Customer Reviews for

Women and Money: Owning the Power to Control Your Destiny

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Suze is da BOMB!!

I absolutely LOVED this book. I have daughters who don't know the first thing about saving money and no matter how I tried, I couldn't get them to sit down and listen to me explain finance to them. Even simple things like opening a checking account to how being financ...
I absolutely LOVED this book. I have daughters who don't know the first thing about saving money and no matter how I tried, I couldn't get them to sit down and listen to me explain finance to them. Even simple things like opening a checking account to how being financially independent can change your entire life, but Suze's book covers it ALL! And, in layman's terms. Anyone can understand this book. I also participated in the deposit program, thinking there was no way I was going to get that money after one year....but I did get it! I bought three and gave them away to my daughters and a friend's daughter. I'm back for another one for my 20 year old granddaughter - I think she's MORE than ready! Thank you Suze - you really are an excellent resource for anyone - at any level of financial education....or even no financial education...that's the beauty of this book.

posted by Anonymous on September 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The most basic of all books - Not recommended

I could not be more disappointed with Suze Orman's latest book. I loved the Young, Fabulous and Broke and eagerly awaited Women and Money. It is such a joke. The first 1/4 of the book is basically Suze telling us in her psychoanalytic persona how wonderful and powerful ...
I could not be more disappointed with Suze Orman's latest book. I loved the Young, Fabulous and Broke and eagerly awaited Women and Money. It is such a joke. The first 1/4 of the book is basically Suze telling us in her psychoanalytic persona how wonderful and powerful women are and how we can really get ahead finally. I don't need 1/4 of her book telling me I'm good enough - enough Stuart Smalley. Just give me the real financial details. And what really makes me mad- throughout the book (which is very very basic), she tells us to reference her website for additional info. Uh, hello? I just paid for a book and all I get is the very basic info on Roth IRA and Roth 401Ks? Not once does she say whether we can have a Roth IRA and a Roth 401K in the same year. Maybe if I go to her website, I can find out. What a joke. I would not wish this book on anyone. I think Suze should refund the money to those who purchased her book. Seriously.

posted by Anonymous on March 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    Suze is da BOMB!!

    I absolutely LOVED this book. I have daughters who don't know the first thing about saving money and no matter how I tried, I couldn't get them to sit down and listen to me explain finance to them. Even simple things like opening a checking account to how being financially independent can change your entire life, but Suze's book covers it ALL! And, in layman's terms. Anyone can understand this book. I also participated in the deposit program, thinking there was no way I was going to get that money after one year....but I did get it! I bought three and gave them away to my daughters and a friend's daughter. I'm back for another one for my 20 year old granddaughter - I think she's MORE than ready! Thank you Suze - you really are an excellent resource for anyone - at any level of financial education....or even no financial education...that's the beauty of this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    It¿s up to us to take this advice and put it into action

    How many of us wish we had a better grip on our personal finances? If you¿re one, maybe you¿ll be as fascinated by the title as I was, Women and Money: Owning the Power to Control Your Destiny. This sounded like something I could find very interesting ¿ money, power and my destiny. I started reading. I was immediately impressed with how well Suze wrote for her target audience. It was as if good girlfriends were having a cup of coffee and a heart-to-heart talk. She¿s honest, straightforward and supportive. She¿s certainly a girlfriend who pulls no punches! Suze Orman is clear, even from the very first few pages, that she¿s shocked by just how ¿clueless¿ so many women are about their own finances Suze shares financial answers to the questions many of us have been reluctant to ask. This book is easily understood and extremely thorough. Personally, if a finance book becomes too technical, my mind turns off. With this book, I didn¿t turn off. I read and listened to the whole thing, cover to cover. I especially appreciated the definitions, the shaded boxes filled with explanations, the practical resources and the action plans. All and all, it was broken down into bite-sized pieces so even the most reluctant among us can take immediate action without fear of failure or of becoming overwhelmed. Honestly, I was impressed with all eight chapters because I took away pearls of wisdom from each one. My favorites? Chapter 4 ¿ You are not on sale. Women have a tendency to undervalue themselves, thus earning less than men. No more discounting our worth ¿ let¿s take ourselves off the sale rack! Chapter 6 ¿ The save yourself plan. This is a five-month plan (one day a month) to financial self-sufficiency. She gives us a workable plan and all we have to do is implement it. Included in this chapter is information on banking, credit cards, trusts and must-have documents. To me, this chapter is the backbone of the book. Women & Money is especially informative for beginners. Yet, I believe all women who are truly ready to claim or reclaim their financial independence will also be pleased with reading Suze Orman¿s book. The only women who might be bored, are the extremely savvy one¿s who already have complete control over their financial lives. Women & Money is about advancing in powerful positive ways. Suze Orman¿s advice is real and practical. Now, it¿s up to us to take this advice and put it into action.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Changed my life!!!

    I set up my life to ensure all unpaid bills would be paid, my son and my granddaughter are taken care of, all of my funds are now in trust, and I have completed a healthcare power of attorney to protect not only myself but those who would be affected if anything should happen. I also opened a new bank account, a roth IRA, and a 401K. Suze says it all when she states we women sell ourselves, and I have been doing that for years, and she has given me a new perspective on my life and how I need to contribute to it to not only protect me now, but in the future, and in my golden years. This book opened my eyes to how my car loan company works, and she gives you access to paying off debt and what it will take. Suze not only shows you how to do it, but she gives you the websites, and all the information needed to complete anything she has to offer. I bought this book as a gift for my sister, it is great. I cannot say enough great things about this book and how it has changed my life. Great read!!!! Great advice on how to take control of your life to protect yourself. I Love Her!!!!! Finally someone for women, and she gets the point across!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    A Great Book For Those That Need a Little Help

    I am a 25 year-old new mother and I found this book extremely informative. I plan to follow most of her advice from starting a Roth IRA (outside of my 401k) to getting my documents in order in case something were to happen to me. She did reference her website a lot, but I think the point was to take a lot of indepth, possibly confusing information out of the book. I bought a copy for my Mom and plan to pass the book around to other females in the family. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2007

    Love Love Love this book!

    Sure - for a financial veteran, this book may be too basic. But for many of us who need to get a good grasp on HOW to save and become wealthy in all areas of our lives - this book is a must have!!! It empowers all women to make the most of their financial lives, as well as their emotional lives! If you need help understanding retirement funds, good credit, good savings accounts, and more, read this book!!! She is even specific about where you need to go to get the best bang for your buck! I really appreciated this book! Thank you Suze!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    C'mon Ladies

    One reviewer on BN wrote that Suze doesn't tell us anything new, that 'we all know' to save as much money as we can, etc. We may know we need to save, but we certainly don't all know how to go about it. I'm 28 and, like most women I know, grew up in a setting where Mom didn't handle the finances and I was never taught to save or the importance of credit. This book is great -- it's inspiring, empowering, and takes away all the fear I used to feel when thinking about my finances. It helped me to realize what I have, what I need to work on, and HOW to go about it. You shouldn't be hating on this book...you should be telling every woman you know about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    SUSIE ORMAN THE FINANCIAL MASTERMIND

    A must read book for every woman, young or old. Suze orman is the top finacial mastermind of all times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    One time I spent money wisely--buying this book!

    I am so glad I bought this book. Suze Orman shares her wisdom once again. Her mantra of 'no shame no blame' is quite refreshing. She does not write down to her audience but instead bluntly tells us the truth of her own mistakes in her earlier years. The book is for any age woman (or man) regardless of whether they are 20 and just starting a line of credit or 70 and trying to get out of credit card debt. I cannot believe anyone not finding a golden nugget of wisdom that will help them change their financial habits inside the pages of this book. Maybe you feel trapped or confused about how to get out of debt, and maybe there are some aspects inside the book you seriously cannot try for whatever reason, but buy the book and at least read the knowledge and the good common sense only Suze can define for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    A must read for every woman of every age!

    An in your- face-insight to all your financial
    blunders!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Life changer

    Unbelievable how this book can really change the way you think of your money. Basic yet informative, especially for people who dont understand much about the basics. I thought i was pretty well informed but surprise surprise...i wasnt. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    Highly Recommend!

    To be honest, after reading WOMEN & MONEY, pretty much anything by Suze Orman is a must read for me. Though some information was familiar to me, the advice Suze gives is dead on, useful, and true. My only wish it had been published years ago, but as they say, it is never too late.

    After buying WOMEN & MONEY, I went on reading THE 9 STEPS TO FINANCIAL FREEDOM, THE COURAGE TO BE RICH, THE ROAD TO WEALTH, and ACTION PLAN by Suze Orman. So yes, I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I also recommend Sugar's "The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds"

    One day these two crusaders will meet and sparks will fly. The SMARTGRADES School Planners include budgeting, so that kids learn how to manage their money. Suze would be proud.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    Must read!

    Everyone should read this book. It teaches the fundamentals of finance. It starts simple and walks you through cleaning up your financial situation no matter where you may personally be at. Suze Orman is a trusted name in financial management and she helps you understand what you need to do. She sets up a monthly plan of attack that really helps you manage your finances and get out of debt. I have done it and it works! There is hope. I bought this book for all of my friends for Christmas because I believe that it can help anyone. Also, Suze's "Save Yourself" plan is awesome. I have been doing it for over a year and you will get a $$ bonus when you invest. The best part is that it's all for your benefit and will help teach you valuable lessons about how you can invest in your own future. Read it and do it! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    Very useful

    Great tips. Easy to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    A must read for all women!

    I wish I had learned the information on this CD when I was in my 20s! It contains vital information every woman should know about handling personal finances and planning for retirement. After listening to this CD, I purchased the book (so I could highlight key points to review again) and have also given copies of this book to 5 friends and relatives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Women can find out why they cannot get a grip on finances and learn some EASY and basic things to do to get in control of this, and even be happy and feel smart about it.

    It doesn't seem to be in the basic nature of many women to want to dive right in there and be in charge of their money, the family finances or any sort of investment. So it makes sense for a woman knowledgable in this subject to write a book and make it less "un-understandable!" She touches on several personal reasons women might not be able to deal with this subject and what to do about it. You will probably find yourself in there somewhere. She takes a very easy, one-thing-at-a-time approach to confronting one's money habits or failure to understand it so you can actually get a grip. It is written in a very friendly and helpful way. In another few days I will be saving myself a couple hundred dollars a month by finishing up doing what she said to do with my credit cards and checking accounts. It wasn't hard! If you know the recipe, girls, you can bake the cake. Same with money--if you know what to do you can do it. Suze GETS you and tells you what to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2