Customer Reviews for

Women's Bodies, Women's Wisdom

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Necessary and long overdue

I stumbled upon this book in a book store, skimmed through it out of curiosity, ended up buying it and have hardly put it down since. It is important that women who read this book share it with their children, sibblings, spouses, parents and friends. I have told almos...
I stumbled upon this book in a book store, skimmed through it out of curiosity, ended up buying it and have hardly put it down since. It is important that women who read this book share it with their children, sibblings, spouses, parents and friends. I have told almost every woman and some men, I have come across to read it. Dr. Northurp is bright, insightful and brave. She has confirmed many things I have thought about and shared with my Gyn, to no avail. I have been pumped full of toxic drugs that have created side effects more severe that the original problem. I am going to give my GYN a copy of this book for Christmas. The information on the effects of diet is priceless. It makes perfect sense that the body and mind must be treated together because one so clearly affects the other. The book is well written, logical and long overdue. Although I do not agree with everything I have read in it, I think that is a plus, because it makes her more human and real. Additionally, anything that is so powerful can have no shortfalls because it can only empower those who read it.

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

Totally psychological look at women's health problems. 'emotional and psychological energy patterns' to blame for diseases in women . . . etc.

posted by Anonymous on October 16, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    Necessary and long overdue

    I stumbled upon this book in a book store, skimmed through it out of curiosity, ended up buying it and have hardly put it down since. It is important that women who read this book share it with their children, sibblings, spouses, parents and friends. I have told almost every woman and some men, I have come across to read it. Dr. Northurp is bright, insightful and brave. She has confirmed many things I have thought about and shared with my Gyn, to no avail. I have been pumped full of toxic drugs that have created side effects more severe that the original problem. I am going to give my GYN a copy of this book for Christmas. The information on the effects of diet is priceless. It makes perfect sense that the body and mind must be treated together because one so clearly affects the other. The book is well written, logical and long overdue. Although I do not agree with everything I have read in it, I think that is a plus, because it makes her more human and real. Additionally, anything that is so powerful can have no shortfalls because it can only empower those who read it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    Comprehensive handbook for women

    Wonderful book, well researched, easy to read, a must for women who want to make the most of their lives.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    How Could I Have Missed This?

    I can't even do this book justice with a simple review. All I can say is that it's everything I expected and more. It was chocked with great information that every woman should know and should use. I would recommend on this book for every woman.

    I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score" for anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain. I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. It was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it. It is on sale here on BN.com.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    A wake up call to women

    Have not read the whole book but it is a wake up call to all. Living in the Western World we believe Doctors know best and all. WRONG!!! Eastern medicine teaches us to treat the body as a whole. Native American Medicine teaches us natural remedies work also. So many people listen to the doctors and drug companies they have given up on trying other ways. This is not NEW AGE at all, drugs are not saying the are all bad because they aren't. Just look at what has happened over the years so many drug recalls. HMMM give this book and others like it a real chance. Try and be open minded.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    A wonderful comprehensive book

    I saw Dr. Northrup on Oprah several years ago and was very moved by her candor and courage. I purchased her first book and have referred to it often. This book is equally wonderful. Every woman should read it and keep it nearby for ongoing reference.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    Although Christiane Northrup's books are geared to women, many men can learn from her wisdom, and those of us in health care are really on a 'need to know' basis. I am espcially appreciative of the fact that she recognizes the connection between the emotions and the wellness of the physical body connection. My sister won't let go of this book which speaks for itself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    Natural is always better

    This is a wonderfully smart book that illustrates how women have the ability to heal themselves and others. There is so much positive energy at work in a healthy woman. This book provides the information women need to tap into this positive energy. I like the way it was written too. It was not difficult to read. I discovered many things I can use right now and I plan to read it again later to get more. This is the best book on health I have found.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    A required reading for all females!

    Very insighful to learn about all the changes and phases that as women we through the lenght of our lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    Bible for women!

    I am impressed with this book! very informative and thought provoking! I learned a lot about myself and women in general. This book can be read for reference or read from front to back for pure enjoyment. I reccommend it to all women!! Sit down and enjoy!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Empowering Women through Wisdom of Their Bodies

    Every woman should read this book and every man should buy the women in his life this book. Empowering women worldwide with knowledge about their own bodies in the most practical of terms, this book covers a broad range of women's health issues with the balanced yet practical wisdom of mind-body wellness. I recommend this book to all my friends and it has been a permanent addition to my favorite books collection. This book was a foundational book for me and gave me greater understanding into both my body and mind. Christine is a wonderful teacher, mentor and true healer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    Insightful

    Dr Northrup connects the dots between disease and the mind. She shows how one's life events can contribute to the overall health of all women and how we can avoid some very serious diseases. A great reference!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    Reading through it, and recommend it

    I picked up this book, because my mom is going through menopause, and we (my family) wanted to better understand some of the intricacies. This book has led to some great understanding and also discussions between me and my mom...so I highly recommend this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    This book is for every woman!!

    Dr. Northrup is so knowledgeable and straightfoward that one cannot help but agree with her. My mother recommended this book to me and I have never regretted purchasing it 4 years ago!! I have read most of the book, occasionally focusing on areas of health I have questions on. Her expertise has saved me from a lifetime of chronic infections and given me hope for the future as a healthy, empowered woman!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2002

    Fantastic insight for endometriosis and more!

    My doctors had given up treating my endometriosis and deferred to the typical hysterectomy 'cure' - and I'm only 34 years old! Disheartened, I went into a local vitamin/herbal store, hoping for an alternative treatment. Before the woman in the store would sell me anything, she referred me to this book. She had w worn copy she used as a reference for all of her female customers with problems like mine. A week later, I decided to buy a copy of the book for myself. Holy cow! I'm so glad I did! Not only have I found a way to deal with the symptoms of my endometriosis, but also many other 'womanly' afflictions that have caused gynecologists to just throw their hands up in frustrated futility. Yes, it's kinda new age. Yes, it examines how psychological factors affect a woman's health. But the recommendations WORK - which is all that matters to me. It's written in an easy-to-understand manner. Maybe not everything in the book is for everyone (I've read some of the other negative comments about specific parts of the book) - but the book as a whole is a valuable tool for any woman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2002

    Amazingly written with wonderful insight

    She mentions only 2 skin care lines in her book & Sense' is one of them. This line of skin care is truely sensational! www.unitoday.net/deesmelanoma to find out more about this skin care line...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2001

    Disappointing

    Totally psychological look at women's health problems. 'emotional and psychological energy patterns' to blame for diseases in women . . . etc.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2001

    A must-read for every girl and woman

    This book completely changed my outlook on being female. I've always felt that my periods were a handicap -- something to be overcome and controlled. After reading this book I see that this attitude is patriarchal and harmful to my well-being. Now I understand that when I'm emotional before my period I'm not being 'crazy' or 'unreasonable.' Whenever I used these disparaging terms to get me to 'snap out of it,' I would always feel worse, not better. Women have periods for a reason and to medicate, control or dismiss a normal bodily function is wrong, wrong, wrong. Yes, this book is somewhat new-age but in world in which we unquestionly gulp down pills to 'fix' whatevers ailing us, this book is the voice of reason. Besides it never recommends to avoid mainstream medicine at all costs. It merely suggests to try some less invasive alternatives first. Our bodies know more than any pharmaceutical company -- it's time we started listening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2001

    Be warned.

    If you are looking for no-nonsense information, this is not the book for you. Lots of new age advise, including the suggestion that you remain awake during a hysterectomy so you can say 'thank you, and goodbye' to your uterus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2000

    Great learning experience

    This is written in easy to understand style -- as opposed to doctorese. It is packed with information about how and often why a woman's body works the way it does. Dr. Northup explains in detail a woman's life stages and what to expect. How to interpret physical and lab exam reports. This should be required reading for college students taking womens' studies and on every woman's bookshelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2000

    Why Didn't My Doctor Ever Tell Me???

    Finally, someone who had the courage to tell women what is REALLY going on with their bodies when they turn 40. Doctors have always told us to take a pill...it will go away or...'its just your hormones out of control' or....you're just going through the change or...you are PMSing.... I have a word for them... YADDA YADDA YADDA!!!!!.... Thank God for your words of wisdom Christiane Northup. I'm not crazy afterall!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3