have read it in the past 14 or so years that I have owned it, about 10 years ago I bought a second copy of it for a loaner because I simply cannot take the chance the a family member or friend might not return it. The sequel's were just as good, but nothing can beat the story of Emma Hart from the beginning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2000

    This Book Is Great!

    I thought that this book was very interesting,And well written!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2000

    THIS BOOK STANDS ALONE IS RIVETING AND BREATHTAKING..

    EMMA HARTE IS EVERY WOMAN. I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK AND THE SERIES TO EVERY WOMAN STARTING HIGHSCHOOL AND THOSE OF YOU AT THE END OF YOUR JOURNEY. ENJOY..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2000

    A powerful reading experience.

    I recomend this title to women who have somehow come to a crossroad in their lives

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    I have read and re-read this series a number of time, watched th

    I have read and re-read this series a number of time, watched the video too. it never get tired of it. Its very
    inspirational.
    good read, good watch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    The only book I've read three times. I love the story and the ch

    The only book I've read three times. I love the story and the characters. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Highly recommened..

    This is the first book I ever read. Never will forget it. Definitely #1 for me. Somewhere along the line I gave mine to someone to read. Never got it back. Think I will order another one. It is that GOOD!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Marvelous Read!! A Must Read!!!

    I have been reading for a very long time. About twenty-five years ago I read A Woman of Substance. When the 30th Anniversary book came out I purchased it and reread this book. I have to say that this is the BEST book I have ever read. I have just reread it again and reading the whole series of seven books. Emma Harte's story is a truly magnificent one that will leave the reader applauding her courage and will power to make a safe and secure life for her family. This book is my all-time favorite book of my life. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to read an excellently written book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    A WOMAN OF SUBSTANCE

    I first read this wonderful book 25 years ago and have read it eight times after that. I could not put this book down at all.I shared this book with my Mother and sisters and quite a few of my friends. We loved to share our feelings about the story when we got together. We all loved this book and shared our copies to people who loved to read. I gave copies to our book club and we shared our comments there too. I have never read a book as well writen and found so romantic as A Woman Of Substance. I always think about the story when I see the book on my bookshelf. It is a precious treasure to me and I will never part with this book. I hope many women read this book because it will stay in their hearts forever. Barbara Taylor Bradford is a brilliant author and I have read many of her books to date. I cherish them all and will keep reading her books as long as she keeps writing her wonderful stories. I can tell she must have so much love in her life to be able to write so many wonderful stories over all these years. She has actually made a very big difference in my life also. I like to write short stories and I have picked up many great ways to express my true and loving feelings in most of my stories since I have read these wonderful books by Barbara Taylor Bradford.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a forever book!!!

    I was reading the reviews for this wonderful book. I remember I had my baby in 1980 (yes I am old) and my mother in law told me there was this wonderful book that I just had to read - that was an understatement. Have you every held a bottle and tried to read a book at the same time. Hard, but not impossible. I couldn't put the book down! I loved this book and now my son is 30 and I still can honestly say A Woman of Substance is still my favorite book of all time. Wonderful, read it and enjoy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    WONDERFUL!!! My third reading.

    Love the whole series...add to personal library....read over in years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    great book

    read this book 30 years ago and always remembered it. the best one of the series by far. gave it to both of my daughters for Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    Best Book Ever Written

    This is an awesome book. It spans several generations of a family, showing the good and the bad of a family. I have read this book twice and I still love it. It is a permanent addition to my library of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    Thirty years later, still my favorite book!

    This became my favorite book after first reading it in 1979. Although having read many more books after, this one always stayed with me; if asked the question: What is your favorite book? The answer never changed: A Woman of Substance. Now recently having re-read this book, it still remains my favorite story. The sequels are great too. Yet, there is just something about the beginning of Emma Harte's story that makes it extra special and my all-time favorite. Perfect timing for an anniversary edition as it will make a great holiday gift for friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Best book ever!!!

    This is where it all began, Emma Harte from a young maid to a strong woman that made a mark/legend for herself. Rags to riches from her own strength and determination - no hand outs, just hard work. Must read for everyone!! It's one of my favorite book in my library. Fabulous authror Barbara Taylor Bradford.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2004

    Add 5 more Stars! This book is a 10!!!

    I first read watched the mini-series in high school (1989) and related to the lead character played so well by Jenny Seagrove. Then I read the book....even better. I watched the movie again this year and now as a 28year old newly-wed and working mother. I relate to it even more and I am inspired by Emma even more.I have been contemplating striking out on my own for so long; but courage and confidence seems to fail me atimes. As you begin to watch the movie or read the book you actually feel as though you have known these characters all your life. THIS IS A DEFINITE READ FOR ALL WOMEN @ ANY AGE. IT DARES YOU TO BELIEVE IN YOURSELF,YOUR DREAMS AND WHERE THEY CAN TAKE YOU.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2