Customer Reviews for

Women of the Bible: A One-Year Devotional Study of Women in Scripture

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I read through this book several years ago, and appreciated the details that the authors included. This Christmas, I gave copies to 2 friends who had expressed interest in a more consistent personal Bible study time. The book includes 52 chapters. Each week is broken up into 5 days of study focusing on a different woman in the Bible, retelling her story and highlighting the cultural context. Study questions and practical application points are included as well. Although I have been studying the Bible for many years, I gained new understanding of how God worked through these women and how He continues to work today!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2001

    Wonderful Study

    We are using this book as our guide in a weekly lunch-time Bible Study with about 12 women. The study has been exciting, encouraging and enlighting. The book's format is perfect for this kind of group sharing.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2006

    Excellent study for both woman and man

    I have found this book to be exceptional. It grants the reader a deeper understanding and connection with the woman's relationship to God. For men it will definately show them a more positive and new way to look at their female conterparts. I screamed with joy and always felt blessed reading each story and develing into the study and reflections of how it relates to myself.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Enjoying the study

    Like the study, but for nook some of the text gets tweeked in placement. It's not too hard to figure out, but it would be nice if it were fixed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2002

    God spoke to me

    This is a great devotional book. I have been ministered through every story. It especially blessed me to see how GOd care so much for every women mentioned in such a tender loving way. Jesus truly knows how to care and love women.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2001

    GREAT READ

    This book is very good! It's easy to read and follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2000

    Great Spiritual Learning

    Never before have I read such wonderful words on the women of the bible. More understanding of these women I thought I would never find. Makes them come to LIFE and shows me they are/were just like us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have used this book and made quilt blocks for 12 of the ladie

    I have used this book and made quilt blocks for 12 of the ladies so far and shared them with the Ladies meeting at my church. this is a wonderfull book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    This book sheds false light on a bigoted, horrific, sexist, fear

    This book sheds false light on a bigoted, horrific, sexist, fear- and hatred- inducing book of fiction masquerading as non-fiction, called The Bible. "The Bible" contains adult, grotesque stories of rape, genocide, child abuse, sexism, revenge, murder. Many of these acts are commandeered by, and allowed by, authority figures... My advise is to actually read the entire bible, before buying this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    wow a must read. Lots of good information!

    I have been reading Women of the Bible as a devotional at night. It is full of good Biblical information on women to the Bible. It is well researched. I have learned a lot through reading this book. I have been able to use some of the material for our home Bible study.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    We (The Daughters of the King) are using this book for a Bible S

    We (The Daughters of the King) are using this book for a Bible Study and we are enjoying every time we meet to review one Women of the Bible. There are 52 chapters and we have devided them up among the group and each one has taken several chapter. Then each week another person is presenting the Woman they chose to the group. We are learning alot about what the Woman of the Bible and the way they were treated and how God worked through them. This is one the the best study's were have ever done and I recomend it to all groups looking for a book to use for a Study. I especially recommend this to Woman's groups. Very easy to read and what an insite you will get on the life's of the Women of our passed which is not revealed to us as often as the Men are. Really enjoying this book so glad we decided to use this as are
    Study

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Great Devotional

    I love this devotional. It looks in to the lives of different women, and sheds a new light on their life, struggles, relationship with God, etc. I'm getting ready to restart it, and would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Excellent!

    I purchased this to give my personal Bible study time a boost, and have not been disappointed. My goal was to study one woman per week for this year. The 5 daily readings on each of the 52 women are brief enough that I can easily catch up when I miss a day (and even do them all in one sitting, which I have done several times!). The readings are both challenging and thought-provoking. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I'm going to read every last story, because I realize in every story I can find a piece of me, something to learn and something to pray about. Everyday is a new day for a new beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A must for solid spiritual growth

    This book is very inspiring, uplifting, motivating for anyone wishing to have a closer spiritual walk with God. The daily prayers and verses are just what are needed for each morning and evening of your day. May you be richly blessed as you read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3