BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Wonder of Your Love (Land of Canaan Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    A sweet Amish modern day read

    The Wonder of Your Love by Beth Wiseman is a fictional story about an Amish widow in modern day. The main character,Katie Anne, was betrayed by her husband who had an adulterous affair with a non-Amish woman, and then left her to live with this woman. Little did he know that Katie Anne was pregnant with their only child, but he did not live long enough to find out because he was killed in an accident. Another Amish man (also a widower) is introduced in the story, and thus begins an interesting adventure of friendship, discovery, and opening up of old wounds when new information develops regarding Katie Anne's husband's mistress and details of his end of life is revealed. This story was sweet and romantic -if a little predicable, but not too much. The characters are well developed and the story flows very well and keeps the reader hooked. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants an interesting sweet fictional read about modern day Amish and the struggles that they face (just like everyone else). God and faith are intertwined throughout the story, and it is an overall uplifting encouraging book.
    I received this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unknown to me, The Wonder of Your Love is the second book in a s

    Unknown to me, The Wonder of Your Love is the second book in a series, luckily I’m still able to follow the story even without reading the first one.

    Ok, so to make this easier, I’ll explain the plot first:
    Katie has given birth to a baby boy Jonas. She managed to be both a father and mother to him. Her husband died shortly after he leaves her to be with another woman. So she struggles not just with the heartbreak and loss but with also how she’d provide her baby’s needs and the dilemma of loving and trusting again.

    Martha, is her English neighbor who would later be her friend. They got along since both of them are widowed, neither have married and Martha’s just like a mother to Katie. She loved someone but never voice out her feelings to him until he left to help for his ailing son. When he didn’t come back, she thought he never felt anything for her.

    Eli is a man who’s youngest daughter just got married. He traveled and fend for himself since. He never planned to fall in love and get married since his wife died 17 years ago.

    This is a whole lot different from the books I’ve always read. I’m more unto Young Adult, but in this one, I’m faced with middle-aged characters, which isn’t a bad thing at all.

    I love although not all of the characters. Their backstories are interesting and are truly a basis to their future decisions in life. They are also genuine with real emotions, hurts and worries.

    The author’s writing style kept me turning the pages. She has the tendency to make such inner conflicts in her characters and yet still manage to glue it all together. It also seemed like there’s a never-ending twists and turns, and I never couldn’t figure out what the author wants to happen next.

    A book of friendship, forgiveness, faith, romance, love and trust, The Wonder of Your Love is a book that would make you realize things and gives hope to many of us.

    This is the first Amish book I’ve read and definitely not the last one. Highly recommended!!!

    Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Wonder of Love

    Two people at very different stages in their lives will be brought together, then figure out if it is God's doing or simply coincidence. Katie Ann is an Amish widow struggling to raise her child. She struggles with being a single parent and she struggles with her relationship with God. Why is she alone? Why had her husband left her for someone else? Why would her son Jonas never know his father's love? While she tries to hide her sorrow and pain, Martha sees. Martha is an English neighbor who tries to help Katie Ann come to grips with the many, many changes she faces. The bond they form helps both women. Eli has raised his children and lost his wife, now he is ready for some time off and a new beginning. When he goes to Canaan, he is hoping for a vacation, some time for himself. Instead he meets Katie Ann. They quickly develop a friendship, but that is ok because neither thinks a romantic relationship would work. Really? They are at completely different places in life, but will there be more than they expect? Come visit Canaan, Colorado and find out.

    This book is interesting and well written. The characters and setting seem very real, and that attests to the care Beth Wiseman always takes in researching her Amish stories. This book will appeal to both individual and group readers. Individuals will enjoy figuring out what will happen next, and groups can delve into issues like trust, fidelity, love, faith, disappointment, and loss. Thank you very much to Litfuse for my review copy and the opportunity to be part of this blog tour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful read!

    Until recently I hadn't read any Amish fiction except for a Jodie Piccolt novel a few years ago, but through Litfuse Blog Tours I've now read a few. This is my most recent read and tour and I really enjoyed it. I read it all in one evening. I liked that it started with a bit of a mystery. There is a letter from the mistress of the deceased Amish man to his wife. I must admit that I guessed the mystery, it was my first guess, but it was still a good way to grab the reader from the start.
    One of the big ideas throughout is the idea of forgiveness and trust. How easily can we forgive and how much do large deceptions change the way we view the actions and words of others? Can we really forgive? Are our words of forgiveness sometimes empty just to get out of an uncomfortable situation?
    I was really pulled into the story of Katie Ann and her son Jonas, although his name makes me think of the Jonas brothers every time, especially when the one non-Amish character talks about being his biggest fan! Katie Ann is really struggling to find her place and be a good mother to her late in life child, while dealing with being a widow and having had an unfaithful husband. Eli becomes her friend. Eli raised his six children on his own after his wife died seventeen years ago and is now ready to go out and travel and take a vacation from responsibility. They both just want to be friends, but have a spark that could be something more.
    Interweaved in is also a storyline about surgery, abuse, values and the Amish lifestyle. As this is part of a series I think there may have been a book that came before this on how Katie Ann and her husband Ivan came to move from Lancaster County to Colorado and it looks like there will be more books to follow. It made me wonder how many Amish communities there are around the country and if they have communities in other countries as well.
    The characters were well written and felt real and I loved how Katie Ann changed from the beginning pages of the novel to the end. How she gained self-confidence in her ability to be a mother and how she found the dreams she always had but that had been discouraged by her husband. I'm curious to look into the first book to see what Ivan was like when he was alive.
    This was a fun read and good introduction to the author's series and writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amish story with several twists

    "The Wonder Of Your Love" is the latest Amish book in Beth Wiseman's A Land Of Canaan Series. This is the story of Katie Ann Stoltzfus and Eli Detweiler. I found it quite interesting from the opening pages. Katie is an older single Amish mother, but there is a twist to her story. Her husband Ivan left her to live with an Englisher lady, and then was later killed in a car accident. He died without knowing that Katie was going to have his child. The opening pages of the story has the Englisher Lucy Turner coming to Colorado to see Katie because she has something important to tell her. Just what could Lucy need to tell Katie? Eli Detweiler is a widower of seventeen years. His children are all grown now and he is looking forward to doing a bit of traveling. When he goes to Canaan, Colorado to attend a wedding his family decides to try and pair him up with Katie, but her heart has been broken and she isn't sure she is ready for love. Will Katie and Eli find a second chance at happiness?
    I have really enjoyed reading Amish novels, and while some are a bit predictable this one really stood out. The plot was different, Katie is older and is attempting to raise a son on her own. Her husband leaving her for an Englisher was also another twist. A fast moving story that I couldn't put down. I enjoyed the characters and the setting, as well as the positive christian theme woven thru the story. I will anxiously be watching for more from this author.

    A complimentary copy of this book was sent by Booksneeze in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    The Wonder of Your Love by Beth Wiseman

    Hey, everyone! I've gotten a pretty good book from booksneeze- "The Wonder of Your Love" by Beth Wiseman. Before I get started, though, I have to say that I got this book for free from the booksneeze blogger program through the Thomas Nelson publishing company. I am under no legal obligation to give this book a good review. Anyway! Now that that's over, on with the show! So. This book was different than most Amish fiction. I mean, it's about a single mother Amish family. Really? Don't hear of that very often, do you? Well. I haven't. But that may be because there are no Amish communities near where I live. So, anyway, like most Amish fiction, it's a love story. Girl meets guy, they fall in love, happily ever after, the end, right? Yeah, pretty much. This is a good book, and great if you're looking for a book that you can just kind of read without thinking too much. This is also good if you're an avid Amish fiction fan. But then again, any Amish fiction book would be good then, wouldn't it? Anyway, all in all I enjoyed this book a fair amount. I'd give it four out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    A Wonderful Story of Trust and Love

    Katie Ann's husband died without her ever telling him that she was pregnant, but he was dead to her the moment he walked out on on her. Now she is determined to fill the gap in her son's life alone. Besides how could she ever trust another man? But all that changes when she meets Eli Detweiler, a widower of seventeen years he has finally married off his last daughter, leaving him free to travel as he'd always hoped. He has no interest in marrying again, especially not to a woman with a newborn son. Yet somehow he can't resist the sweet woman and somehow a friendship starts up. Just friends of course, those terms are clear from the beginning. But how long can that last?
    I have read the prequel to this book, 'Seek Me With All Your Heart', and several of the previous books in this series, so I was pretty happy to be able to read this one! I found this story very sweet, but also a little confusing with some loose ends involving Ivan and his mistress, hopefully there will be another book in this series that will tie these up. While this story was a wonderful example of learning to trust, and accept love, I really just didn't connect with the main characters. Maybe its because I'm only fifteen and the main characters in this story were about forty but I really just didn't feel close to them. I did however enjoy Martha, the funny old woman who is like a mother to Katie Ann, and her new young friend Danielle. I am really hoping the next book will focus on this newest character.
    Over all I did enjoy this book, though not as much as the prequel, but I think I would recommend it more to older people since they can identify with the characters better.
    I received this book from BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review. I am not required to write a good review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1