Customer Reviews for

Women

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Ugly. And Proud of it.

I enjoyed this novel. Though it's thick, I found it an easy read, the type of book that I could dip into at any time. The structure of this novel is odd or unconventional in that at first it seems repetitive, this happens then that, with women entering and leaving his l...
I enjoyed this novel. Though it's thick, I found it an easy read, the type of book that I could dip into at any time. The structure of this novel is odd or unconventional in that at first it seems repetitive, this happens then that, with women entering and leaving his life. But somehow you grow used to it. It's almost like a compilation of episodes that often don't lead anywhere but allow you to understand the protagonist who's obviously Bukowski. I'll say it's pretty funny too. Bukowski's sense of humor is blunt and often dirty, which I kind of appreciate. In a way I was reminded me of another recent novel I read, Permanent Obscurity by Richard Perez. Both books have a raw and ugly style, both quite funny. Bukowski's Women ends with Henry, the main character losing control a little. The portrait is deadly honest, and I know a lot of people who might consider him an A-hole, but that's exactly why he's interesting: you don't often see his kind in fiction. Bukowski does nothing to cover up the fact that he's a bit of a monster. So the end result is a realistic portrait. Anyway, I enjoyed this book, and I would recommend it to others.

posted by Anna-the-reader on October 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I am a real fan of Bukowski but...

This book is absolutely boring, pointless and plotless.

posted by marc-medios on October 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Ugly. And Proud of it.

    I enjoyed this novel. Though it's thick, I found it an easy read, the type of book that I could dip into at any time. The structure of this novel is odd or unconventional in that at first it seems repetitive, this happens then that, with women entering and leaving his life. But somehow you grow used to it. It's almost like a compilation of episodes that often don't lead anywhere but allow you to understand the protagonist who's obviously Bukowski. I'll say it's pretty funny too. Bukowski's sense of humor is blunt and often dirty, which I kind of appreciate. In a way I was reminded me of another recent novel I read, Permanent Obscurity by Richard Perez. Both books have a raw and ugly style, both quite funny. Bukowski's Women ends with Henry, the main character losing control a little. The portrait is deadly honest, and I know a lot of people who might consider him an A-hole, but that's exactly why he's interesting: you don't often see his kind in fiction. Bukowski does nothing to cover up the fact that he's a bit of a monster. So the end result is a realistic portrait. Anyway, I enjoyed this book, and I would recommend it to others.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Bukowski

    Can do no wrong

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    THE MOST AMAZING BOOK EVER!!!

    Never has a book affected my life so drastically. The characters were fascinating yet eerily realistic....I could relate so intensely. This book brought tears of joy and sorrow to my eyes, yet I have never laughed so hard in my life. I definitely recommend it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    I am a real fan of Bukowski but...

    This book is absolutely boring, pointless and plotless.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    I am a longtime fan of Bukowski's writing, but fix the typo's pl

    I am a longtime fan of Bukowski's writing, but fix the typo's please
    !....I can't enjoy a story while reading around multiple errors.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2006

    a great place to start

    I didn't know Charles Bukowski existed until a month ago. I had read Fante's 'Ask the Dust' and after I'd read the prefece (written by Bukowski) I thought, What a voice! Bukowski must have novels out there. And he does. Many of them. One of them is 'Women.' I read it, I liked it, and I will be reading more of Bukowski. I've read 'Pulp' and am currently reading 'Post Office.' What I liked about 'Women' is that it's honest. It's not fancy and it's not 'literary' it's just a good fun story about a mediocre poet and his sexual exploits. It's also a good commentary on the writing life. If you've never read any Bukowski, this may be a good place to start. Bukowski is raw and uninhibited he speaks from the heart. He doesn't care what the critics think of him, either. This is good. Thanks, Mr Bukowski, for laying it down and telling us the way you see things.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    The Brilliant Bukowski!

    Bukowski's depiction of a man on the brink of madness and the equally insane relationships he has with women is borderline genius. Henry Chinaski, the protagonist, is a man in love with not only his freedom, but himself, and this creates a problem when bouncing from one dysfuntional relationship to another. Great read. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2000

    Brilliance

    When I read this book it opened up a new out look on women. Bukowski tells it from where its at

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    To HELP

    Ok is this the first time you have your period?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Horrid!

    This is one guy's sick fantasy world and a horrible depiction of women. Nothing funny or poetic about it. Simply disgusting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Read it

    Omgg thiss book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This novel lives up to its title. It was interesting, focused o

    This novel lives up to its title. It was interesting, focused on the young woman that came in and out of an old drunk writers life because he hit a high point of his writing career. The descriptions of sex is very detailed and at times funny.<br />
    <br />
    Review written by Author and screenwriter Curt Wiser

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    Incredible Book

    Reading this book is like accomplishing life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    i enjoy all of bukowski. his characters are hilarious.

    this if an autobiography and it certainly depicts a life that for the most part i would not care to live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    pretty good

    This one is really episodic and has no real plot except Chinaski sleeping with all these women he never would have gotten if he hadn't become famous. But the descriptions of the women are great- kind of misogynistic sometimes but, heh, that's Bukowski for you. And anyway, he would be real misogynist when he drank just for show but I don't think he meant any of it, none of the women he was with (in this book and real life) certainly never complained and sometimes dominated him in the relationship anyways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2004

    Underrated Brilliance

    Women is one of Buk's best. His seedy experiences and troubles with the opposite sex are gut-wrenchingly honest. Check out the modern-day Bukowski, Chad Dean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2004

    Vulgar, Dysfunctional, Disturbing

    I loved it! I read it in an afternoon. It's a book that will make you laugh out loud. Fast paced story,straight forward, bizzare, always entertaining. Chinaski is a runaway train.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    Hilarious...

    Buk's writing makes you feel like your sitting right there with him along for the ride. His experiences with these crazy women had me laughing for hours. Entertaining & fun, you'll definitely read the whole book in one sitting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2003

    A LITERARY TRIUMPH

    Bukowski's look into the insane reality of man and woman relationships is both disturbing and full of truth. From the friendly and pure 'girl next door' to his encounters with the alcoholic and criminally insane, Bukowski paints a portrait that all can appreciate and sympathize. No matter if you are Man or Woman, married or single, everyone can relate to a specific part of this work. Truly one of Bukowski's greatest works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4