Customer Reviews for

Women, Food, and God: An Unexpected Path to Almost Everything

Average Rating 3
( 403 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(113)

2 Star

(84)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Very significant read!

As a personal fitness trainer, I try to read as many books on the topic of diet, exercise, body-changing, and the like. This is such a good, easy read. The way it is written made me want to keep reading, and the messages are so applicable to so many people who seem to...
As a personal fitness trainer, I try to read as many books on the topic of diet, exercise, body-changing, and the like. This is such a good, easy read. The way it is written made me want to keep reading, and the messages are so applicable to so many people who seem to ride the dieting yo-yo. I will recommend this to my clients, friends, and family. I also recommend: "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow" as THE MOST impactful book I have read on personal fitness/motivation/mindset. Check it out!!

posted by FitnessAuthor on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Disappointment

I really wanted to like and get what she was saying, but it never quite made sense. It seemed like she might have been trying to get across the same message as Byron Katie in Loving What is, but if so, she didn't succeed. She kept giving examples of breakthroughs people...
I really wanted to like and get what she was saying, but it never quite made sense. It seemed like she might have been trying to get across the same message as Byron Katie in Loving What is, but if so, she didn't succeed. She kept giving examples of breakthroughs people had at her seminar/workshop thing, but what led up to the breakthrough was never made clear. This was one of those books, that I kept reading because I hoped it would live up to its potential, but it was ultimately disappointing. I couldn't recommend it.

posted by michaelsjlrc on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    God in the Title is Misleading

    I started reading 'Women Food and God' a few weeks ago because I was drawn by 'God' in the title. Several years ago, I battled binge eating and my weight increased up to 240 pounds. But I was healed of that issue and lost 85 pounds. I have kept it off for many years now. I give credit for my victory to my personal relationship with God. I learned that God is about restoration, not condemnation. He wanted to teach me and lead me in the way I should go every day. I came to know God as my Healer, Strength, Wisdom, and Truth. Once I learned about his character and knew I could trust him, then He became my source of comfort and I turned to him when I was emotionally upset rather than food.

    I was hoping to see the God who healed me in the book. Sadly, I did not. Early in the book, Ms. Roth says that it doesn't matter if you believe in one God, many gods, or no god. To me, that says a lot about how important she views God if she says it doesn't matter if you believe he exists. Then
    where is God is the process? Having God in the title is misleading if she views him as irrelevant.

    In my own recovery, it was critical for me to have a stable view of God - and trust in his strength, power, and ability to change my life. Not God as I chose to define him but as he defines himself in his word, the bible.

    So anyone looking for a Godly solution to healing binge eating will not find it in this book. If you want to read my weight loss success story and how I overcame binge eating, then please visit my Take Back Your Temple dot com website.

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Misleading, very !!!

    Beware, this book has nothing to do with God, it was an ok book, but it seems the word God was used in her title to attract more readings with a brain!!! This author used the fu-- word quite a few times with in her book to try to be funny, during sad times, and throughout, very misleading! I won't read anything put out by her again!!! This authors use (or lack of) words were alot of times in the gutter!!!Don't waste your time or money $$$w/this one!!!

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    Where is the eBook

    I'd really like to be able to read this on my NOOK. Where's the eBook version?

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Very disappointed!

    Very strange and totally not what I hoped this book would be. Nothing inspiring and almost an insult to the christian woman. Too bad, the title really reels you in. Don't waste your time and money on this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Misleading

    Thank you to all of you who were honest enough to mention that the title is misleading. I was going to buy the book because I thought that it was coming from a Christian/God led point of view. But after reading your comments, including those who actually enjoyed the book, I will not be making this purchase. I will also let friends & family know that the title is deceptive...but that's how it's going to sale.

    Reader Ratings are awesome!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3