Customer Reviews for

Wonder

Average Rating 4.5
( 1594 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1350)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

234 out of 275 people found this review helpful.

You will Tear up and stand up and cheer!

August has a face like nothing anyone has ever seen. Like a screaming and running away kind of face. He has accepted that this is the face he has. Now he has to figure out how to cope with a world that has never seen a face like his. He has been homeschooled his whole l...
August has a face like nothing anyone has ever seen. Like a screaming and running away kind of face. He has accepted that this is the face he has. Now he has to figure out how to cope with a world that has never seen a face like his. He has been homeschooled his whole life and now for 5th grade, his parents want him to go to school. A regular school. With kids who don't know him. Kids who have never seen him. For fifth grade. I know I have always thought that 5th grade is the hardest school year of anyone's life, much less, someone like August. As we watch him and his classmates grow it is gratifying that none of them are as cruel and heartless as we all know modern children can be. You will tear up and stand up and cheer as you follow along with the life of August, his friends, his sister, her friends and how everyone is affected by what happens in August's life. Yes, everyone deserves a standing ovation, at least once in their lives.

posted by fuzzmom on February 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

117 out of 148 people found this review helpful.

Everyone Can Enjoy This Story About Strength

Children, teenagers, and adults will all enjoy this story. I thought I would be crying again and again throughout, but lucky for me it only happened once. This isn’t a feel sorry for the underdog kind of read. It’s a story that makes you realize how strong people can be...
Children, teenagers, and adults will all enjoy this story. I thought I would be crying again and again throughout, but lucky for me it only happened once. This isn’t a feel sorry for the underdog kind of read. It’s a story that makes you realize how strong people can be. Sometimes we need some help and protection from other people, but sometimes we find that we are strong enough on our own to overcome any obstacle we put our mind to.

Auggie isn’t just an ordinary kid by any means – he’s the bravest I’ve ever read about. I read Wonder in two sittings (it would have been one if I hadn’t started it before bed) and couldn’t get enough. While there are very low moments, there are highs as well – and the fact that everything that happens is totally possible, that makes it that much more touching. This is definitely a read that everyone can take something away from.


Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on February 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1596 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 80
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    You will Tear up and stand up and cheer!

    August has a face like nothing anyone has ever seen. Like a screaming and running away kind of face. He has accepted that this is the face he has. Now he has to figure out how to cope with a world that has never seen a face like his. He has been homeschooled his whole life and now for 5th grade, his parents want him to go to school. A regular school. With kids who don't know him. Kids who have never seen him. For fifth grade. I know I have always thought that 5th grade is the hardest school year of anyone's life, much less, someone like August. As we watch him and his classmates grow it is gratifying that none of them are as cruel and heartless as we all know modern children can be. You will tear up and stand up and cheer as you follow along with the life of August, his friends, his sister, her friends and how everyone is affected by what happens in August's life. Yes, everyone deserves a standing ovation, at least once in their lives.

    234 out of 275 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Teachable Moment!

    I loved this book! As a teacher I see how kids are mean because of each others' differences. I plan to use this book as a read aloud to allow students to see the different perspectives involved in the politics of middle school. I could not put the book down until I was finished, it was so real and so moving!

    184 out of 214 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Emily!!!!

    Best book ever, if August went to my school i would be friends will him. I wouldnt care what anyone would thinkbabout me i would still be friends with him!!!! Push yes if all you people agree with me! I feel real bad for August!

    145 out of 167 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Everyone Can Enjoy This Story About Strength

    Children, teenagers, and adults will all enjoy this story. I thought I would be crying again and again throughout, but lucky for me it only happened once. This isn’t a feel sorry for the underdog kind of read. It’s a story that makes you realize how strong people can be. Sometimes we need some help and protection from other people, but sometimes we find that we are strong enough on our own to overcome any obstacle we put our mind to.

    Auggie isn’t just an ordinary kid by any means – he’s the bravest I’ve ever read about. I read Wonder in two sittings (it would have been one if I hadn’t started it before bed) and couldn’t get enough. While there are very low moments, there are highs as well – and the fact that everything that happens is totally possible, that makes it that much more touching. This is definitely a read that everyone can take something away from.


    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    117 out of 148 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    This is a heartwarming, feel-good book about fifth-grader Auggie

    This is a heartwarming, feel-good book about fifth-grader Auggie, who was born with severe facial deformities. The book follows Auggie as he embarks on his first year in school after being homeschooled his whole life. I know some people found this book overly saccharin or unrealistic, but I enjoyed the sweetness of it. By the end, I was shedding happy tears. I think readers from older elementary school kids to adults would like this book. My fourth-grader just finished it and enjoyed it very much.

    76 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Isabella martinez la escuela fratney

    Love this book my teacher is reading it to my class it is so great i would reccomond for you to buy this. My friend has what august has

    66 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    YOU JUST HAVE TO READ IT FOR YOURSELF.

    My granddaughter(9)read this and then tried to tell me about it. She kept telling me little parts and how it made her feel. She kept saying how she loved it and finally said, "You just have to read it for yourself!" I was hooked from page one... no, word one. The way the book is written from Auggie's point of view, with the insight and realistic lingo of a child is, to me, one of the great aspects of this book. You are listening to this child describe his life and how he deals with his condition. It is not depressing, though you will get mad, sad and run a gauntlet of other emotions. You see his parents' struggle with the decision to send him to school, among other things. Ultimately, this story draws you in and keeps you reading. Auggie is terrific and inspiring. His parents are believable and human. I really loved this book and highly recommend it.

    62 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    5 STARS FOR WONDER! "


    5 STARS FOR WONDER!

    "Wonder" by R.J. Palacio was a remarkable read. I must say Ms. Palacio that
    I have never read a novel that was simply unique, wonderful and very exceptional
    all rolled up on one. Simply the novel was all of that and more! It was one of a
    kind! This book is for all.... children, teenagers and adults will enjoy this wonderful
    read. The author told this story beautifully. It was a read that I could not put
    down until I had finished.

    August (Auggie) was born with an unknown birth defect, having over twenty-five
    surgeries... was now ten years old and never had been to school. Auggie had been
    home schooled by his Mom. Now, his parents decided it was time for him to go to
    school ... so as a fifth grader he is now attending his first year of middle school at
    Beecher Prep. What will he encounter in the school and how Auggie handles situations
    are only left for you to read this wonderful read. I really liked the way the author was able
    to present Augie who was prepared to take on life and not feel sorry for himself.


    The characters.... all of them were great in their deliverance of the story.... especially
    August (Auggie) sister, Via, Summer, Jack, Mr. Browne, and Mr. Tushman (only to
    name a few)....Truly, I would brought to tears at some of the emotions that were played
    out in this read. There was one sentence that I liked and it was ...a new rule of life...always
    try to be a little kinder than is necessary.... in our everyday life do we do this?
    Definitely our world would be a much better place if we were more kinder to each
    other!


    With the love his Auggie's family , friends support and all the goodness
    that can be really found in people, one can clearly see Auggie for who he is and
    not for just what he looks like. Truly Auggie deserved to win the Henry Ward
    Beecher medal. WoW! and the saying... "I'm just me. An ordinary Kid."

    "Wonder" was a amazing novel and I would like to recommend this read to all.
    For it is a novel that everyone can get something good from this read.

    53 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Fast read, lingering tale.

    To Kill A Mockingbird, So B It and now Wonder are the books that have etched a permanent place in my heart. I guess I have a soft spot for the underdogs. And books that make me cry.
    Although a quick read, it is a lasting one. Wonder will get under your skin, find it's way to your heart and leave a shadow of itself forever in your mind.
    This is the perfect story to pick up if you find yourself in a "reading rut".

    45 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Wonder!

    Wonder & the Romeo & Juliet code, are my favorite books. Wonder is really touching. I enjoy the part when august meets justin and, jack punchs julian, because the way he felt about being Augusts friend, and julian wasnt being nice to august because of his face. Sometimes your going to meet different people and some of them you may not like. This book is great im almost done with this book. August discovers that school for him is not as easy as it seems because he has disabilities (deformed) . Reveiw from a 5th grader:)

    44 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    I LOVE IT

    I would give it 1000 stars if I could
    From 1-10 I would give it a 10
    IT IS...


    A W E S O M E!!!!!!!!!!!!



    SCREAM!!!!!!!!!!

    24 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Great read

    My dad read it and loved it, saying how awesome it was, so when he was done I began reading it. I got hooked right away. It's an exciting, sad, and touching story about a boy named August with a different look than anyone else. It shows how some people could be cruel to children who are different, and is interesting to see how someone like August deals with all the comments and frightened stares he gets every day. What would you do if you saw a boy like August? This book makes you think about that, and find out more than ever that kids who look different feel the same as you & me.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    I read this as a "read aloud" book to my class of sixt

    I read this as a "read aloud" book to my class of sixth graders. They absolutely could not get enough of the book. On the last day they begged me to finish the book which was about 30 minutes of reading. You could have heard a pin drop in my room as I read. At the end of the book, they broke out in to applause! In 15 years of reading aloud book after book after book, I've NEVER had a class clap at the end of a book. And it wasn't just a short clap either, it took a while. I knew they loved it; I didn't realize they loved it that much.
    It is a heartwarming story appropriate for so many age levels, and serves as a reminder that being kinder than necessary to one another is truly a key part to being a good, honorable person. I'll recommend it over and over!

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    The best book ever

    The book is sad happy and completely awesome. In some parts you would just cry and in other parts you could punch some of the characters in the face. I would reccomend this to everybody who really loves reading. Click yes if you agree that this book is awesome!!!

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Review for Wonder

    BEST BOOK EVER! SO INSPIRING TO ME

    18 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Sweet Momma

    This book is so good i recomend from ages 10-100

    18 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Click on this to see why she wrote this

    R.J. wrote this because she took both of her sons (3) and (10), to any ice cream shop and they saw a little girl with a face deformity. Her littlest son started to cry and her oldest son looked scared. And the girl ran away. R.J. and her sons never saw the little girl again. R.J. tryed to think about how a family and the child would go through life.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Awesome

    My teacher read this book to our class and its excellent!!! Its funny and sometimes it can be sad - and it always had me wanting to make her read more!! I think its creative how the students write there own precepts at the end! Our teacher had us write our own precepts at thee end. This book is so good!! I would write a book on why this book is so good!!!! I would rate it 99999999999999999999999999 stars! Another good book is the mr.terput series :) i hope my reviwe was helpfull ;D

    16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Wonderful book!

    I'm only 11. I am very particular about what I read. I usually read at a MUCH higher level than most 6th graders and even though this isn't a very advanced read, I loved this book so much! It was reccomended to me by my mom, and we both loved this book to death! This book is worth every penny! August Pullman's story is so inspiring and touching! I LOVED reading this book!

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    N/A

    Really good book! I like how it tells the story about august and the people that he knows. It is a really heart warming book. You should try it. :)

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1596 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 80