BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Woman's Own

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT!

What a delightful story. Robyn Carr is a remarkable story teller... The historic setting enhanced and enriched the plot. This is my first experience with this type of story. I look forward to others. LA-TXN

posted by 16585301 on May 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good read

Great view of the life and struggles of women at the turn of the century. Great historical read.

posted by justmeNM on July 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    LOVED IT!

    What a delightful story. Robyn Carr is a remarkable story teller...
    The historic setting enhanced and enriched the plot. This is my first experience with this type of story. I look forward to others. LA-TXN

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    I loved this book, except that I thought the ending was way too

    I loved this book, except that I thought the ending was way too rushed so be prepared. It was like "OK we can only have so many pages so it has to end NOW". Got really frustrated with some of the characters, but liked the way she brings her characters to life. The coach ride with Lily and Andrew was VERY moving. I read it straight through, just couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    WOW!!  While I am an avid reader of 5-7 books each week I am at

    WOW!!  While I am an avid reader of 5-7 books each week I am at a loss to review this Robyn Carr tale... It is one of the BEST BOOKS I have ever read... The story of three generations of women (Grandmother, Mother and two daughters) is beyond good... Over 400 pages of spellbinding reading... I could not put it down... The time period (mid 1800's on) added to the story... The rolls of women were just starting to change... Lilly was a woman ahead of her time and her character will make you stand up and cheer... The book started out very sad and I recommend you read through it and you will not be sorry... This is a story of rich and poor, love and hate, courage and faith and so much more... There is no way I can begin to explain the depth and the passion in these pages... 
    I read all of Ms. Carr's books but this one is so much different than the Virgin River Series and her new Thunder Point Series.... This book stretched my heart beyond belief and I know that I will read this book several times...  I cannot recommend this book highly enough... This one is a "keeper"... Enjoy!!!         

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    I love it!

    I could not put it down. I love the era when women are coming into their own, both in business and personal lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    EAT BACON OR DIE NOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

    I NEVER READ THIS BOOK BUT IVE READ BOOKS BEFORE SO UT SHOULD BE GOOD PLUS I LOVE BACON AND UNICORNS AND DANCING KIRBY <(030<) <(030)> (>030)> I LOVE YOU KIRBY THIS SENTANCE IS REALLY LONG BUT I DINT CARE I LIKE BACON OPPS I ALREADY SAID THAT COFFEE BREAK WAIT I DONT LIKE COFFEE AND I CANT DRIVE IM 12 PLUS WE DONT HAVE COFFEE AT ARE HOUSE HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM SINGED DR.BACON FINALLY THERES THE END OF THE SENTANCE.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    Wonderful read!!  Recommend Very Highly!!

    Wonderful read!!  Recommend Very Highly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1