Customer Reviews for

The Women

Average Rating 3.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Of love, not architecture!

This is my first TC Boyle book but it wont be my last. I saw the movie ¿Road to Wellville¿ and was not impressed but I am now interested in reading the book. I was lead to the ¿The Woman¿ after reading the excellent ¿Loving Frank.¿ Prior to this I did not know much a...
This is my first TC Boyle book but it wont be my last. I saw the movie ¿Road to Wellville¿ and was not impressed but I am now interested in reading the book. I was lead to the ¿The Woman¿ after reading the excellent ¿Loving Frank.¿ Prior to this I did not know much about Frank Lloyd Wright other than he was a famous architect, and I had no idea about his interesting love life. Both books are really about the women in his life. ¿Loving Frank¿ is really about irrepressible and unconventional Mamah Cheney, but ¿The Women¿ is Mr. Wright brought to life through the eyes of the four woman who love him: Olgivanna Milanoff; Maud Miriam Noel, Mamah Cheney, and his first wife, Kitty Tobin. Wright is a bigger than life figure who¿s story today is just as fascinating as it was back in the first half of the 20th century. One of the original modern celebrities, but unlike most of today¿s fakers this man had real talent. The heart of this story though his Boyle¿s writing and how he brings these unconventional characters to life. You can tell he has done his research and knows his subject, but with his fiction he brings these people to life in away that dry nonfiction can never do. Boyle creates living breathing characters from the historical record and takes us inside their minds. How can he really know these peoples inner most thoughts? This does not really matter for the truth of what he has created jumps off the page. Sometimes fiction does a better job of revealing truth than historical facts. I look forward to reading Boyle¿s earlier works! For more excellent historical fiction do try Misfits Country Marilyn Monroe and Clark Gable brought to life!

posted by jblickman on February 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not that Great

It's kind of a rip off on Loving Frank, the book about Mammah and FLW. I agree with one of the other reviewers that this book is hard to follow as it jumps from woman to woman and back to woman to woman. It is also hard to tell who is telling the story. If you think you...
It's kind of a rip off on Loving Frank, the book about Mammah and FLW. I agree with one of the other reviewers that this book is hard to follow as it jumps from woman to woman and back to woman to woman. It is also hard to tell who is telling the story. If you think you want to read this, check it out at the library, save your money. And if you like FLW, you must read Loving Frank.

posted by NancyT on May 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    audio book worth listening to

    The reader of this audio book brings the characters to life and gives voice to the narrator. Riveting account of the personal life of Frank Lloyd Wright as defined by his choice of women. Captures the essence of the times; the limitations and the creative breaches of social custom during this period of history are brought to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    Frank Lloyd Wright revealed but gotta love him anyway. Heroes have flaws and Wright is an architectual hero. Like Yogi Berra said, "If the world was perfect it wouldn't be."

    Behind the fascinating, artfully told, wide and deep story is great research. As usual, Boyle boils up another great historical stew full of complex, well drawn characters in a great story of their own (and T.C.'s) making. If you're steeped in Wright or knew nothing about him, you'll know plenty by this book and be entertained every step of the way. It's been a while since I read it, but hey, I'm old and forgetfull, so I can enjoy it again. In the meantime, let's hope T.C. is crafting another one. I'm ready.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    A more personal view of Frank Lloyd Wright

    I know this is a work of fiction-based on real people and incidents- but I did enjoy this novel. I was a bit confused when I started to read it as I thought the narrator was one of the women in Frank Lloyd Wright's life- then I realied it was a separate narrator giving an overall view of Frank Lloyd Wright past. Interesting how the author strts with Wright's last "wife" and moves the storyline "backward" in time.
    I would definitely read this again. And I do recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Frank Lloyd Wrong

    "The Women" is a fictionalized narrative of a part of Frank Lloyd Wright's life. While reading this book, I was drawn into the drama and began feeling that these were all real people, not just words on the page or the creation of a writer. Because of this I was able to doubly enjoy the historical events that otherwise are presented dryly. I like this author's imagination, perspective, complexity, sense of humor and use of the English language. T.C. Boyle presented Wright and the characters in his life as real people with all their warts, while remaining sensitive to the details of the era including vehicles, art work, social attitudes and prejudices, fashion, etc.
    I would recommend this book to everyone as it is easy to read, informative and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Living With "The Women"

    i bought this book especially for a holiday to london, which unfortunately, did not materialize.
    feeling rather blue that all of my plans had to change, i decided to just relax and begin my "book"
    and i am so thrilled that i did, as i have not been able to put it down.
    timing is everything, i believe, and this was the perfect week to begin this novel of frank lloyd wright.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    Frank Lloyd Wright through the eyes of the women in his life....fascinating!

    Want a great read for a long plane ride or a rainy day? Most of us are familiar, on at least a cursury basis, with the break-through artistry of Frank Lloyd Wright as this country's premier architect. T.C. Boyle's novel 'The Women' transports the reader to the era when Wright was at the top of his game. Boyle's writing style provides fascinating cultural context all along the way. He illustrates how the women, in Wright's life, are incredibly different from one another without presenting them as victims or victimizers, letting the reader decide how we feel about the women as individuals as well as wives, lovers and friends involved in Wright's life. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    So cleaver

    I thought it was a great read. I was so sorry when it was over. I wish he had some more women :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    Love T.C. Boyle

    I purchased this book after reading Loving Frank by Nancy Horan. Of course these are too very diff styles of writing. It took me a little longer to get into The Women but once I did I enjoyed the book. Fictional entertainment based on mounds of research from the life of Frank Lloyd Wright proves for a very good read. I am not loaning this one out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Interesting!

    I have always been fascinated with Frank Lloyd Wright's love life and this is the first book I've encountered that explores all of his love interests in a creative and raw way. I found myself excited to turn every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Absorbing Read

    Well written. Interesting structure. Excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Powerful insights into FLW's life, hope mr.Boyle has researched the content well, suspect a lot of fans will be disappointed at his insensitivity to women in his life. A creative genius with no soul.

    I feel emotionally raw to read about Olga, Kitty, Mariam and Mamah. Suprised that none of the Architectural publications ventured into his landmine of a life. Knew FLW for Falling water, Johnson wax, Gueggenhiem the list is long. Trained as an Architect Might have had a different perspective on his work if i had read this book before. Can we seperate our Life from work ??... A provocative tale of what makes a person human, we make the same mistakes again and again, hoping for a different outcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Women or the Man?

    Interesting subject matter. Not a bad story and one that keeps you guessing as to where the truth stops and the fiction begins. It is written in a thesis style with footnotes that I found a little annoying. The footnotes were more of a distraction rather than adding something to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A novel about Frank Lloyd Wright and the women in his life narrated by one of his architectural assistants, a Japanese man.

    The book works backwards from Wright's third wife Olgivanna; his second, Miriam; and his first wife Kitty, the mother of his six children. Also included is his longtime mistress Mamah who was brutally murdered. I had read a previous novel, Loving Frank, about Mamah.

    I have always admired Wright's architecture. He was a genius in his field but not a great partner or boss. His students were required to do the menial chores around his property--cooking, cleaning, farm work, etc., as well as study architecture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Frank is not God!

    THE WOMEN was a superb piece of literature highlighting the 4 women in FL Wright's life. I loved reading Loving Frank, but this book allowed us to see how each and every women influenced him and how he treated them. He was not an easy man to get along with, especially since he didn't seem fit to pay anyone for their services. This is all made real in this book. You grow to hate Frank and his treatment of others. You only hope that he could see how the world perceives him now that his legacy has made its mark. There have been many books written about this architect, but this book takes you in and never lets you leave. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6